DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Expansion modules and attachments
Post Reply
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

So I just got my Jebao cable this evening, and I connected it all up only to have it not run :cry:

Verified there is power, because it appears to be slightly moving water, but barely at all.


This is my code:

Code: Select all

    
void loop()
{
  
ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
    
    if (hour() > 7 && hour() < 20 )
      ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ReefCrest,75,20 );
    else
      ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ReefCrest,40,10 );
    
    
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = None;

}
Now, the RA unit itself shows that it should be working - it added some menu that says "Reef Crest" on it, and in addition, it shows the Daylight dimming channel being within my range. The DC3000 is definitely getting power, because it's pushing a slight amount of water.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that I tried both of my PWM ports.
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by lnevo »

Your trying to run a pump like a powerhead. I dont think these have the responsiveness to run waveforms like the wp pumps.

Try setting them to a constant % and make sure its responding with the speeds you expect. Then we'll go from there...
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

What happens if you use it in constant 100%, does it run at 100%?
Roberto.
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

Okay, so here's my new code:

Code: Select all

void loop()
{

    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( Constant,95,10 );
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = Sync;

}

I am getting the same results as before. The pump is definitely powered on because there is extremely slight water movement.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

Do you have a meter to test the voltage of the dimming port?
Roberto.
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

rimai wrote:Do you have a meter to test the voltage of the dimming port?
Yep, reading 4.48 VDC off of both of them.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

Did you buy this controller from the webstore or someone else?
Roberto.
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

rimai wrote:Did you buy this controller from the webstore or someone else?
I bought it from Bay City, but they indicated that since they didn't have my order in stock, they ordered it from you and shipped direct to me. The box that it came in has your address on it.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

Is the screen showing 95%?
If you change the code to 50%, what voltage do you get in the dimming ports?
Roberto.
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

rimai wrote:Is the screen showing 95%?
Yes
rimai wrote:If you change the code to 50%, what voltage do you get in the dimming ports?
The same voltage, and I did verify the screen is showing 50%.

EDIT:
Since my dimming is PWM, shouldn't it be at a steady voltage?
Image
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

Would it help at all if I took measurements of what the DC Pump dongle was outputting through the three-prong connector?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

No it varies just like analog.
Roberto.
MisterTang
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by MisterTang »

Okay, I've pulled all my custom stuff out, and am not using the dimming ports at all, and I'm still measuring the same voltage on them. This is my code as-is right now.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen 
    ReefAngel.AddWaterLevelExpansion();  // Water Level Expansion Module
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port3Bit;
    // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
    // Set the Overheat temperature setting
    InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 820 );


    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port1 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port6 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port7 );

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port2,3 );
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port3,779,789 );
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.Portal( "MisterTang" );
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: DC3000 and Jebao cable not working

Post by rimai »

That doesn't seem correct.
I think you better off send all of it to me and I'll be able to tell exactly what is wrong.
Roberto.
Post Reply