Ethernet. shield or module.

Request new hardware or ideas for the controller
sabo
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by sabo »

Awesome. Works a treat. :D Many thanks!
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by binder »

sabo wrote:Awesome. Works a treat. :D Many thanks!
excellent! sounds like the problem is solved 8-)

Sent from my Moto X
tkeracer619
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by tkeracer619 »

Is this still regarded as the best way to go ethernet?

In my last house wifi was easy but in this house there is too much concrete and it seems my signal is too weak to give a reliable connection.

I've installed power line ethernet adapters on multiple computers here with excellent results and would like to do the same with my RA. I assume I don't need the power from ethernet version.

Anyone need a discount wifi module?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by rimai »

Yes, that is the best and easiest way to get ethernet.
Roberto.
rcorbitt
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:28 pm

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by rcorbitt »

I'd be interested in a discount Wi-Fi module!
User avatar
cody.sheridan-2008
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:39 pm

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by cody.sheridan-2008 »

Is it possible for someone to do up a bit of a tutorial for this? I'm keen to do it but still a bit confused...
Cheers
Cody
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by rimai »

It's pretty simple.
Buy the board, load the code attached to the very first posts in this thread and connect to RA with the same cable you use for your wifi attachment. :)
If you don't have one, PM me. I can get you only the cable.
Roberto.
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by topjimmy »

Will this code still work with the newest libraries. I can't seem to get it to work.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by rimai »

This is independent of the libraries.
This code goes into the Ethernet board and not on RA.
Roberto.
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by topjimmy »

rimai wrote:This is independent of the libraries.
This code goes into the Ethernet board and not on RA.
Hmm

It loads fine, but then I can't ping it.

If I use this test code it works. I can ping it, I can go to the ip address and see the server page the code hosts.

Code: Select all

*--------------------------------------------------------------
  Program:      eth_websrv_page

  Description:  Arduino web server that serves up a basic web
                page. Does not use the SD card.
  
  Hardware:     Arduino Uno and official Arduino Ethernet
                shield. Should work with other Arduinos and
                compatible Ethernet shields.
                
  Software:     Developed using Arduino 1.0.3 software
                Should be compatible with Arduino 1.0 +
  
  References:   - WebServer example by David A. Mellis and 
                  modified by Tom Igoe
                - Ethernet library documentation:
                  http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Ethernet

  Date:         7 January 2013
 
  Author:       W.A. Smith, http://startingelectronics.org
--------------------------------------------------------------*/

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

// MAC address from Ethernet shield sticker under board
byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
IPAddress ip(10, 0, 0, 20); // IP address, may need to change depending on network
EthernetServer server(80);  // create a server at port 80

void setup()
{
    Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);  // initialize Ethernet device
    server.begin();           // start to listen for clients
}

void loop()
{
    EthernetClient client = server.available();  // try to get client

    if (client) {  // got client?
        boolean currentLineIsBlank = true;
        while (client.connected()) {
            if (client.available()) {   // client data available to read
                char c = client.read(); // read 1 byte (character) from client
                // last line of client request is blank and ends with \n
                // respond to client only after last line received
                if (c == '\n' && currentLineIsBlank) {
                    // send a standard http response header
                    client.println("HTTP/1.1 200 OK");
                    client.println("Content-Type: text/html");
                    client.println("Connection: close");
                    client.println();
                    // send web page
                    client.println("<!DOCTYPE html>");
                    client.println("<html>");
                    client.println("<head>");
                    client.println("<title>Arduino Web Page</title>");
                    client.println("</head>");
                    client.println("<body>");
                    client.println("<h1>Hello from Arduino!</h1>");
                    client.println("<p>A web page from the Arduino server</p>");
                    client.println("</body>");
                    client.println("</html>");
                    break;
                }
                // every line of text received from the client ends with \r\n
                if (c == '\n') {
                    // last character on line of received text
                    // starting new line with next character read
                    currentLineIsBlank = true;
                } 
                else if (c != '\r') {
                    // a text character was received from client
                    currentLineIsBlank = false;
                }
            } // end if (client.available())
        } // end while (client.connected())
        delay(1);      // give the web browser time to receive the data
        client.stop(); // close the connection
    } // end if (client)
}
I am using the actual Arduino exe to upload since the RA version can't see the board.
Image
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by topjimmy »

added the "ip" to this line

// start the Ethernet connection and the server:
Ethernet.begin(mac,ip);


Now I can ping it. I can't get to the webpage that you normally see at the local ip.
Image
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by topjimmy »

Looks like that did it.
Image
ecam
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:27 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by ecam »

Hey guys... is this functional and stable. I came across a ethernet board and wanted to give his a shot... anyone still using this?
topjimmy
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by topjimmy »

Yeah, I just bought the ethernet board from the arduino store to replace my old one that got wet.......

Make sure you add ", ip" to the line that initiates the Mac.

It's working fine on the uapp and the Android app.

The portal is flakey. It connects but it drops after a few minutes and it displays the page as if I have every attachment including about 10 relays. Don't know why.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Image
tkeracer619
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by tkeracer619 »

This board looks like it has been discontinued, are there any other suitable versions?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by lnevo »

The star controller has built in ethernet.
tkeracer619
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by tkeracer619 »

Right, but I don't have a Star and with a baby on the way my aquarium budget is severely limited. My wifi module is also not reliable. I'm going to get a Star but have so much more to get going the Star is last on my list unless I can't get a better network connection going with my +.

I don't want a cloud module because I'd be throwing more money at a wireless solution when I'd much rather a wired solution. House is wired with cat 6.
Image
tkeracer619
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Post by tkeracer619 »

Someone in Austrailia has a few left. I ordered two... if anyone wants the 2nd one its $15 + shipping.

Edit: Got this working, so far so good! Much more responsive than the wifi module!
Image
Post Reply