Page 1 of 1

Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:41 am
by soyrex
Hi all,

I'm overseas for an 8 week trip. We've been away for 2 weeks and my RA has fallen offline.

I got my house sitter to reboot routers/wifi etc but the RA wifi module hasn't reconnected...

What's the simplest way I can get the house sitter to reinit the wifi? would an RA reboot work? or even a power cycle from the wall?

Suggestions?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:23 pm
by lnevo
Power cycle probably the easiest. Could also unplug and replug the wifi module.

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:24 pm
by lnevo
Roberto, is it possible to send a reboot to the wifi from the controller we could add a menu or automate it say once per day if someone wanted

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:02 pm
by rimai
Send $$$ then send reboot/n
I think this should do it.
It's just like when you set it up with putty.

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:27 am
by lnevo
So technically it's even possible to configure the module from the RA? Like if we had ReefAngel.WiFi.SSID("ssid", "key"); ?

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:53 pm
by rrodriguess
rimai wrote:Send $$$ then send reboot/n
I think this should do it.
It's just like when you set it up with putty.

hi there. Sorry to bring this up.. iveno once asked If It is possible to reboot the wifi module from the RA and Roberto just answered the above.

What is the C++ command to send the $$$ and the Reboot/n?

Is it really possible to reboot the wifi module from RA?

Recentelly my wifi module keep loosing connection and give me a blinking blue led. Have to unplug the module from the RA+ or unplug everything from the wall... It would be nice to be able to reboot the wifi module from time to time...

That's what is happening

[youtube]https://youtu.be/4nU7BM2rFbA[/youtube]


Rafa

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:48 am
by rrodriguess
Hi

Found this other thread

http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.ph ... +RA#p19989

Code: Select all

  if (millis()%3600000<500)
  {
    Serial.print("$$$");
    wdt_reset();
    delay(700);
    wdt_reset();
    Serial.println("reboot");
  }
Is that it? This code reboots the Wifi module?

Best Regards
Rafa

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:54 am
by rimai
it is worth trying

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:35 am
by rrodriguess
Hi Roberto

I will try both Serial.println("reboot"); and Serial.println("reboot/n"); and post the results.

Did you have the chance to watch https://youtu.be/4nU7BM2rFbA ?

Best regards
Rafa

Re: Wifi - reinitialise

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:29 pm
by rrodriguess
Hi Roberto

Upload this code and worked just fine:

Code: Select all

  if (millis()%3600000<500)
  {
    Serial.print("$$$");
    wdt_reset();
    delay(700);
    wdt_reset();
    Serial.println("reboot");
  }
It reinitialises the wifi module. I still don't know what makes it act like this https://youtu.be/4nU7BM2rFbA though.