ph expansion and ph control issue.

Expansion modules and attachments
Post Reply
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

Firstly I’m very appreciate RA+. This stuff makes my hobby much easier than I thought. Most of daily work are rely on this small magic box.
But Im getting frustrating with this box since a new PH expansion introduced into system for my new Ca reactor (for CO2 control)

First.

My salinity expansion out of work when PH expansion get online. Ive just raised a post of that issue last month, Seems like a bad probe.

Second.

I’ve find my Ca reactor very difficult to adjust. The tank ALK always climbs by daily even lower the dose from Ca reactor.
Last week, I re-calibrated Ph expansion with solution, and surprised by result when plug probe back into ca reactor. It shown 5.8 instead previous Ph value 6.44 from RA (setup ph range 6.40~6.45 in code). I think in some way that explain why my ALK not stable, and its only about 10days since last PH calibration.
I swap head Ph with Ph expansion this Saturday, connect Ca reactor PH probe to RA+ head and Sump PH probe to PH expansion to see any difference.

Third.

The relay controls CO2 actor very strange since swap to head ph unit. It flashes randomly, even ph value in range of setup (6.40~6.45).
I change to control by memory, doesn’t work.
From

Code: Select all

if (ReefAngel.Params.PH < 640) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(CO2); 
if (ReefAngel.Params.PH > 645) ReefAngel.Relay.On(CO2);
to

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2
);

Change code to, doesn’t work.

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2, 6.40, 6.45 );

Change ph setup range (6.30~6.5), doesn’t work.

I’m appreciate if someone can help me to sort out why this happened.
Why Ph expansion floating. And why CO2 relay flashs when connect to head unit.

My PH expansion connect direct to relay box since last time salinity expansion out of work. USB hub, salinity expansion, and dimming expansion are all disconnected.

planning to add another relay box, but should solving this ph issue. seems system not very stable right now.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by rimai »

I think there is a problem with the calibration of your pH expansion.
There is a patch to be released.
What it is doing is actually saving the setting of the ph expansion into the head unit pH values.
I would recommend either using the dev branch of the libraries or we hard code the calibration values.
If you choose the hard coded method, you will need the values for both standard pH and the pH expansion calibration values.
Roberto.
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

rimai wrote:I think there is a problem with the calibration of your pH expansion.
There is a patch to be released.
What it is doing is actually saving the setting of the ph expansion into the head unit pH values.
I would recommend either using the dev branch of the libraries or we hard code the calibration values.
If you choose the hard coded method, you will need the values for both standard pH and the pH expansion calibration values.
thanks Roberto.
is you talking about PH expansion calibration value cant record into system? actually i patched what posted in following link, but seems no help :(
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.ph ... 658#p48658

is there any new patch for libraries? i would have a try.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by rimai »

Yes, that is the patch.
But this code:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2, 6.40, 6.45 );
Should be without the decimal:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2, 640, 645 );
Roberto.
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

Ok will change later
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

But why my ph expansion going down every day
Saturday 7.6. Sunday 7.5. Monday 7.4. I just swap ph expansion to my main last Saturday. (used to connect CA reactor, but saw same problem.)

It's not possible for my main tank down to 7.4, used to be 7.7 or high in mid of day (connected and measured by head PH, very stable). code patch does nothing with this defect. any clue about this?
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

the pic shows problem happens in my ph expansion measurement. need help :cry:
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (62.22 KiB) Viewed 7365 times
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by lnevo »

Do you get different readings if you put the probe in a cup of tank water? Its either stray voltage or bad probe.
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

lnevo wrote:Do you get different readings if you put the probe in a cup of tank water? Its either stray voltage or bad probe.
will try in following days. See what's happened
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

lnevo wrote:Do you get different readings if you put the probe in a cup of tank water? Its either stray voltage or bad probe.
just put probe in cup for a week. see pic below.
its ups and downs from 7.43~7.88. how this happens and what cause that?
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (76.23 KiB) Viewed 7338 times
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

rimai wrote:Yes, that is the patch.
But this code:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2, 6.40, 6.45 );
Should be without the decimal:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.CO2Control( Co2, 640, 645 );
as checked code. already typed as you said. mis-typing in post.
but relay still flash right now. doesn't help.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by rimai »

The cup of tank water is just temporary to see if there is any interference with stray voltage, which seems that is not the case.
It looks like it is working right when it is in the tank.
Roberto.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by lnevo »

Have you recalibrated?
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

yes
sesame
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:29 am

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by sesame »

rimai wrote:The cup of tank water is just temporary to see if there is any interference with stray voltage, which seems that is not the case.
It looks like it is working right when it is in the tank.
How its ups and downs even in cup measurement. Is this in measure tolerance range?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ph expansion and ph control issue.

Post by rimai »

That may have been temperature variances.
Roberto.
Post Reply