Relay Expasion Controlled wirelessly

Request new hardware or ideas for the controller

Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:29 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:54 am
It would be nice to have a relay expansion that can be controlled via Bluetooth or thorough the internet. Kind of like X10 but I think with Bluetooth or through the internet is going to work better.

You could have one "brain" and maybe control 2-3 tanks with it . This would even be
Last edited by ganjero on Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Singapore
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:39 am
that will be a great idea! it will be great to have a module that works like the x10 :)
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:01 am
We have this already, no? You can control all the relays from the internet already.
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:10 am
I think they mean independent from the RA head unit? The x10 transmits through the home's wiring.

Expansion: dinning room plugged in and awaiting signal


RA in living room with webserver transmitting data via AC plug adaptor.


Only issue I see...troubleshooting users. Every home as "some" interference in their AC lines. Some users will have more than others...thus, how do you help these people when they say, "it's not working" or "it only works sometimes."
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:15 am
Notice that the link says aquariums add to home wiring interference :(

http://compnetworking.about.com/od/home ... erence.htm
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:16 am
I discovered early on before moving to the RA that X10 and aquariums do not mix...

The reasons:

UPS blocks X-10 signal.
GFI circuit... blocks X-10 signal.

So the only way to do X-10 was to have the X-10 signal receiver on the same side of the UPS as the equipment which means I would have had to find a way to connect my X-10 signal from my computer controller to the same power bar which was not going to work.

You could get cat-5 to SVGA adapaters from amazon and run the relay expansion module pretty far away from the head unit..

My recommnedation would be to get a ReefAngel for each tank!

Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:29 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:26 am
I mentioned X10 just as an example of what I'm looking for, eliminating cables...I don't want to do X10; it has proven to present many issues controlling aquariums.

I was thinking since there is a Bluetooth attachment we could use that, but I guess the range could be the issue. Maybe over the internet or home network; I think this would required a wifi attachment for the relay box, or LAN port, I dont know if the relay box would need their own built-in websever


I just want a way to control expansion relay boxes with one main unit in different parts of the house since you can add a bunch of them
Image
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:31 am
Xbees work easily...as well as little RF receivers.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:37 am
ganjero wrote:I mentioned X10 just as an example of what I'm looking for, eliminating cables...I don't want to do X10; it has proven to present many issues controlling aquariums.

I was thinking since there is a Bluetooth attachment we could use that, but I guess the range could be the issue. Maybe over the internet or home network; I think this would required a wifi attachment for the relay box, or LAN port, I dont know if the relay box would need their own built-in websever


I just want a way to control expansion relay boxes with one main unit in different parts of the house since you can add a bunch of them


If you had a wifi attachment and a relay box you would still have no way to communicate with the relay box and you'd still need a processor to run the wifi and relay box. What you are describing unfortunately is another head unit and a arelay bar. I know you're looking for less hardware, but that is in fact what the whole package delivers.

There are IP based surge protectors you can get out there, but from what I've seen they can be quite expensive, and then you'd still need a gaming adapter or something to make them wireless....

Posts: 12225
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:39 am
I think Drew has the idea.
XBees is the way to go for this.
But you would still need a mcu connected to xbee on the receiver side too.
Roberto.
Next

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron