Page 2 of 3

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:19 am
by binder
I did some further digging into everything to get a build working for me.
I tested both of the installers linked in the OP and I came across some stuff:
  • None of the installers contain the RA* board. (I have to use the boards.txt file that was provided in the discussion.)
  • The RA* bootloader is not included in the github repository.
I know that it's not a big deal but I did notice in the boards.txt file that the bootloader folder has changed a little and there's a reefangel folder that contains all the bootloaders for simplicity.

I'm assuming that the bootloader files were just copied and renamed to the appropriate RAPlus and RAStar hex files. Is there anything else different with them? Or can I just create the Star file using the same RAPlus file? I'm assuming this is safe and the way I need to handle it based on other discussions.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:56 am
by binder
SUCCESS!!

I now have a working arduino build for 64bit linux and uses the latest dev libraries and can talk to the RA* just fine. Woohoo!

Now I can get some of these fixes made and posted. :ugeek:

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:21 am
by rimai
Yeah, the bootloader is only required once.
We never had to burn bootloader in the past, but if someone were to create RA* from scratch, they would need that.
Attached is a revised board.txt and the bootloader. I changed the name to comply with what I had in here.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:44 am
by binder
cool. i didn't think we needed to worry about it because it was already set. however arduino wouldn't let me compile and upload without having it.
i remember with the original ra when you switched bootloaders and we had to burn the optiboot one....i still have my programmer from back then for it....never had to use it since either. :-)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:20 pm
by Naptalene
Hi,

When I use the Dev IDE and the web wizard, my custom labels don't come up on the head unit and my DCpump mode doesn't reflect the correct mode on startup. The DCpump mode is a bit of a non-issue as once I re-set it via the U-App it's fine.
If I revert to the standard IDE (1.1.3 not the dev) it all loads as expected.

Have I missed something?

Thanks

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:46 pm
by rimai
We were running into issues with the labels being declared the way they were.
So everything got moved to RA_CustomsLabels.h file.
You need to manually edit it if you are using the Arduino IDE.
The web wizard needs to be updated still. It's on my todo list.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:01 am
by Naptalene
Ah, ok cool, thanks :)
I have gotten a second RA system for my new build and I've started coding it. Am I correct that the web wizard and IDEv1.6.8 are where the system is headed? So it makes sense to keep programming with one of those two instead of the older standard version?

EDIT- Geez, after using the WebPlugin, the IDE is EXTREMELY ugly and bright lol. It's much more pleasant to use the webplug.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:57 am
by rimai
I think you are better off using the web wizard from now on.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:46 am
by Naptalene
Ok Cool, thanks :)

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:41 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:Do you happen to have Sierra OSX?
I may need to update the IDE again and recompile :(
https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/issues/5360
I know this is on your list of items, but just checking on the status of this. I'm running High Sierra OSX as my main setup for now (and probably will be for several months).
I can switch to running a VM of linux to get things working for me (since I already had/have it running under linux).
Anyways, just curious. :?:

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:15 pm
by rimai
Sorry... :(
No update.
I need to find the new VM for the MacOSX

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:08 am
by binder
rimai wrote:Sorry... :(
No update.
I need to find the new VM for the MacOSX
no worries. I just wanted to ask.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:39 am
by binder
rimai wrote:Sorry... :(
No update.
I need to find the new VM for the MacOSX
is there something i could do to help out?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:07 am
by rimai
You can try recompiling the Arduino IDE on your OS :)
https://github.com/reefangel/Arduino
You would need to fork it, merge with the latest release from Arduino team branch. They are already on 1.8.5
Then compile.
The fix for Sierra was released around 1.6.12 and my fork is on 1.6.8

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:25 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:You can try recompiling the Arduino IDE on your OS :)
https://github.com/reefangel/Arduino
You would need to fork it, merge with the latest release from Arduino team branch. They are already on 1.8.5
Then compile.
The fix for Sierra was released around 1.6.12 and my fork is on 1.6.8
ok. i’ll look into doing that sometime later this week. might as well let my laptop do something with the background cpu cycles when i’m using a web browser to do my office paperwork.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:37 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:You can try recompiling the Arduino IDE on your OS :)
https://github.com/reefangel/Arduino
You would need to fork it, merge with the latest release from Arduino team branch. They are already on 1.8.5
Then compile.
The fix for Sierra was released around 1.6.12 and my fork is on 1.6.8
I've got the latest 1.8.6 compiled on my system. Now I have switched over to migrating 1.8.5 release (since 1.8.6 isn't finalized yet) into the reefangel branch and will be getting that to compile. I'm done working on it tonight, so I'll be working on it more in the next few days. I just have to make sure that the changes are maintained in your branch and that I follow along with the new changes that were made to the environment. Anyways, I should have a working build of the RA Arduino this weekend and I'll get it to you for you to test out and then package up for distribution.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:57 am
by binder
When I try and run the wizard or restore default code for example, I see errors like this.

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Base.getSketchbookFolder()Ljava/io/File;
	at com.reefangel.tool.Wizard$WizardPreferences.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
	at com.reefangel.tool.Wizard.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:311)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:756)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:726)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)
roberto, what did you have to do on the mac to get rid of this error? i’ve got 1.8.5 compiled and running but i get this error with the addon functions and the boards are incorrect.
i have copied the file to the applications to replace the 1.6.8 install but i still get the errors. did you have to add the addon tools to the source folders along with the boards file during the build process? i haven’t had much time to dive into it fully so i figured i would ask you since you have your build process.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:07 pm
by rimai

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:21 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:Try these tools folder.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0fxyokdsm7s1m ... s.zip?dl=0
The Reef Angel Libraries version works from these tools.
The Restore Preloaded Code and the Wizard do not. This is not a problem for me since I don't use any of them, but it could/would be a problem for others.
I get the same errors when I run the tools:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Sketch.getCode(I)Lprocessing/app/SketchCode;
	at com.reefangel.tool.Wizard.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:311)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:756)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:80)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:726)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:01 pm
by rimai
There might be a change on the Arduino IDE that requires the wizard and preloaded code to be recompiled too.
I have only tested on v1.6.8.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:35 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:There might be a change on the Arduino IDE that requires the wizard and preloaded code to be recompiled too.
I have only tested on v1.6.8.
ok. that makes sense. i do think some things changed.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:42 pm
by binder
Well, there's more that has changed with 1.8.5 (the version that I'm using for a High Sierra build).
It's proving to be a cumbersome (and frustrating) task.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:14 pm
by binder
Any additional work done on this? I hit a roadblock and haven't gotten past it.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:08 pm
by rimai
Didn't got around doing that yet. :(

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:11 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:Didn't got around doing that yet. :(
no problem. I know you are busy. I just wanted to check up on it.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:54 am
by rimai
Can you explain a little more of what the problem you are having?

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:11 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:Can you explain a little more of what the problem you are having?
There were some issues with including the correct libraries and dealing with the additional tools. I think there was also an issue with compilations with the latest libraries. I don't recall about the exact compilation problem because i was more focused on the main errors.
here's the additional errors that I had saved. I'll have to double check because I haven't looked at it for a while.
---
Verify the Libraries check function call.
java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Base.getSketchbookFolder()Ljava/io/File;

Invalid libraries:
Invalid library found in /Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/WiFi: /Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/WiFi
Invalid library found in /Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/Ethernet: /Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/Ethernet

Launching "Restore pre-loaded code":
java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Sketch.getCode(I)Lprocessing/app/SketchCode;
at com.reefangel.tool.RestorePreloaded.run(Unknown Source)
---

i know that they changed things but I just haven't had the mindset to dive in to how it works...like you already had.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:13 pm
by binder
when running the wizard, this is the output:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Sketch.getCode(I)Lprocessing/app/SketchCode;
	at com.reefangel.tool.Wizard.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:311)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:756)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:80)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:726)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)
Running the restore preloaded code gives this:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.app.Sketch.getCode(I)Lprocessing/app/SketchCode;
	at com.reefangel.tool.RestorePreloaded.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:311)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:756)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:80)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:726)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)
Then compiling against the current dev libraries yields this:

Code: Select all

Archiving built core (caching) in: /var/folders/3h/m3xyqrbj57vf3kmyrzy3zn900000gp/T/arduino_cache_671070/core/core_arduino_avr_RAStar_c41a4462a748f55bf51d70a30288e42f.a
Multiple libraries were found for "Ethernet.h"
 Used: /Users/binder/ownCloud/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Ethernet
 Not used: /Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/libraries/Ethernet
libraries/ReefAngel/ReefAngel.cpp.o (symbol from plugin): In function `ReefAngelClass::DisplayMenuHeading()':
(.text+0x0): multiple definition of `__vector_9'
libraries/SoftwareSerial/SoftwareSerial.cpp.o (symbol from plugin):(.text+0x0): first defined here
/Users/binder/Projects/ra-arduino/build/macosx/work/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/4.9.2/../../../../avr/bin/ld: Disabling relaxation: it will not work with multiple definitions
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
exit status 1
Error compiling for board Reef Angel Star Controller.
i know some of these errors are probably simple ones but i'm not that familiar with the ide changes you have made before to get things to compile.
i am definitely willing to work at this more but i need guidance and assistance. :?

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:35 pm
by rimai
I don't think you need to run the Restore Preloaded code, right? :)
I never had problem compiling code though.
I'll double check.

Re: New IDE v1.6.8

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:08 pm
by binder
rimai wrote:I don't think you need to run the Restore Preloaded code, right? :)
you never know. ;-)
I never had problem compiling code though.
I'll double check.
I think the issue lies with extra libraries that are included by default but we don't typically need them. I think I vaguely recall from years past that we had to remove a specific library due to it including something we didn't need...or multiple definitions...or something like that. I'm not positive though.