Water Level will not calibrate

Expansion modules and attachments
Post Reply
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

My WL1 keeps dropping it's level so everytime I refill my ATO reservoir I have to re-calibrate it (once a month or so).
I went to re-calibrate it today after re-filling the ATO reservoir and I can't hit ok.

I can navigate all around get into the WL calibration, change it to WL1, but when I go to hit OK for the 0 level it doesn't register and switch over to the 100% level.

I can't hit cancel to get out of it either.

All the other calibrations (Salinity and pH) work fine.

The only way I can get out of the WL calibration is to hit Exit Mode from the Android App.

It happens on all the WL settings the stand alone or any of the Multi WL channels.

I have re-booted the RA and no difference.

I think the only code I added to my setup since the last time I did a WL calibration was the following...

Code: Select all

  //Flush RO/DI Membrane 3 times a week
  ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Main_RODI,(now()+7200)%(SECS_PER_DAY*3)<300);
I think the RANet was installed and working the last time I did a WL calibration.

Thanks for your help.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by rimai »

If you press and hold for a little bit, does it take the button press?
With the addition of the RANet, I had to disable button press interrupt, which means the controller can only see button presses once in each loop().
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

How long is a little while, 10 seconds?

I believe I did this, but I will try again.

The Saltwater and pH Calibrations work with a normal press.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by rimai »

A little is just half a second or so, but if the others work, it must be something else.
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

Yes the others work fine.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

I tried again, holding the button for 5-10 seconds and nothing.
I can't even cancel out of it without using the App to exit the mode.
Only in Water Level Calibration.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by rimai »

Strange.
It works for me.
Can you cancel it out if you don't have the module connected to the bus?
I know I did change the original SoftwareSerial libs at some point. So, just to be sure, download and overwrite what you have.
It should be located at C:\Program Files (x86)\Reef Angel Controller\libraries\SoftwareSerial
Try also using the latest dev branch. See if that changes anything. There was a patch I did after the master release:
https://github.com/reefangel/Libraries/ ... e51c52457e
Maybe this is related.
Attachments
SoftwareSerial.zip
(5.88 KiB) Downloaded 478 times
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

I updated the Software Serial files on 1/26 for the RANet.
From this thread...
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.ph ... ial#p42304

I'll try it again.

I am using the dev library code.
I can't remember why I updated to it after the latest release, but it had to do with either the RANet that I added or the server authentication for Reeftronics, but I'll check to see if I have the latest version.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

The SoftwareSerial file update made no difference.

The unit will not cancel out of the WL mode calibration if the WL modules are disconnected from the hub.

The latest dev code I have is from 12/31/14, the one I find on github now (https://github.com/reefangel/Libraries) shows a date of 12/11/14 when I download it.

How do I get the one that you pointed to from 1/9 for the Fixed joystick debounce?
I don't see the download zip button.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

I found out how to download the 1/9 code that you pointed me to.
That fixed the problem.

Thanks Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

Roberto is there any reason that My DC Pump would stop working withthe 1/9 dev code?
After getting the WL working and calibrated I noticed that the WP-40 I got from you a couple of months ago wasn't working.
I tried a different Jebao cable and a different channel (Daylight instead of Actinic) both didn't work, so to check the pump I connected it to the stock controller and it worked fine.

So I decided to try the 12/31/14 dev code I had and the pump continued to work, so leaving everything plugged in and working I changed back to the 1/9 dev code and the DC pump stopped working.

I put it back to the 12/31/14 dev code, because the only problem I had there was I wan't able to hit OK or Cancel on the WL calibration, but since it is now calibrated I don't need it right now and I'd rather have the DC pump working.

Let me know what you think and if I can just copy a folder or something from the 1/9 dev code into the 12/31 code.

Thanks;

Steve
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by rimai »

Thanks!
I'll check it out.
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

No problem.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by rimai »

I was not able to replicate.
What mode were you using?
Here is the code I used:

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <PAR.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu();  // Add Standard Menu

    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen 
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = 0;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
    // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
    // Set the Overheat temperature setting
    InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 869 );

    // Feeeding and Water Change mode speed
    ReefAngel.DCPump.FeedingSpeed=0;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.WaterChangeSpeed=0;


    // Ports that are always on

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ShortPulse,50,500 );
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = AntiSync;
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

I'm using a random mode generator the lnevo created.

I don't know what mode it was in at the time. The Portal is set to custom.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Water Level will not calibrate

Post by Sacohen »

I'm having this problem again, after reformatting my PC last month.

Unfortunately It's not clear what I did to resolve it last time.

I'm using the libraries from the current installer.

It looks like I wound up using libraries from a 1/9/15 GitHub release. I can;t find them again.

When I just use the libraries from the current installer I get the following error of compiling.
'time_t does not name a type' from this portion of my code...


// Does not need to be global.
// unsigned long ATOUpdate=0;

static time_t LastATO=millis(); // For de-bounced ATO

Before I reformatted my PC I copied over the libraries I had working and when I copy them back to the Arduino folder it will compile and upload, but the problem with the Water Level Calibration remains.
Post Reply