Online Development Testing

Community contributed apps
Post Reply
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

Updated 6/20/2017:
Test Controller is OFFLINE
If you need a test controller or want to test things, message me about having one available for you to test.

-------------OLD INFO-------------
For people who are wanting to test the ability to control a controller via the web, I have now put my test controller online. You are now able to connect to it from the web. This is to help people test out all those apps that everybody is wanting to have. :)

Here's the specific breakdown:

Code: Select all

Host:  curtbinder.no-ip.info
Port:  2000
Here's the URL:
http://curtbinder.no-ip.info:2000/

Have fun testing things.

curt
Last edited by binder on Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Changed host, removed configuration
dmolton
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:08 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by dmolton »

Thanks for putting this together, Curt. I'm sure it will prove hugely helpful from a debugging standpoint. Only thing I would suggest is enabling RelayExpansion so we can make sure the apps work for multiple boxes.

-Dave
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by rimai »

Cool :)
Roberto.
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by wolfador »

awesome, thanks. The relay expansion would be nice so I can add that to the iphone app.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

Updated initial post to add in an expansion relay plus PWM sloping.

curt
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by wolfador »

is there any resources for the xml output with the relay expansion turned on?

http://curtbinder.dyndns.info:2000/r99

doesn't look any different with it turned on / off.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

wolfador wrote:is there any resources for the xml output with the relay expansion turned on?

http://curtbinder.dyndns.info:2000/r99

doesn't look any different with it turned on / off.
It actually is different.
I just did an /r99 to the controller and the XML code you want for the relay boxes is:

Code: Select all

<R>137</R>
<RON>0</RON>
<ROFF>251</ROFF>
<R0>67</R0>
<RON0>0</RON0>
<ROFF0>255</ROFF0>
<R1>0</R1>
<RON1>0</RON1>
<ROFF1>255</ROFF1>
<R2>0</R2>
<RON2>0</RON2>
<ROFF2>255</ROFF2>
<R3>0</R3>
<RON3>0</RON3>
<ROFF3>255</ROFF3>
<R4>0</R4>
<RON4>0</RON4>
<ROFF4>255</ROFF4>
<R5>0</R5>
<RON5>0</RON5>
<ROFF5>255</ROFF5>
<R6>0</R6>
<RON6>0</RON6>
<ROFF6>255</ROFF6>
<R7>0</R7>
<RON7>0</RON7>
<ROFF7>255</ROFF7>
The relay data is in the <r[0-7]> tags. The ON & OFF are just the masks.
Relay 1 is <r0>, Relay 2 is <r1>, ..., Relay 8 is <r7>

So with the above output, R0 is 67. And R1 is 0 which means it's all turned off (cause there isn't a second expansion relay box turned on or installed).

curt
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by wolfador »

binder wrote: The relay data is in the <r[0-7]> tags. The ON & OFF are just the masks.
Relay 1 is <r0>, Relay 2 is <r1>, ..., Relay 8 is <r7>

So with the above output, R0 is 67. And R1 is 0 which means it's all turned off (cause there isn't a second expansion relay box turned on or installed).

curt
I see it now, thanks. Now have a 2nd relay box supported in the iPhone app.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
KRavEN
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:21 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by KRavEN »

I know this is old but is something like this still available?
User avatar
arch
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:22 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by arch »

I think what you're after is in the Development Libraries section of the forum (wifi attachment commands)

http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1541
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Post by binder »

KRavEN wrote:I know this is old but is something like this still available?
are you wanting to access a controller online for testing? i still have one online for testing but it appears that it's not responding tonight. i will have to check into it.
KRavEN
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:21 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by KRavEN »

arch wrote:I think what you're after is in the Development Libraries section of the forum (wifi attachment commands)

http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1541
Right, but always nice to have a development box to bounce things off during development so you don't cause havoc with your production system.
KRavEN
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:21 am

Re:

Post by KRavEN »

binder wrote:
KRavEN wrote:I know this is old but is something like this still available?
are you wanting to access a controller online for testing? i still have one online for testing but it appears that it's not responding tonight. i will have to check into it.
Yes, that's what i was looking for Curt. Thanks for looking into it. I'll check back later.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

KRavEN wrote: Right, but always nice to have a development box to bounce things off during development so you don't cause havoc with your production system.
out of curiosity, what are you wanting to test? this will just allow you to communicate with a controller for testing out apps (like a smartphone or web app) . you will not be able to upload any code at all to the controller.
KRavEN
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:21 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by KRavEN »

binder wrote:
KRavEN wrote: Right, but always nice to have a development box to bounce things off during development so you don't cause havoc with your production system.
out of curiosity, what are you wanting to test? this will just allow you to communicate with a controller for testing out apps (like a smartphone or web app) . you will not be able to upload any code at all to the controller.
Well, primarily to create some unit tests to compare return responses to ensure backwards compatibility. I'm working on an ethernet library for the RA that uses a cheap ENC28J60 board connected via SPI.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

awesome. just making sure we were on the same page with the usage of the online controller.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

KRavEN wrote: Well, primarily to create some unit tests to compare return responses to ensure backwards compatibility. I'm working on an ethernet library for the RA that uses a cheap ENC28J60 board connected via SPI.
I just updated and switched things around. I updated the host in the original post. I switched from dyn.com (dyndns.com) to no-ip.com. I also updated the firmware on the wifi module and we shall see how well this works. I was having connectivity issues but didn't realize it as it was my test controller.

Anyways, you should now be able to access it.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by lnevo »

Curt, needed another RA to test the iOS app. I tried to get an r99 from this controller and got nothing. I did get the initial ReefAngel Controller Web page banner when testing and now nothing.

Also does this have a relay expansion enabled on it? I want to start testing the option of detecting how many relay bars you have attached. If not, could you add a reference in the code on this one to the second relay box so it is enabled? :)
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

Sometimes there are issues with it. If you get a reset, just try again. I tested it out internally here and I would get it to display and then I would try something else and it would fail. Then I would try again and it would work. I think it has to do with how fast the requests come in and if there is still an open connection from the controller.

Anyways, just updated it to 1.0.7 with 1 expansion box. I also have a 2nd controller on my network that you can test if you like. It's on port 2010 and it's got 2 expansion boxes plus salinity and water level module enabled (water level isn't connected, only enabled).
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by lnevo »

Cool seems better now. At least i could load the banner and then r99.

I will try and get things going to finish up this patch soon. Would really love to support the extra bar when we get a release in.

Also i fixed the relay expansion labels being loaded. :)
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by lnevo »

Not getting any data on either 2000 or 2010 :(

I'm trying to get RA support added for http://www.aquaticlog.com :)
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Online Development Testing

Post by binder »

lnevo wrote:Not getting any data on either 2000 or 2010 :(

I'm trying to get RA support added for http://www.aquaticlog.com :)
I just tested it and it's up and working on port 2000. http://curtbinder.no-ip.com:2000/
I did notice that if you have a page open in a web browser and try to connect to it again or reload the page, it fails and you get the connection reset error.
Post Reply