Switch Relays (no power)

Request new hardware or ideas for the controller

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:55 am
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:29 am
Hi there,

Just got my RA controller and I must say that I'm excited to get it running on my tank. However, I'm trying to blend it into my setup as efficient as possible without changing too much of my wiring.

Currently my return pumps (2 pumps) and skimmer pumps (2 pumps) are connected to a wall socket.

wallsocket.jpg
wall socket
wallsocket.jpg (92 KiB) Viewed 2847 times


I turn them on and off using a light switch. The switch will complete the circuit for the wall sockets. It is wired directly to the room's power distribution box.

switch.jpg
switch
switch.jpg (44.49 KiB) Viewed 2847 times


I have something like this from my previous Arduino projects, which is a Sainsmart Solid state relay. What it does is
also complete the circuit when the instruction is given to it, similar to the one we have in the relay.

ssr.jpg
SSR
ssr.jpg (99.04 KiB) Viewed 2847 times


The question is, how can I integrate this with the RA controller?

Thanks.

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:50 am
You need an I2C expander IC to control your board.
Roberto.

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:55 am
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:31 am
Hmm... Now I realized I should have bought the ones with I2C controller built in...

So if I have one of those, it's just a matter of connecting the 3 cables somewhere and giving it an I2C address or something?

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:33 am
Yes.
The I2C bus is easily accessible on the USB port of the relay box.
Roberto.

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:55 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:19 pm
Roberto,

Will something like this work?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-RELAY-MODULE- ... 2c64f48144

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:42 am
I think so, but I can't see the schematics.
What concerns me is the lack of diode on the relay.
http://electronicsclub.info/relays.htm
Roberto.

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:55 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:55 am
Roberto,

Is this an I/O expander?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCF8574-IO-Expa ... 3a7393861a

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:12 am
Yes it is.
In fact, I just added support for that same chipset into the libraries yesterday.
It will be released in the next patch.
Then, just make sure to set the address to 0x27
Roberto.

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:55 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:19 pm
Sweet. Now to figure out how to be able to use it. Haha

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:13 am
Location: Oakley, CA
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:03 am
That's pretty cool! Will that work in addition to the current I/O module?

~Charlie
Next

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest