Page 1 of 1

How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS like a breaker

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:53 am
by mikedizon
Can anyone help me find a quick and simple hardware and code solution
to my concern. I love my RA system I have been using it for years.

Its my hardware my AC SUBMERSIBLE PUMP I've had bad experienced.
I hope this never happened to you but for me if you have an AC pump.
maybe you should also consider what I have seen.

It has happened several years ago in the past
several times before DC pumps was even used for saltwater aquariums.

Now I want to do something about it.
Hopefully my Reef Angel System will help protect me.

I have 3 pumps. 2 pumps are DC and 1 pump is AC.

All connected to my RA relay box.

I am using port 3 to control power this China made brand submersible
AC 220v pump. Its use 1 of my 3 return pump. Not worried about my
DC pumps at all. Its the AC pumps I want to be ready and prepared.
I have no choice except to use this AC pump for now which I do not trust at all.
Its because in the past i got grounded several times and even seen a pump
burn in the sump and spark in the water timing.

knowing this I plan to change this pump to DC later on but for now no choice.

How do I command the RA to shut off port 3 if it detect any
voltage leak in the sump tank were the 220v AC pump is located.

Can we use the temp probe to detect the current in the water
instead of temperature. I still got 2 empty TEMP slots and can add
another TEMP Probe.

Can anyone help find the shortest way to code it to shut off port 3 using
the temp probe to detect current example 2v to 250v in the water then
and at the same time add a trigger code in the portal to send me a message.

In the portal settings I can use TEMP 2 and type a code in that area to alert me.

Two simple things I want to achieve.
1 - SHUT OFF PORT 3 so I wont get grounded with any Low to high voltage of current in the water
just in case the AC submersible pump blows up in the sump.
I would be cool if I can shut it automatically like a breaker switch.
and also
2- I want to get a email message warning me pump in port 3 is OFF.

Btw, All my return pipes have ONE WAY valves installed. I am not concern about shutting off all my pumps.
My sump tank should not overflow and as a back up my wave makers is installed separately so i still got
circulation if needed.

Do let me know were to insert this custom code you suggest so I can cut and past it
in my ino file. I not a code maker. I used the wizard to get me running.

Regards
md

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS in the sump

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:35 am
by cosmith71
Is your pH probe in the sump? The pH reading will drop with the presence of stray voltage. You should be able to program the pump to shut off if there is an abnormally low pH reading (like way low, <5 or even lower).

--Colin

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS in the sump

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:43 am
by cosmith71
It would need to be an override. Give me a day or so and I can come up with something. Should be fairly easy once I get a free minute. :D

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS in the sump

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:43 am
by cosmith71
Here's the code. Goes in your loop.

Code: Select all

if (ReefAngel.Params.PH < 700)
  ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Port3, 0);
700 means pH of 7.00. Change to whatever you like. The idea is to shut off the outlet if the pH reading drops abnormally low (voltage leak grounding through the pH probe drops the reading). You'll need the pH probe in the sump for this to work.

You will either have to use an app, the portal, or re-boot the RA to reset the outlet.

For an e-mail, you can do that in the Portal. Under Portal settings, set up a notification for when Port 3 = 0. There is currently an issue with notifications, however.

--Colin

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS in the sump

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:18 pm
by mikedizon
Colin,
Yes my pH is in the sump.
If I get a voltage leak ground in the sump. What you are saying is
my pH will also drop. How low do you think it will drop?

Looking at your code.
PH < 700 - means if my pH drops anything less than pH 7
RA controller will shut off Port 3.

Also what does the 0 mean.

What is the current issue with notification via email?

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS in the sump

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:57 pm
by cosmith71
Usually the pH reading will drop to near 0 with a voltage leak.

The zero means override off. 1 means override on. We override it so it doesn't come back on until we reset it. If we just used an if/then statement, it would shut off, voltage would go away, pH reading would come back up, pump would turn on, voltage would leak, pH would drop, pump would shut off, etc etc. So we override it to off so it stays that way until you address the cause.


http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5959

Essentially, the first time you set up the notification there is a delay in sending out the first one. After that it works fine.

Re: Help How to auto shut off AC current PUMPS

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:23 am
by mikedizon
Hi Colin,
I just realized I have total 4 pumps. 2 AC pumps connected on Port 3 and Port 4.
How do you add this pump from your code.