Can't connect to RA

Expansion modules and attachments

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:36 am
PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2021 12:00 pm
I have an old RA Plus I was trying to use on my new frag tank. I haven't run this since last May. Everything appears to be working but I am not able to connect locally to the RA at http://192.168.1.101:2000/wifi. I am able to ping this IP and get a response. I can't connect to it locally from the phone app. I can't connect remotely from the phone app and I can't connect from the portal, but it appears my RA is connecting to the portal, at least somewhat? I see the last updated time (like in my webbanner) is updating. The web uapp says "unable to process controller data".

I am able to get my wifi attachment on to my network, I can see it has an IP of 192.168.1.101. I even ran the wifi utility again and see it's picking up this same IP (I believe I have a reservation set for this on my network still). I have my port forwarding setup and ran some packet caps to confirm that is working. (see here: https://www.codepile.net/pile/dbJ37387)

It seems the responses from the RA are empty though. The packet cap was showing length=0. The response in Chrome is also:

192.168.1.101 didn’t send any data.
ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE

I spent last night reading through various threads. I built a new cable for connecting the RA head unit to the wifi attachment but same problem. I've reloaded code on the head unit and the wifi utility a few times. I'm out of ideas though. Everything appears to be working locally I just can't get a response.
-You had me at PWM
Image
User avatar
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2021 6:25 am
your packet capture is showing a 0 byte payload as well.

what version of libraries are you using?

have you tried to upload code to the controller again?

have you tried to connect the controller directly to arduino and run the console/logger and issue commands directly to the controller and look at the response? I would try this first and see what is actually being sent out by the controller. if you let it run long enough (5 to 15 minutes... i forget the update interval), you will see it output data to the portal.

just guessing that maybe something is getting hung up on the controller with processing the requests and it fails.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:36 am
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2021 11:03 am
I have uploaded code to the controller a few times. I used the RA wizard as part of the arduino IDE and then I also used the webwizard to generate new code. This is what it is running now.

I'm not familiar with how to directly issue commands from arduino. Is there a doc or guidance anywhere on that?
-You had me at PWM
Image
User avatar
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2021 6:12 pm
To use the serial monitor, you need to connect the cable to your computer and the RA (like you would upload the code).
Then, inside Arduino, goto the Tools -> Serial Monitor.
That will open a new window. Make sure your baud rate is set to 57600 (I believe that is the baud rate for the the controller).
You can type / enter commands to the controller inside the window.
Here's an example of someone else asking the same question:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=6827

Here's a list of the commands that you can issue:
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1541

I cannot remember if you need a space at the end of the commands or not. Anyways, you can issue the command as:
Code: Select all
GET /COMMAND

Where /COMMAND is one of the wifi commands.
The response is displayed inside the serial monitor window.

If you keep the window open long enough (like stated previously), you will see the controller sending data to the portal (which will not get there).

You will want to issue one of these commands:
Code: Select all
GET /sr
GET /sa
GET /r99

They will all return the same response (or at least they should).

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:36 am
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2021 9:02 pm
I'm not getting any response for any command I issue. If I wait long enough I see a /status/ request that appears to be the outbound attempt to send data to the portal. When I try to send commands they seem to reboot the controller about a minute later? No output in the serial monitor for this but I see the head unit cycle.

https://i.imgur.com/7fXF9r9.png
-You had me at PWM
Image
User avatar
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:53 am
That's interesting about the head unit rebooting a minute later after you issue a command.
Can you post your code?
Maybe Roberto has some suggestions or ideas too.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron