Random Lights on With Dimming Module

Expansion modules and attachments

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:33 pm
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:33 am
Ok guys, it doesn't happen often. Has happened like 3 times since I incorporated the dimming module. I'll go the fish tank and the lights are on before scheduled time, it does not show in the app, and I've lost control of them ie, I can't ramp them up or down with the app. And I'm pretty sure at this point they've been on all night. I have to unplug the dimming module to "reset" it and then all is back to normal. What the world is going on?

It's beginning to freak me out.

Fwiw, I upload my code w/the wizard to internal memory. Have not stepped outside the wizard yet. This has me upload the code twice every time, which I do not fully understand, and don't think I need to do, but don't know what to do instead.

No bus locks, no errors, nothing. They just randomly stay on.

Here is my code;

Code: Select all
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <PAR.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = 0;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port7Bit;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit;
    // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;

    // Feeeding and Water Change mode speed
    ReefAngel.DCPump.FeedingSpeed=0;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.WaterChangeSpeed=0;


    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port7 );

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
   

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port1 );
    ReefAngel.PWM.Channel0PWMSlope();
    ReefAngel.PWM.Channel1PWMSlope();
    ReefAngel.PWM.Channel2PWMSlope();
    ReefAngel.PWM.Channel3PWMSlope();
    ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory = true;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = true;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[0] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[1] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[2] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[3] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[4] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[5] = None;
    ////// Place your custom code below here
   

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.Portal( "****" );
    ReefAngel.DDNS( "****" ); // Your DDNS is ****.myreefangel.com
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
Image

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:33 pm
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:24 pm
Alright, I think my issue is again with my DCP pump. I believe it's causing interference with my led lights. Does anyone know a way to shield the cat 6 wire without making it look like crap? Some kind of electro magnetic shield? I love this pump, but it's driving me nuts.
Image

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:33 pm
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:20 am
Still having issues with this. Not 100% sure it's the DC pump. My lights sometimes come on, don't come on, come on half way, don't shut off. Happened again last night, they were still on after scheduled time to be off?

Any ideas? Anyone experience any of these symptoms?

I have a 25' shielded cat5 cable ordered from amazon. Am going to try shielding all control wires, see what that does.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1424
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:53 am
What kind of lights? How are you controlling them, are you switching off a relay or dimming them to zero?

--Colin

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:33 pm
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:27 am
cosmith71 wrote:What kind of lights? How are you controlling them, are you switching off a relay or dimming them to zero?

--Colin


Steve's LED diy, 0-10 PWM
Controlling them via binders app
dimming to "0"

I have since switched my DC pump back to the stock controller and have all of it's wires on the other side of the tank (6' away). This seems to have fixed the problem.

Using the A1 controller to control the pump means I have to run a control wire near the RA (to the standard dimming on the relay box). This seems to be the source of my interference. I have ordered some shielded cat5 wire with the aluminum in it, so hopefully that will fix it. Plan to install this on both the dimming module control wires, and to the DC pump, hopefully this weekend.
Image

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest