Expansion hub regular USB Hub?

Expansion modules and attachments

Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 11:27 am
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:50 pm
I'm going to use a 7" tablet/pad as a display and want it lit and powered 24/7. It came with one of those USB plugs you plug a USB cable into and then you can plug into a normal 110v outlet. It would be a lot easier/cleaner to just plug my tablet into the Expansion Hub and have that power my display. The Expansion Hub appears to be a regular USB hub, and it looks like this would work, but I want to make sure before I try it.

Posts: 12288
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:52 pm
I wouldn't do that.
I don't think you have enough juice to charge it.
Roberto.

Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 11:27 am
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:04 pm
rimai wrote:I wouldn't do that.
I don't think you have enough juice to charge it.


Would it hurt to try? If it is just a lack of power to where it won't keep up, and it dies then at least I know. I just don't want to harm anything.

Posts: 12288
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:06 pm
You can try it.
It is the correct voltage. I just don't know if the USB protocol from the tablet is going to interfere with the expansion protocol.
It may cause a bus lock. I never tried before.
Roberto.

Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 11:27 am
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 4:06 pm
rimai wrote:You can try it.
It is the correct voltage. I just don't know if the USB protocol from the tablet is going to interfere with the expansion protocol.
It may cause a bus lock. I never tried before.


Ahhh ok. Is a bus lock easy to clear?

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests