RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Expansion modules and attachments
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

I just set up the RA Net and Rely that I got several months ago and it doesn't seem to be working right.

The logo on the Relay is pulsing between White and off about every second.

I have port 8 set to be on all the time, but when I test the ports the only one that is getting power is what I would consider Port 7 with the logo and imprinting in the upright position.

When I try to turn the port off from the Adriod App nothing happens.

Image

The only light on the RA Net board in the head unit is the bottom right (the one that is blinking in Roberto's video, but mine is steady).
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMBARknej_Y[/youtube]
davaraj
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:18 am

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by davaraj »

I have been using the wireless relay for quite some time now. What happens is , it loses connectivity with the head unit on and off. I have sent a PM to Roberto about this. I hope he has some solution for this.
Image
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Thanks.

I'm going to double check my dip switches when I get home,but I don't think that is the issue.

If it was the unit would still sync with the head unit, but not control anything.
It looks like I'm not syncing.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

I think the port7 on is remaining of the test I performed in the box.
It was set as fallback.
This was the code I used:

Code: Select all

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

//Box1_Port1
void setup()
{
  ReefAngel.Init();  
  ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();
  ReefAngel.Relay.RANetFallBackE[0]=Port7Bit;
  ReefAngel.AddRANet();
}

void loop()
{
  ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Box1_Port1,now()%6<3);
  ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel(0,(byte)(100*(now()%9<3?1:0)));
  ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel(1,(byte)(100*((now()%9<6)&&(now()%9>=3)?1:0)));
  ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel(2,(byte)(100*(now()%9>=6?1:0)));
  ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Does the fallback get set in the Relay, because I've never had this code on my unit?

That still doesn't explain why it's not connecting.

Am I right that it's not connected with the logo pulsing between whit and off every second or so?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

The fall back ports get saved in internal memory of the relay box.
It needs to store it in case of power failure.
You are correct. I think it is not even syncing.
Did you have add the RANet feature to your code?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

I check that too.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

So the line of code for the RA NEt would be this...

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddRANet();
I don't think I ever added that.
bencollinz
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by bencollinz »

Sacohen wrote:So the line of code for the RA NEt would be this...

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddRANet();
I don't think I ever added that.
that! and there's some file attached in one of these threads that you need to manually paste in your arduino folder
Image
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Thank you bencollinz.
My laptop died over the weekend so I need to try and get it working again or use another system in my house.
Hopefully I can pull my latest code of the drive in the laptop at least.

I think what I have under INO/PDE may be a little out of date, but not much.
bencollinz
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by bencollinz »

my code to show you the ranet placement

Code: Select all

    #include <SoftwareSerial.h>
    #include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
    #include <Globals.h>
    #include <RA_Wifi.h>
    #include <Wire.h>
    #include <OneWire.h>
    #include <Time.h>
    #include <DS1307RTC.h>
    #include <InternalEEPROM.h>
    #include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
    #include <RA_ATO.h>
    #include <RA_Joystick.h>
    #include <LED.h>
    #include <RA_TempSensor.h>
    #include <Relay.h>
    #include <RA_PWM.h>
    #include <Timer.h>
    #include <Memory.h>
    #include <RA_Colors.h>
    #include <RA_CustomColors.h>
    #include <Salinity.h>
    #include <RF.h>
    #include <IO.h>
    #include <ORP.h>
    #include <AI.h>
    #include <PH.h>
    #include <WaterLevel.h>
    #include <Humidity.h>
    #include <DCPump.h>
    #include <PAR.h>
    #include <ReefAngel.h>
    /* 
    #define Heater      1
    #define Return      2
    #define             3
    #define Skimmer     4
    #define Vortech1    5
    #define Vortech2    6
    #define ATO         7 
    #define Sump Light  8
    */
    ////// Place global variable code below here
byte vtechmode, vtSpeed, vtDuration;
    ////// Place global variable code above here


    void setup()
    {
        // This must be the first line
        ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
        // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
        ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port2Bit;
        // ReefAngel.FeedingModePortsE[0] = 0;
        // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
        // ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port7Bit | Port4Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit;
        // ReefAngel.WaterChangePortsE[0] = 0;
        // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
        // ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
        // ReefAngel.LightsOnPortsE[0] = 0;
        // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
        ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit;
        // ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPortsE[0] = 0;
        // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
        ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
        ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
        // Set the Overheat temperature setting
        InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 830 );
        ReefAngel.AddRANet();


        // Ports that are always on
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port3 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port6 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port1 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port2 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port3 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port4 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port5 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port6 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port7 );
        ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port8 );
      

        ////// Place additional initialization code below here
       
        // Hardcode calibrations
       ReefAngel.PHMin=576; // PH7.0
       ReefAngel.PHMax=842; // PH10.0
      //  ReefAngel.SalMax=3300; // 35ppt
        ////// Place additional initialization code above here
    }

    void loop()
    {
    vtechmode=InternalMemory.RFMode_read();
    vtSpeed=InternalMemory.RFSpeed_read();
    vtDuration=InternalMemory.RFDuration_read();

    static unsigned long feeding;
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port1,778,782 );
        ReefAngel.WaterLevelATO( Port7,180,71,74 );
        ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port8,15,0,2,0 );
       // ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0,PWMSlope(19,00,21,00,15,51,20,0) );  //LIME
        ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1,PWMSlope(12,30,21,00,15,90,30,0) );  //RB
        ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2,PWMSlope(12,20,20,00,15,50,30,0) ); //WHITE
        ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 3,PWMSlope(12,15,20,00,15,70,30,0) );  //BLUE&CYAN
        ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 4,PWMSlope(12,00,20,30,15,70,30,0) ); //UV
        
        if ( ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive())
        {
          ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
        }
        else
        {
          ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port2);
        }
        
if (now() % 10800 == 0 ) while(1);
if (hour() >=13 && hour() < 20)
      {
        // if (ReefAngel.RF.Mode==Night) ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0);
        ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
        // ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(ReefCrest,60,20);
        if (ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu==FEEDING_MODE)
            {
             feeding=now();
             }
             if (now()-feeding<5400) {
            // if (now()-feeding > 1 && now()-feeding < 5400) { // 1 second after feeding mode until 90 minutes after feeding mode.
  ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
    ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Smart_NTM,75,10);
    } 
           }
      else
      {
        ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
        ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Constant,10,0);
       }
         if (vtechmode!=InternalMemory.RFMode_read())
          InternalMemory.RFMode_write(vtechmode);
         if (vtSpeed!=InternalMemory.RFSpeed_read())
          InternalMemory.RFSpeed_write(vtSpeed);
         if (vtDuration!=InternalMemory.RFDuration_read())
          InternalMemory.RFDuration_write(vtDuration);

        // This should always be the last line
        ReefAngel.Portal( "bencollinz" );
        ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
    }
   
     void DrawCustomMain()
    {
      char text[7];
        // Date and Time
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawDate( 6, 2 );
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(COLOR_BLACK, 1, 11, 132, 11);
        pingSerial();

    ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,18,12,"EcoSmart Vortech");
  ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255, 1, 19, 128, 29);
  
  if (vtechmode == 0) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_LIMEGREEN,255,35,21,"Constant");
  else if (vtechmode == 1) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_GOLD,255,42,21,"Lagoon");
  else if (vtechmode == 2) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_GOLD,255,25,21,"Reef Crest");
  else if (vtechmode == 3) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_CORNFLOWERBLUE,255,22,21,"Short Pulse");
  else if (vtechmode == 4) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_PINK,255,25,21,"Long Pulse");
  else if (vtechmode == 5) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_MAGENTA,255,8,21,"Nutrient Trnsp.");
  else if (vtechmode == 6) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_MAGENTA,255,23,21,"Tidal Swell");
  else if (vtechmode == 9) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_WHITE,0,45,21,"Night");

  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,4,30,"RF Speed:");
  ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255,59,29,128,39);
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_BLUE, DefaultBGColor,71,31,vtSpeed);
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_BLUE, DefaultBGColor,90,31,"/");
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_BLUE, DefaultBGColor,100,31,vtDuration);
  
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,10,40,"Salt");
  ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T1_PROBE], 10);
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_INDIANRED, 255, 10, 50, text, Num8x8);
  pingSerial();

  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,100,40,"pH");
  ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.PH, 100);
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_PLUM, 255, 85, 50, text, Num8x8);
  pingSerial();

  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,13,58,"Salinity");
  ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.Salinity, 10);
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_LIMEGREEN, 255, 13, 68, text, Num8x8);
  pingSerial();

  // water level
    ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,68,58,"WL");
    ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText( COLOR_CORNFLOWERBLUE,255, 68, 68, ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel() );
    pingSerial();

       // Main Relay Box
        byte TempRelay = ReefAngel.Relay.RelayData;
        TempRelay &= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOff;
        TempRelay |= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOn;
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawOutletBox( 12, 108, TempRelay );
        pingSerial();
         // Relay Expansion
        TempRelay = ReefAngel.Relay.RelayDataE[0];
        TempRelay &= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOffE[0];
       TempRelay |= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOnE[0];
       ReefAngel.LCD.DrawOutletBox( 12, 120, TempRelay );
        pingSerial();
     
    }
    
    void DrawCustomGraph()
    {
    }
 
Image
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Yes Thanks. I saw that in the code Roberto posted earlier.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Thank you. Thank worked. The wireless relay works as it should now,
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

It was all working properly. (I really have nothing programmed on it yet, but it was on ans working.)
I unplugged the multi strip I had the Relay plugged into and when I plugged it directly into the outlet it would not reconnect.

I rebooted and still not connection. not even the white blinking light I had before. no light on the logo at all.
I set the fallback to port 8 as on and uploaded the new code and still nothing.

Why would it not reconnect after it lost power for about 3 seconds?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

Can you check the red switch on top?
Does it light up when you switch to on?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Never noticed a red switch on top or are you talking about the one on the face between the 2 rows of outlets and just to the left of the logo?

That one lights up.

Image

Sometime last night the unit gained sync. The logo is a bluish/white, but no reaction to the portal or App any more.

I added ReefAngel.Relay.RANetFallBackE[0]=Port8Bit; to my code to leave port 8 on as a fallback.

That shouldn't effect anything, should it?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

Yes, that switch.
So, if the unit is fading blue/white, it's connected to the head unit.
Flashing white is not connected.
Is port 8 turned on?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

The power switch is illuminated red.
The logo doesn't look like it's fading. It seems to be a consistent bluish/white, maybe it's just my perception of the color.

No Port 8 is not on.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

Is port 7 on?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

No. Port 7 & 8 are definitely not on.
I'm not sure about any other ports, but nothing except port 8 should be on.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

Are all the dip switches in the up position?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

I will double check, but I would think so since it did work properly the day before.

Everything was fine until In unplugged it from the multi-strip and plugged it directly into the wall.

I tried plugging it back into the multi-strip and things are still not working correctly.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by rimai »

Also, disconnect the RANet Add-On from the head unit or turn it off for more than 10 seconds. Does the relay box blink white?
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

No problem. I'll check it tonight.
Can I disconnect and reconnect the RANet module from the head unit without powering it off and not hurt anything?
davaraj
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:18 am

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by davaraj »

LED on relay unit when Head unit is off.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_B5bL2K3giop

LED on relay unit when Head unit is on but not in sync.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=067azYoRu74
Image
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

davaraj your videos are in private mode.
davaraj
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:18 am

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by davaraj »

Sacohen wrote:davaraj your videos are in private mode.
I just changed the settings to public. Hope the vides are visible now
Image
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

Roberto;

The dip switches are all up.

I unplugged the serial cable from the head unit and left it off for 30 seconds or so and the logo did not flash. It stayed solid white.

Sometime during the day Port 8 decided to go back to the on state, but I still can not turn any ports on or off from the Portal or Andriod App.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: RA Net with Relay doesn't seem to be working correctly.

Post by Sacohen »

davaraj wrote:
Sacohen wrote:davaraj your videos are in private mode.
I just changed the settings to public. Hope the vides are visible now
Yes the videos work now.
At first my led logo did do a slow flash of white to off and then it came on full and stayed on.

As I said above the logo did not go out or flash when I shut down the RA head until for about 30 seconds, it just stayed on solid.
Post Reply