RF Expansion Module

Expansion modules and attachments
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Product_RF.jpg
Product_RF.jpg (9.85 KiB) Viewed 12774 times
As many of you may already know, an RF module was in the works for some time and I'm very happy to start taking pre-orders. The lead time is about 4 weeks.
http://www.reefangel.com/Products.RF-Ex ... odule.ashx
This module is capable of controlling the Vortech pumps with ES wireless drivers.
Vortech pumps will turn to feeding mode automatically when you start the "Feeding Mode" on your Reef Angel.
You can also put them into Night mode automatically to follow your lighting schedule.
All of the modes that the ES driver offers can be emulated.
Additionally, 2 special modes were created:
* Storm
* Custom

These are the wave patterns for the "Storm" mode:
Sync.jpg
Sync.jpg (33.06 KiB) Viewed 12774 times
Anti-Sync.jpg
Anti-Sync.jpg (36.82 KiB) Viewed 12774 times
Back-of-Tank.jpg
Back-of-Tank.jpg (40.32 KiB) Viewed 12774 times
On Custom, the user has full control of each channel (Sync, Anti-Sync and Back-of-Tank). You will be able to create your own patterns and waves.
Roberto.
Bryan
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Bryan »

Good stuff Roberto
-=Bryan=-
mbertalha
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by mbertalha »

rimai wrote:
Product_RF.jpg
As many of you may already know, an RF module was in the works for some time and I'm very happy to start taking pre-orders. The lead time is about 4 weeks.
http://www.reefangel.com/Products.RF-Ex ... odule.ashx
This module is capable of controlling the Vortech pumps with ES wireless drivers.
Vortech pumps will turn to feeding mode automatically when you start the "Feeding Mode" on your Reef Angel.
You can also put them into Night mode automatically to follow your lighting schedule.
All of the modes that the ES driver offers can be emulated.
Additionally, 2 special modes were created:
* Storm
* Custom

These are the wave patterns for the "Storm" mode:
Sync.jpg
Anti-Sync.jpg
Back-of-Tank.jpg
On Custom, the user has full control of each channel (Sync, Anti-Sync and Back-of-Tank). You will be able to create your own patterns and waves.

I was just expecting this release to buy my Vortech MP10.

Congratulations Roberto!!!

:mrgreen:

Marcelo Bertalha
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

So to test things out, I have my RA do the following:
12:00 - 12:59 -> Short Pulse Mode at 100% with 1 second pulse duration
15:00 - 17:59 -> Ecosmart Nutrient Transport Mode at 70% with 3 seconds pulse duration
The rest of the time, I just leave it at default.
The default is controlled by internal memory settings, which can be changed remotely with any web browser or using the Status application. I personally use the Status application. It so easy :)
Right now, my internal memory settings are set to have the pumps on Long Pulse Mode at 50% with 10 seconds duration.
It's working beautiful!! :mrgreen:
Roberto.
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by wolfador »

rimai wrote:So to test things out, I have my RA do the following:
12:00 - 12:59 -> Short Pulse Mode at 100% with 1 second pulse duration
15:00 - 17:59 -> Ecosmart Nutrient Transport Mode at 70% with 3 seconds pulse duration
The rest of the time, I just leave it at default.
The default is controlled by internal memory settings, which can be changed remotely with any web browser or using the Status application. I personally use the Status application. It so easy :)
Right now, my internal memory settings are set to have the pumps on Long Pulse Mode at 50% with 10 seconds duration.
It's working beautiful!! :mrgreen:

I can add it into the iPhone app ;) Just need a MP10 and exp. module :lol:
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by wolfador »

So do I need the whole MP10 ESw kit for this or can I piece it together from their parts dept?
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Not sure if it is worth to piece together from their spare parts.
I think you would end up with a higher bill :(
Roberto.
mbertalha
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by mbertalha »

rimai wrote:So to test things out, I have my RA do the following:
12:00 - 12:59 -> Short Pulse Mode at 100% with 1 second pulse duration
15:00 - 17:59 -> Ecosmart Nutrient Transport Mode at 70% with 3 seconds pulse duration
The rest of the time, I just leave it at default.
The default is controlled by internal memory settings, which can be changed remotely with any web browser or using the Status application. I personally use the Status application. It so easy :)
Right now, my internal memory settings are set to have the pumps on Long Pulse Mode at 50% with 10 seconds duration.
It's working beautiful!! :mrgreen:

Hello Roberto,

is possible to program for the RA MP10wES do the work in short pulse (70% 1 second) and in some periods of the day the RA setting to change the short pulse (25% 3 second) and then go into night mode, that during the days?
It is possible that VorTech enter into night mode 30 minutes before turning off the lights?

Tanks brother

Marcelo
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Yes to all :twisted:
Roberto.
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

Hi Roberto,

Do you have a PDE with examples of the different modes you could share, including setting up a custom mode?

Thanks!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

The mode is by default controlled by internal memory, so you can simply change it by using any app that can write to internal memory, such as status app, built-in webserver and pretty soon the iphone, android and Client.
The memory locations are:
855 - Mode
856 - Speed
857 - Duration

To override the internal memory mode, you can use the following code:

Code: Select all

      ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
      ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(ShortWave,100,6);
The function is SetMode(Mode,Speed,Duration) and the parameter are:

Mode can be one of the following modes:
* Constant
* Random1 (Lagoonal)
* Random2 (Reef Crest)
* ShortWave (Short Pulse)
* LongWave (Long Pulse)
* Smart_NTM (Nutrient Transport Mode)
* Smart_TSM (Tidal Swell Mode)
* Storm (will only be available on the upcoming Dev libraries update or by using 10 instead of Storm)
* Custom (will only be available on the upcoming Dev libraries update or by using 11 instead of Custom)

Speed is a number from 0 through 100

Duration is only applicable to ShortWave, LongWave and Smart_NTM and represent the following:
ShortWave - tenths of a second
LongWave - seconds
Smart_NTM - tenths of a second

The function for Custom mode is SetMode(Mode,Speed,Channel) and the parameter are:

Mode: Custom

Speed is a number from 0 through 100

Channel:
0 - Sync
1- Anti-Sync
2- Back of Tank
Roberto.
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

Awesome, thanks! I'm starting to get a Poseidon complex ;) I shall rule the seas of my 14 gal tank, LOL.
Deckoz2302
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Deckoz2302 »

how would one call the current mode for display on main? also i get the error RF class has no member named UseMemory when using this statement. Also trying my feed mode is 30min long...and I beleive Slave_Stop turns off/completely stops the pumps? Id like the pumps to stop during feed mode and then go into NTM for 30 minutes prior to feed then return to reef crest...lol man...im just confused haha

Code: Select all

		if ( hour() <= 6 || hour () >= 20 )
			{
				ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(MoonPhase());
                                ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
                                ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,10,0);
			}
		else
			{
				ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(0);
                                
			}
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Slave_Stop is only used for Master/Slave assignment. You should be needing to use that ever again once the pumps are assigned as slaves.
Feeding mode should come automatically on your vortech pumps when you enter feeding mode on RA.
You can initiate feeding mode in 3 ways:
1. Using RA joystick and navigating to feeding mode menu option.
2. Pressing and Holding "Set" on your Ecotech driver
3. Using iPhone or Android app to start feeding mode.
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

The compile error is most likely because you need to add this to the top of your code.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_RF.h>
[code]
Roberto.
Deckoz2302
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Deckoz2302 »

That is included which is why im confused :\ and im using the latest dev libraries. And I guess I could use relays to turn the vortech completely off.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Sorry, I forgot you also need this on ReefAngel_Features.h file:

Code: Select all

#define RFEXPANSION
Roberto.
Deckoz2302
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Deckoz2302 »

Had that defined too. I just updated the dev libraries again(I updated a week ago) the lines

Code: Select all

ReefAngel_RFClass::ReefAngel_RFClass()
{
	UseMemory=true;
}
wasnt defined in reefangel_rf.cpp it works now

hmm now to figure out switching to nutrient transport for 30 minutes after feedmode then back to reefcrest
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

Is there a variable that stores the mode that the pump is currently in, so it can easily be displayed on a custom main?

When setting up the Custom Menu for a Storm Mode is it safe to just put in a delay and change the mode back to your default, or should it be more involved? I imagine what I have below would set the mode to storm indefinitely, unless there's something in my loop to change it at some specified time of day to something else.

Code: Select all

void MenuEntry4()
{
ForceCloud=true;
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false; // Sets variable so default memory modes for RF Module are not used
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(10,150,0); // Sets Storm mode (10) on Vortech pumps at 150/255 speed, and 0 duration since not applicable to this mode.
ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu=RETURN_MAIN_MODE;
}
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

You can use these to display on custom main screen:

Code: Select all

InternalMemory.RFMode_read();
InternalMemory.RFSpeed_read();
InternalMemory.RFDuration_read();
To change the Vortech mode to Storm mode during cloud/lightining period, I think the best way is to incorportate the switch of modes into the CheckCloud() function itself.
What you want to do is look for the part of code that starts the cloud and add the RF change mode funtion:

Code: Select all

  if (cloudchance)
  {
    //is it time for cloud yet?
    if (NumMins(hour(),minute())>=cloudstart && NumMins(hour(),minute())<(cloudstart+cloudduration))
    {
       ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false; // Sets variable so default memory modes for RF Module are not used
       ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(10,50,0); // Sets Storm mode (10) on Vortech pumps at 50 speed, and 0 duration since not applicable to this mode.
Then look for the part of the code that happens when the cloud ends and change back to memory settings:

Code: Select all

    if (NumMins(hour(),minute())>(cloudstart+cloudduration))
    {
      cloudindex++;
      if (cloudindex < numclouds)
      {
         ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true; // Sets variable so default memory modes for RF Module are used
Try this method and let me know if it works for you.
Roberto.
Deckoz2302
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Deckoz2302 »

i know this might sound silly but...I was thinking how do you set the initial internal memory values, so i opened up the manual and it directs you to the download page to download VortechSetup.pde....however i dont see that on the downloadpage :/
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

:(
So sorry, I forgot to update the page.
It's updated now.
http://www.reefangel.com/Download.ashx
Roberto.
Deckoz2302
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by Deckoz2302 »

Haha no prob roberto, lol it happens to the best of us. Thanks. And just a side note - I love the capabilities and flexibility of this controller. I get to spend more time watching and less time doing - the value of having things do what you want at the push of a button and be exactly how you want it is amazing(had a rke before and didn't like the gerneralized prewrtten programs)
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

What about adding a new function to check stormchance and be able to limit the amount of times a storm can occur, so it doesn't storm every time it gets cloudy?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

The function already had that chance feature.
Look for this line:

Code: Select all

#define Lightning_Change_per_Cloud 100
Roberto.
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

Got my RF Module today! I went to compile and upload VortechSetup.pde from the download page, but it's giving me a compile error.

..\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel_CustomColors/ReefAngel_CustomColors.h:20:30: error: ReefAngel_Colors.h: No such file or directory

It should be ..\My Documents\Arduino.... I don't have this problem compiling and uploading my normal PDE. Any suggestions?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Seems like you are missing libraries.
It's looking for a file ReefAngel_Colors.h, which should be under "Document\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel_Colors" folder.
Do you have that folder?
Maybe you should update the libraries just in case.
http://www.reefangel.com/update
Roberto.
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

I have that folder under "My Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel_Colors" not "Document\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel_Colors. I've modified it to change the default temp colors for my main PDE a couple weeks ago, and compiles fine for my normal PDE.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by rimai »

Can I see your features file?
Roberto.
StuGotz
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:17 am

Re: RF Expansion Module

Post by StuGotz »

#define DisplayLEDPWM
#define wifi
#define VersionMenu
#define CUSTOM_MAIN
#define NUMBERS_8x16
#define COLORS_PDE
#define CUSTOM_MENU
#define CUSTOM_MENU_ENTRIES 7
#define RFEXPANSION
Post Reply