Auto set of RTC using wifi

Related to the development libraries, released by Curt Binder

Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Albany, GA
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 5:43 pm
So I was just wondering if it were possible to have the RA check the time server periodically to check the time and set the head unit if it is off or for DST.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 3
User avatar
Posts: 5349
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:46 pm
I'm sure there's a way. I don't know if we have the ability to query ntp as of now. I think its doable with the ethernet class but I think you need an actual ethernet module.
User avatar
Posts: 5349
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:47 pm
Roberto maybe you could expose a script we could run to tel the ra if DST is active or not, I just don't know if we actually can get/read the result.

Posts: 12241
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:04 pm
If you want to contribute and update the libraries, it is definitely doable.
Roberto.

Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Albany, GA
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:19 pm
Would it be easier for either the android or iOS to check the current time and set it automatically that way than having to write another class for the wifi module?

Posts: 12241
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:28 pm
To change the time on RA is also just one button from the app. This would also only be required twice a year.
Not so sure the time required to add the functionality would justify.
Roberto.

Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Albany, GA
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:31 pm
Very true Roberto. I'm just forgetful of the time updates as almost everything I have does it automatically. Was just throwing out the idea. No biggie if we dont incorporate it.

Return to Development Libraries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron