Ethernet. shield or module.

Request new hardware or ideas for the controller

Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:47 am
Ive read the other threads on the ethernet module. Just wondering as I heard someone else mention its easier than the wiznet shield. I dont need the extra pwm bits, and was thinking that the code for that module should pretty much work for the shield, or am I missing something? I understand the module is its own micro controller, but not understanding why not to just use the shield if it does what I need, which is to simply use ethernet.

Also in that thread, roberto, you had one didnt you? there was talk of supplying them, I guess that idea died a death?

Hmm, ok, due to it not using the serial pins, i guess is why to use the modle?

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:01 am
You still need the mcu. Just the shield won't do anything.
The easiest is to get the arduino ethernet board. It is already made to be a direct replacement for the wifi attachment.
You even use the same cable :)
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardEthernet
Roberto.

Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:35 pm
Yeah, a bit of further reading and it seemed quite more complicated with the shield. Module it is then.

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:23 pm
This is the code I used on my tests.
Attachments
Ethernet.ino
(4.25 KiB) Downloaded 212 times
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5362
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:01 pm
That was a product page to purchase. How much does the arduino one go for? I've had a lot of people ask for ethernet...would it just be getting one of those and loading that code up?

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:02 pm
Yeap, load the code and plug it in.
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:08 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:41 am
Does that code work for the android app? I'm still getting the parsing error with the android app and the ethernet module only works updating from the portal.
Image

Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 am
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:46 pm
I haven't had a chance to try mine yet as I'm away at work. François, I vaguely recall in the original thread something about a parsing error. And I'm pretty sure it was resolved. Something to do with XML tags iirc.

Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 am
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:20 am
Finally got home to play with the ethernet module. Im getting the XML SAX parser error from the android app too. Its updating the portal. If I go to the local address:2000/wifi, I get the normal web page and can turn ports on and off. Any ideas?

Edit: iphone app works, can turn relays on or off, but also get xml parsing errors. And I can also turn ports off and on, but not get current status with the android app. I read warpigs old thread on the wiznet module, and he said increasing the serial wait time to 3000ms seemed to fix the android app. Tried changing what I thought was that in the ino file and still no luck.

Another edit: it seems to update using the apps update interval semi consistently, but whenever I press the refresh buttun it always gets the xml parse error.

Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:13 am
Location: Oakley, CA
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:45 pm
Sabo, Did you manage to get to get your ethernet module working?
Next

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron