I/O Expansion Issue?

Expansion modules and attachments

Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA 60614
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:41 am
Hello,

I have an I/O expansion that I can't seem to get working as expected. The chip is the 328P, which, I believe, indicates this is a v1.0 module, correct?

When I load up the I/O expansion example code and hook up a float switch to one of the inputs, I don't seem to see any change to the status of the input represented on the display. They all continue to show green. I have also tried multiple float switches, so I don't believe they are the issue.

If I disconnect the module, all of the inputs turn red, so I assume it's recognizing the module itself.

I am happy to debug further if someone is able to provide some next steps.

Thanks,
-Steve

Posts: 12225
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:06 pm
Are you closing the i/o channel to ground?
Roberto.

Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA 60614
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:25 pm
I have one side of the switch in I/O port 0 and the the other side connected to ground, so yes, it should close to ground. I have also tried just jumping between the I/O port and ground, and I still see no indication of it working.

With the I/O expansion connected and no switches attached, should all the inputs on the display show green in the example code? I would think they'd turn green only when a switch is activated.

Thanks,
-Steve

Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA 60614
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:23 am
Anyone have any thoughts?

I picked this expansion module up from another reefer, but it's the old style (v1.0) and has no exterior labels.

Looking at the "documentation" for the I/O expansion on the website, it shows that it now has a DC connector input. However, this older style module only has a USB connector.

Opening it up, I see that it has the 328P chip, which I assumed meant that it's an I/O expansion. And the inputs in the example code turn green when I plug the module in, reinforcing this.

Is there any chance that this is a dimming expansion and not an I/O expansion? They look very similar from the outside.

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron