Relay Expasion Controlled wirelessly

Request new hardware or ideas for the controller

Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:29 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:02 am
So it is possible to do something with the XBees...
instead of having the relay expansion and a USB cable, you would have maybe the RF Expansion and a "relay XBee expansion"?

could the XBee be integrated directly in the relay box or do you still need the expansion box with a serial port connected to the relay box?
Image

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:08 am
Yes, possible.
Not very easily though.
You would need a specially modded head unit to accommodate the XBee radio.
Then you would need a custom XBee board or an Arduino Uno with XBee shield and I/O expander shield to be able to control the relay box.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 1:48 pm
Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't there other research with uploading via xbees that supported a head unit mod? Maybe this can turn into mass production? Headunit with xbee
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:28 pm
Well, there is a big difference in carrying UART over Xbee vs I2C over XBee :(
UART is very easy and plug and play, but I don't know any UART I/O expander.
It would be possible to do SPI over Xbee, but the current RA doesn't offer SPI very easily.
So, if I were to add XBee capability on future product, what would you do with it?
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:50 pm
I'm thinking more like RA as a receiver and arduinos as master but that wouldn't be something for the masses.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:15 am
Ok, update to this...
I've made a prototype with Xbee radios and was able to get very good communication with another xbee :)
The prototype needs several revisions to be final yet, but I liked what I got out of this one.
With communication established, I can move on to creating a protocol to exchange data and we could have remote relay boxes controlled wirelessly :)
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5362
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:21 am
Any idea on the range? Would love to control my mixing station in the basement :)

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:41 am
They say Xbee can go to 300ft and Xbee Pro can go up to 1 mile, but that is without obstructions.
Indoors is stated to go up to 100ft.
Check it out here:
http://www.digi.com/products/wireless-w ... dule#specs
Roberto.

Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Singapore
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:24 am
Cant wait for this to be on the shelves !
User avatar
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:06 am
Location: Sweden
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:18 am
rimai wrote:Ok, update to this...
I've made a prototype with Xbee radios and was able to get very good communication with another xbee :)
The prototype needs several revisions to be final yet, but I liked what I got out of this one.
With communication established, I can move on to creating a protocol to exchange data and we could have remote relay boxes controlled wirelessly :)

Another candidate would be an xbee connected water level expansion... I guess thats the one most often placed a bit further away from the head unit...
200 liter reef cube + 1000 liter FOWLR
PreviousNext

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron