Page 1 of 1

More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:55 pm
by Lionfan
So, I bought a few extra temp probes.
What all do I need to do to be able to see their parameters in either the screen, or the U-app?
And as far as joining them together; I basically just need to splice one probe into the wire of another, correct?
being that each is serialized.

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:55 pm
by binder
how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.


Sent from my iPad mini

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:11 pm
by Lionfan
binder wrote:how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.


Sent from my iPad mini
5 is what's planned

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:32 pm
by rimai
Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:

Code: Select all

  ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes();

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:26 pm
by Lionfan
rimai wrote:Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:

Code: Select all

  ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes();
We haven't found a way to look at them in the portal, correct?

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:16 pm
by jsclownfish
I found these online which should make it easy...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000E9 ... ge_o00_s00

-Jon

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:15 pm
by Lionfan
cool. But how do we see the temp of the other probes?

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:13 pm
by jsclownfish
It depends on how you want to 'see' the temperature from the extra probes. Some options are on the LCD as a custom screen, on the portal as a custom variable, and or from internal memory as a wifi request.

-Jon

Re: More temp probes

Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:35 am
by tkeracer619
Same splitter above but cheaper.
http://www.microcenter.com/product/2213 ... tter_Cable

and even cheaper...
http://www.microcenter.com/product/4493 ... ower_Cable

and yet even cheaper if you aren't in a hurry. Free shipping too...
http://www.microcenter.com/product/4493 ... ower_Cable

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:36 am
by tkeracer619
I ordered one of these, will try to modify it to work. Hopefully it doesn't have too much circuitry.

Roberto, I can't find the post talking about using a resistor in the circuit when using a bunch of temp probes. If I am able to turn this hub into just a passive hub what type of resistor should I use and where would I place it?


https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... lsrc=aw.ds

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:13 pm
by Loose
I have a RA* controller I've also added an additional temp probe to my system and found two ways to add it in code.

I found this first:

ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T4_PROBE]; <--- didn't notice a change

And then in this thread:

ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes(); <--- displays temp 4, 5, & 6 to the LCD and Uapp :D

Two questions:

1) What does ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T4_PROBE]; do?
2) Can the number of temps displayed be limited? Having only 4 temp probes for now, I'd like to not have Temp 5 and Temp 6 displayed.

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:17 pm
by rimai
No :(
Either 3 or 6.

Re: More temp probes code

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:21 pm
by Loose
Thanks for the quick reply. NP.