Page 1 of 2

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:22 pm
by sabo
Its works, but I get the XML sax parser error with the android app. The app works, as in I can turn things on and off, but the info never refreshes. Portal works OK. I haven't managed to find a fix for the parse error yet. :(

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:23 am
by rimai
I think Curt found something that is causing this issue.
He didn't have anyone to test the fix.
If you PM him, he may be able to coordinate with you to test his fix.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:29 pm
by Piper
I'll shoot him a PM. I'm getting the sax error with the wifi module and the app which is why I was looking into this. If the fix might work for the wifi as well maybe I can help him test it.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:49 pm
by sabo
I read an old thread where the consensus was that the packet size was too small and that's why the app didn't like it. I tried researching how to fix that but as I've been setting up the tank I didn't find a fix as I've been a bit distracted. ;)

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:07 am
by Piper
I spoke to Curt and it looks like he will have an updated version of the app available in a few weeks that will greatly help with the sax errors.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:43 am
by sabo
Awesome :D Though Im interested in whether its the module or the app causing the issue?

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:45 am
by Piper
From what Curt said it may have something to do with how the app reads the XML. I started to do a little research before speaking with Curt and from what I read so far it sounded like it might be malformed XML (CRLFs before the header) or possibly "bad" characters in the XML. I don't think that is the case here though.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:08 am
by binder
Piper wrote:From what Curt said it may have something to do with how the app reads the XML. I started to do a little research before speaking with Curt and from what I read so far it sounded like it might be malformed XML (CRLFs before the header) or possibly "bad" characters in the XML. I don't think that is the case here though.
i think the problem had to do specifically with my app. i was reading in the entire data into a string before processing it. i think the data coming in would get interpreted differently in the string form or run out of buffer space and error out the parser. i am not 100% certain though because it is a tricky bug to track down. i have switched the way i process and read the data and it now appears to have fixed the problem. it's kind of hard to get into lots of details while im using my ipad to reply. :-)


Sent from my iPad mini

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:03 pm
by sabo
Ah, nice one. Have you got the apk I can try?

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:20 pm
by binder
sabo wrote:Ah, nice one. Have you got the apk I can try?
sure.
http://curtbinder.info/apps/AndroidStat ... .Beta1.apk
it will replace the existing version and can be upgraded without problems.

Sent from my Moto X

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:01 pm
by sabo
Awesome. Works a treat. :D Many thanks!

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:49 pm
by binder
sabo wrote:Awesome. Works a treat. :D Many thanks!
excellent! sounds like the problem is solved 8-)

Sent from my Moto X

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:39 pm
by tkeracer619
Is this still regarded as the best way to go ethernet?

In my last house wifi was easy but in this house there is too much concrete and it seems my signal is too weak to give a reliable connection.

I've installed power line ethernet adapters on multiple computers here with excellent results and would like to do the same with my RA. I assume I don't need the power from ethernet version.

Anyone need a discount wifi module?

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:30 pm
by rimai
Yes, that is the best and easiest way to get ethernet.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:23 pm
by rcorbitt
I'd be interested in a discount Wi-Fi module!

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:42 am
by cody.sheridan-2008
Is it possible for someone to do up a bit of a tutorial for this? I'm keen to do it but still a bit confused...

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:28 am
by rimai
It's pretty simple.
Buy the board, load the code attached to the very first posts in this thread and connect to RA with the same cable you use for your wifi attachment. :)
If you don't have one, PM me. I can get you only the cable.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:56 am
by topjimmy
Will this code still work with the newest libraries. I can't seem to get it to work.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:28 am
by rimai
This is independent of the libraries.
This code goes into the Ethernet board and not on RA.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:39 am
by topjimmy
rimai wrote:This is independent of the libraries.
This code goes into the Ethernet board and not on RA.
Hmm

It loads fine, but then I can't ping it.

If I use this test code it works. I can ping it, I can go to the ip address and see the server page the code hosts.

Code: Select all

*--------------------------------------------------------------
  Program:      eth_websrv_page

  Description:  Arduino web server that serves up a basic web
                page. Does not use the SD card.
  
  Hardware:     Arduino Uno and official Arduino Ethernet
                shield. Should work with other Arduinos and
                compatible Ethernet shields.
                
  Software:     Developed using Arduino 1.0.3 software
                Should be compatible with Arduino 1.0 +
  
  References:   - WebServer example by David A. Mellis and 
                  modified by Tom Igoe
                - Ethernet library documentation:
                  http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Ethernet

  Date:         7 January 2013
 
  Author:       W.A. Smith, http://startingelectronics.org
--------------------------------------------------------------*/

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

// MAC address from Ethernet shield sticker under board
byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
IPAddress ip(10, 0, 0, 20); // IP address, may need to change depending on network
EthernetServer server(80);  // create a server at port 80

void setup()
{
    Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);  // initialize Ethernet device
    server.begin();           // start to listen for clients
}

void loop()
{
    EthernetClient client = server.available();  // try to get client

    if (client) {  // got client?
        boolean currentLineIsBlank = true;
        while (client.connected()) {
            if (client.available()) {   // client data available to read
                char c = client.read(); // read 1 byte (character) from client
                // last line of client request is blank and ends with \n
                // respond to client only after last line received
                if (c == '\n' && currentLineIsBlank) {
                    // send a standard http response header
                    client.println("HTTP/1.1 200 OK");
                    client.println("Content-Type: text/html");
                    client.println("Connection: close");
                    client.println();
                    // send web page
                    client.println("<!DOCTYPE html>");
                    client.println("<html>");
                    client.println("<head>");
                    client.println("<title>Arduino Web Page</title>");
                    client.println("</head>");
                    client.println("<body>");
                    client.println("<h1>Hello from Arduino!</h1>");
                    client.println("<p>A web page from the Arduino server</p>");
                    client.println("</body>");
                    client.println("</html>");
                    break;
                }
                // every line of text received from the client ends with \r\n
                if (c == '\n') {
                    // last character on line of received text
                    // starting new line with next character read
                    currentLineIsBlank = true;
                } 
                else if (c != '\r') {
                    // a text character was received from client
                    currentLineIsBlank = false;
                }
            } // end if (client.available())
        } // end while (client.connected())
        delay(1);      // give the web browser time to receive the data
        client.stop(); // close the connection
    } // end if (client)
}
I am using the actual Arduino exe to upload since the RA version can't see the board.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 11:11 am
by topjimmy
added the "ip" to this line

// start the Ethernet connection and the server:
Ethernet.begin(mac,ip);


Now I can ping it. I can't get to the webpage that you normally see at the local ip.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:22 pm
by topjimmy
Looks like that did it.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:34 am
by ecam
Hey guys... is this functional and stable. I came across a ethernet board and wanted to give his a shot... anyone still using this?

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:29 pm
by topjimmy
Yeah, I just bought the ethernet board from the arduino store to replace my old one that got wet.......

Make sure you add ", ip" to the line that initiates the Mac.

It's working fine on the uapp and the Android app.

The portal is flakey. It connects but it drops after a few minutes and it displays the page as if I have every attachment including about 10 relays. Don't know why.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:14 pm
by tkeracer619
This board looks like it has been discontinued, are there any other suitable versions?

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:25 pm
by lnevo
The star controller has built in ethernet.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:01 pm
by tkeracer619
Right, but I don't have a Star and with a baby on the way my aquarium budget is severely limited. My wifi module is also not reliable. I'm going to get a Star but have so much more to get going the Star is last on my list unless I can't get a better network connection going with my +.

I don't want a cloud module because I'd be throwing more money at a wireless solution when I'd much rather a wired solution. House is wired with cat 6.

Re: Ethernet. shield or module.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:16 am
by tkeracer619
Someone in Austrailia has a few left. I ordered two... if anyone wants the 2nd one its $15 + shipping.

Edit: Got this working, so far so good! Much more responsive than the wifi module!