Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Expansion modules and attachments
Post Reply
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

So I setup my Reef Angel and most of it is working I'm just have 4 issues I was hoping to get help with.

1) My Relay Expansion is not showing up on the RA Portal, it is showing up on my Android App though.

2) I setup ports 5 and 6 on the main relay box to random my power heads from 60 to 120, then ports 7 and 8 on the main relay box to work opposite of ports 5 and 6.

Well that is working pretty good minus the fact that 5 never turns on.

3) I can't get my banner to update.

4) Not so much an issue just a question. I have my LED Drivers plugged into ports 1-4 on Relay Box 2, do I use the PWM Dimming ports on Relay Box 2 or the Main Box?

Here is my programming:

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.Use2014Screen(); // Let's use 2014 Screen
// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
ReefAngel.FeedingModePortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
ReefAngel.WaterChangePortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
ReefAngel.LightsOnPortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPortsE[0] = Port8Bit;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 825 );


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port1 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.StandardATO( Port3,30 );
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port5,60,120 );
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port6,60,120 );
ReefAngel.Relay.Set( Port7, !ReefAngel.Relay.Status( Port5 ) );
ReefAngel.Relay.Set( Port8, !ReefAngel.Relay.Status( Port6 ) );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port1,12,0,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port2,12,0,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port3,12,0,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,12,0,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port5,21,45,2,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port6,21,45,2,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port7,12,0,22,15 );
ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Box1_Port8,780,800 );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( PWMParabola(12,0,22,0,15,100,15) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( PWMParabola(12,0,22,0,15,100,15) );
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.Portal("Gugs Jr","used my ra portal password");
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}




Thank you in advance for any help.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by cosmith71 »

Use the dimming ports on the main relay box.

Does the pump on 5 work if you plug it into another outlet?

Does port 7 turn on and off like it's supposed to, even though 5 isn't coming on?

Can you toggle port 5 from the Android app and have it turn on? There is also a ControllerTester sketch under the file menu, expamples that you can upload to toggle ports manually. Trying to figure out if it's a bad relay, or something else going on.

--Colin
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

cosmith71 wrote:Use the dimming ports on the main relay box.

Does the pump on 5 work if you plug it into another outlet?

Does port 7 turn on and off like it's supposed to, even though 5 isn't coming on?

Can you toggle port 5 from the Android app and have it turn on? There is also a ControllerTester sketch under the file menu, expamples that you can upload to toggle ports manually. Trying to figure out if it's a bad relay, or something else going on.

--Colin
I can toggle the port from the portal and the android app and it will turn on and off. So the relay seems to be good.

When I manually turn the pump on and off 7 is always on.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by rimai »

Change this:

Code: Select all

 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port5,60,120 );
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port6,60,120 );
[code]
To this:
[code]
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1( Port5,60,120 );
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2( Port6,60,120 );
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Sacohen »

Gugs Jr wrote: 3) I can't get my banner to update.
It should be as easy as choosing the banner you want from the Web Banners tab in the Portal then copying the code from there and pasting it into you signature.
Gugs Jr wrote: 1) My Relay Expansion is not showing up on the RA Portal, it is showing up on my Android App though.
There is nothing you have to do to get new modules to populate in the portal, they just show up automatically.

Have you rebooted since installing it?
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

rimai wrote:Change this:

Code: Select all

 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port5,60,120 );
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Port6,60,120 );
[code]
To this:
[code]
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1( Port5,60,120 );
 ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2( Port6,60,120 );
Thank you that worked
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

Sacohen wrote:
Gugs Jr wrote: 3) I can't get my banner to update.
It should be as easy as choosing the banner you want from the Web Banners tab in the Portal then copying the code from there and pasting it into you signature.
Says I don't have permission to add URLs to my signature on this site. Not working on any other site
Gugs Jr wrote: 1) My Relay Expansion is not showing up on the RA Portal, it is showing up on my Android App though.
There is nothing you have to do to get new modules to populate in the portal, they just show up automatically.

Have you rebooted since installing it?
Reboot the Reef Angel Plus?
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Sacohen »

Gugs Jr wrote:
Sacohen wrote:
Gugs Jr wrote: 3) I can't get my banner to update.
It should be as easy as choosing the banner you want from the Web Banners tab in the Portal then copying the code from there and pasting it into you signature.
Says I don't have permission to add URLs to my signature on this site. Not working on any other site
Gugs Jr wrote: 1) My Relay Expansion is not showing up on the RA Portal, it is showing up on my Android App though.
There is nothing you have to do to get new modules to populate in the portal, they just show up automatically.

Have you rebooted since installing it?
Reboot the Reef Angel Plus?
You have to add the signature as an image.
Most forums will not allow you to put images in your signature because if everyone did that it would place to much of a load on the servers.

Yes rebooted the RA Plus.
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »


You have to add the signature as an image.
Most forums will not allow you to put images in your signature because if everyone did that it would place to much of a load on the servers.
Yes rebooted the RA Plus.
Does the RA reboot after you upload new code?

I've tried unplugging it and plugging it back in.
I've hit reboot on my Android app.

Not sur what else to try.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Sacohen »

Gugs Jr wrote:

You have to add the signature as an image.
Most forums will not allow you to put images in your signature because if everyone did that it would place to much of a load on the servers.
Yes rebooted the RA Plus.
Does the RA reboot after you upload new code?

I've tried unplugging it and plugging it back in.
I've hit reboot on my Android app.

Not sur what else to try.
Yes the RA does Reboot after you upload code.
All those that you listed above are ways of doing a reboot on the RA.

Did you set the dip switches inside the module.
If they are all set to off I think that would be the same as the original relay and they may be conflicting.

If the answer to that is yes you have then try using a USB and SVGA cable that you know works.
Try switching them out with the main relay or even remove the main relay altogether and make sure the box is working properly in place of the original relay box.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by cosmith71 »

The add-on relay box works correctly, right? Just not showing on the portal?

--Colin
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Sacohen »

cosmith71 forget the suggestions I made in the last post.
I forgot that he said it is working and showing up in the Andriod App, but not the Portal.

So the answer to your question
cosmith71 wrote:The add-on relay box works correctly, right? Just not showing on the portal?

--Colin
would be yes it works, but doesn't show in the portal.
That was in the OP, but I forgot it and thought it wasn't working at all.
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

I have the Dip switches in side the Relay Expansion Module set to ID1 (all off), I tried setting it up to ID2 and it wouldn't communicate with the expansion relay.
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

Not sure what else to try or what else I can do. They show up when I scroll through the Reef Angel itself. Just every where but the portal
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by rimai »

I think it is related to the space in your username or the portal key.
Try using this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.Portal("Gugs%20Jr");
And make sure to disable the portal key.
If it works, then you can go ahead and change the code to use the key again.
Roberto.
GugsJr
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:30 am

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by GugsJr »

rimai wrote:I think it is related to the space in your username or the portal key.
Try using this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.Portal("Gugs%20Jr");
And make sure to disable the portal key.
If it works, then you can go ahead and change the code to use the key again.
Still nothing I even tried making a new user name without the space
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by rimai »

I don't see anything in the log for this username :(
The only thing I can think of is somehow the settings are messed up in the wifi attachment if you can communicate with it using the android app.
Try following this post to see if it helps:
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4601
Roberto.
Gugs Jr
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm

Re: Relay Expansion, Wavemaker programming,web banner

Post by Gugs Jr »

rimai wrote:I don't see anything in the log for this username :(
The only thing I can think of is somehow the settings are messed up in the wifi attachment if you can communicate with it using the android app.
Try following this post to see if it helps:
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4601
That worked! and it also allowed the web banner to function properly

Thank you for your help everyone
Post Reply