Page 1 of 2

More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:55 pm
by Lionfan
So, I bought a few extra temp probes.
What all do I need to do to be able to see their parameters in either the screen, or the U-app?
And as far as joining them together; I basically just need to splice one probe into the wire of another, correct?
being that each is serialized.

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:55 pm
by binder
how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.


Sent from my iPad mini

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:11 pm
by Lionfan
binder wrote:how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.


Sent from my iPad mini


5 is what's planned

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:32 pm
by rimai
Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:
Code: Select all
  ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes();

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:26 pm
by Lionfan
rimai wrote:Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:
Code: Select all
  ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes();


We haven't found a way to look at them in the portal, correct?

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:16 pm
by jsclownfish

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:15 pm
by Lionfan
cool. But how do we see the temp of the other probes?

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:13 pm
by jsclownfish
It depends on how you want to 'see' the temperature from the extra probes. Some options are on the LCD as a custom screen, on the portal as a custom variable, and or from internal memory as a wifi request.

-Jon

Re: More temp probes

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:35 am
by tkeracer619
Same splitter above but cheaper.
http://www.microcenter.com/product/2213 ... tter_Cable

and even cheaper...
http://www.microcenter.com/product/4493 ... ower_Cable

and yet even cheaper if you aren't in a hurry. Free shipping too...
http://www.microcenter.com/product/4493 ... ower_Cable

Re: More temp probes code

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:36 am
by tkeracer619
I ordered one of these, will try to modify it to work. Hopefully it doesn't have too much circuitry.

Roberto, I can't find the post talking about using a resistor in the circuit when using a bunch of temp probes. If I am able to turn this hub into just a passive hub what type of resistor should I use and where would I place it?


https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... lsrc=aw.ds