Page 1 of 1

Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:29 am
by wideawake
Hi there,

Just got my RA controller and I must say that I'm excited to get it running on my tank. However, I'm trying to blend it into my setup as efficient as possible without changing too much of my wiring.

Currently my return pumps (2 pumps) and skimmer pumps (2 pumps) are connected to a wall socket.
wall socket
wall socket
wallsocket.jpg (92 KiB) Viewed 8924 times
I turn them on and off using a light switch. The switch will complete the circuit for the wall sockets. It is wired directly to the room's power distribution box.
switch
switch
switch.jpg (44.49 KiB) Viewed 8924 times
I have something like this from my previous Arduino projects, which is a Sainsmart Solid state relay. What it does is
also complete the circuit when the instruction is given to it, similar to the one we have in the relay.
SSR
SSR
ssr.jpg (99.04 KiB) Viewed 8924 times
The question is, how can I integrate this with the RA controller?

Thanks.

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:50 am
by rimai
You need an I2C expander IC to control your board.

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:31 am
by wideawake
Hmm... Now I realized I should have bought the ones with I2C controller built in...

So if I have one of those, it's just a matter of connecting the 3 cables somewhere and giving it an I2C address or something?

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:33 am
by rimai
Yes.
The I2C bus is easily accessible on the USB port of the relay box.

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:19 pm
by wideawake
Roberto,

Will something like this work?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-RELAY-MODULE- ... 2c64f48144

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:42 am
by rimai
I think so, but I can't see the schematics.
What concerns me is the lack of diode on the relay.
http://electronicsclub.info/relays.htm

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:55 am
by wideawake

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:12 am
by rimai
Yes it is.
In fact, I just added support for that same chipset into the libraries yesterday.
It will be released in the next patch.
Then, just make sure to set the address to 0x27

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:19 pm
by wideawake
Sweet. Now to figure out how to be able to use it. Haha

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:03 am
by Piper
That's pretty cool! Will that work in addition to the current I/O module?

~Charlie

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:11 am
by rimai
No :(

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:14 am
by rimai
Oh wait.....
You can do something different instead, though.
You can use a wall wart powering a small relay that is connected to the I/O module.
Your RA system uses UPS powered outlet and the wall wart uses grid outlet.
You got the idea?

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:03 am
by wideawake
rimai wrote:Yes it is.
In fact, I just added support for that same chipset into the libraries yesterday.
It will be released in the next patch.
Then, just make sure to set the address to 0x27
Hi Roberto,
I've recently received the I2C controllers. You mentioned that support for this is in the next patch. How can I download the libraries before the official release? And I'm hoping there is some kind of documentation on how to address the modules.

Thanks.

Re: Switch Relays (no power)

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:42 am
by rimai
It's in the dev branch of the github:
https://github.com/reefangel/Libraries/tree/dev