Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Expansion modules and attachments
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

hmmm...so in theory. I write the received byte to SetChannel() and it'll display on the portal? This is me trying to "fool" the portal after all to know my % of brightness off my ethernet module lol...I'd just prefer to know my % values at a glance versus Serial.print() I have to use now.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by lnevo »

Yeah, it should set the channel even though nothing is written there.. Theoretically, there may be other code in the way that Im not aware of.
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Updated page 12 to include the link to the build list/materials needed. :)
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Hey, thanks...it's been updated!
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Sorry losing my mind.... :lol:

Updated page 12 of thread.
Last edited by DrewPalmer04 on Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by lnevo »

Which thread? what did you update?
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

EDIT:
I should have been more clear...

Security option issue with the portal and Ethernet module. It must [<--Not 100% true] be disabled. That's all I added


I don't use security....but anyone can add this to the RA side of the code...

Use below for security option (IF needed):
ReefAngel SIDE
"key" must match on code and portal

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.Portal("username","key");
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

I have been using this for a few weeks and it really does work well. I am having a problem with the pwm for my Leds. They light up fine, but they flash, it's so fast that I thought it was just glimmer at first. I am using steve's led drivers. They work fine straight off of the RA dimming. Any suggestions?
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Sounds like you don't have enough LEDs in the string. The driver is "protecting" itself. Either reduce the mA output from the driver or add more LEDs. That's what it sounds like to me :)
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

can't be that. They work fine off the RA, and the drivers are maxed out as far as capacity.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Could be that you need an opamp to boost from 0-5vdc to 0-10vdc. Roberto posted a circuit for how to do it
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Or make sure they don't send more than 40mA to the arduino. I don't use Steve's so I'm not sure.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

DrewPalmer04 wrote:Could be that you need an opamp to boost from 0-5vdc to 0-10vdc. Roberto posted a circuit for how to do it
That might be it. I wonder what he uses for the relay that makes it work.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Lm358 opamp. Two 10k resistors make a gain of 1.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

The drivers I am using will work straight off an Arduino pwm. In fact they can even supply +5v to power the board. I think it is either some sort of noise induced from the power supply, or the pwm freq. is too low?

Not sure.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Try to remove this line or //comment it out:

Code: Select all

bitSet(TCCR1B, WGM12); //force fast PWM
And check this page out:
http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/SecretsOfArduinoPWM
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

Commented out, same problem. There must be something causing it.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by rimai »

If I remember correctly, Steve's drivers accept 0-5V PWM too, doesn't it?
Can you describe or post a video of such flickering effect?
Do you have access to a scope to check the signal?
Roberto.
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

No, scope available. The drive does except 0 - 5v pwm. I can record it, but it looks like a strobe light a very fast flicker with no perceived off.
Image
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

I might have found the problem. I don't think that the header pins I am using are in tight enough. What do you think the best way to get a good connection would be?
Image
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

I am thinking about removing the headers and just soldering the wire to the board. The pins I got from radio shack seem so loose in the header, they just don't make good contact. Maybe the pins I got have to small a diameter.

Do you all just solder your permanent projects?
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

DB headers just take them apart and use the pins. They fit very nicely.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

DrewPalmer04 wrote:DB headers just take them apart and use the pins. They fit very nicely.
DB?

Did you mean MB?
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/D-subminiature

The pins out of the header. No need to buy the entire cable. The shack sells just the header for you to use the pins.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

DrewPalmer04 wrote:http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/D-subminiature

The pins out of the header. No need to buy the entire cable. The shack sells just the header for you to use the pins.
Ahh I see, I have a ton of those asking to be sacrificed.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Fantastic!!!
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

If only this could be controlled via the apps or portal. I have half a mind to maybe attach a little LCD and some buttons to change a few settings.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

LCD is a good idea. I'll be working on RA communication with the Ethernet module soon. Just have to finish my other project first. Might be a week or two. But I'll see what I can figure out. Tons of people have been requesting that. I just wasn't sure if Roberto had plans to create a "RA" expansion based on this module or not. I didn't want to double develop it.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Time for additional Ethernet add-on with PWM output

Post by topjimmy »

Well let me help. Just let me know what you want to try and we can work on it together. Of course it would also be very cool if Roberto wanted to chime in.

I really don't see why they should not communicate like any other expansion. Data is data. It's just sending it to the right place in the right format.
Image
Post Reply