Web server basic authentication

Related to the development libraries, released by Curt Binder

Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Location: CT, USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:36 am
Sorry but I am not getting it...how do I enable authentication on my RA webpage?
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:48 pm
Smotz wrote:Sorry but I am not getting it...how do I enable authentication on my RA webpage?

You need to grab the latest copy of the libraries from the DEV branch. Then you must add this to your setup() of your INO.
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Network.WifiAuthentication("username:password");

Then, that will require that username and password combination to access your controller through the web page.
So you could do:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Network.WifiAuthentication("myuser:pass4321");

Or whatever else you wanted to do. The only requirement is that string of your username:password must be 50 chars or less, including the colon (:).

Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Location: CT, USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 4:11 pm
binder wrote:
Smotz wrote:Sorry but I am not getting it...how do I enable authentication on my RA webpage?

You need to grab the latest copy of the libraries from the DEV branch. Then you must add this to your setup() of your INO.
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Network.WifiAuthentication("username:password");

Then, that will require that username and password combination to access your controller through the web page.
So you could do:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Network.WifiAuthentication("myuser:pass4321");

Or whatever else you wanted to do. The only requirement is that string of your username:password must be 50 chars or less, including the colon (:).


This is perfect! Thank you as always.

Can I have multiple lines for multiple usernames?
Will this affect the portal in anyway?
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 5:11 pm
Smotz wrote:This is perfect! Thank you as always.

Can I have multiple lines for multiple usernames?
No
Will this affect the portal in anyway?
I think it will because the portal will have to use the username and password to connect to your controller. However, I believe Roberto has this implemented and working now so the portal can connect but I am not 100% positive. He (or someone else) will have to confirm this (also, I have not checked, but I'm sure you could check on the portal for some authentication).

Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Location: CT, USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:52 pm
binder wrote:
Smotz wrote:This is perfect! Thank you as always.

Can I have multiple lines for multiple usernames?
No
Will this affect the portal in anyway?
I think it will because the portal will have to use the username and password to connect to your controller. However, I believe Roberto has this implemented and working now so the portal can connect but I am not 100% positive. He (or someone else) will have to confirm this (also, I have not checked, but I'm sure you could check on the portal for some authentication).


Gotcha - Everything is working except the portal.
Roberto, can you chime in? I cannot figure out where on the portal to set this.

Posts: 12272
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:54 pm
Not implemented yet.
Roberto.

Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Location: CT, USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 8:02 pm
rimai wrote:Not implemented yet.


Gotcha. Well, looks good so far!
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:50 pm
Was the Webserver Authentication enabled on the Portal after the update to the 1.1.1 libraries.

I uncommented it from my code and when I load the portal I get Unreachable Address and it pulls the info from the database.

When I comment it out again the portal works fine.

Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Network.WifiAuthentication("Sacohen:xxxxxxxx");


With the xxx's representing my actual password.

It is in my setup section.

Does the password need to be the same as what the portal uses or the Portal key?
For example the portal or forum password maybe ABCDefgh but my Portal key is AbCdEfGh
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:45 pm
I tried changing my forum password to match my Portal Key and the Server Authentication in my code and still got Unreachable Address.

Posts: 12272
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:47 am
Not implemented yet :(
I'll try to get to this next week.
Roberto.
PreviousNext

Return to Development Libraries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron