Trouble with library update utility

Community contributed apps

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:36 pm
Roberto:

When I run the update utility, it says that I have the most recent library, 8.18, but the client software still says I am using development libraries from two versions ago, 8.16, or however those numbers go....where does the utility load the libraries to?

Thanks
Image

Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:58 pm
The libraries are only uploaded to the RA when you reload your .pde file. Just open the arduino software and your saved .pde and reload it to the controller. This will update your controller to the latest version.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:00 pm
Thanks John...I have the reefangel controller connected to a different computer than the one I set it up on...I first tried moving the pde file from my old computer to the new one, but it wouldn't upload. I generated a new pde file in RAGen, but it won't upload either...

I can't cut and past the error message, but it says something like

"avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect 0x14, resp=0x51"


This is the PDE file
// Autogenerated file by RAGen (v1.0.4.92), (10/11/2011 21:40)
// RA_101111_2140.pde
//
// This version designed for v0.8.5 Beta 12 or later

/* The following features are enabled for this PDE File: 
#define DisplayImages
#define WavemakerSetup
#define DateTimeSetup
#define VersionMenu
#define ATOSetup
#define MetalHalideSetup
#define DirectTempSensor
#define StandardLightSetup
*/


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Globals.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <ReefAngel_EEPROM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <ReefAngel_ATO.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Joystick.h>
#include <ReefAngel_LED.h>
#include <ReefAngel_TempSensor.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Relay.h>
#include <ReefAngel_PWM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Timer.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Memory.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>


void setup()
{
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller

    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = B00011000;
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = B00000111;
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();

    // Specific functions
    ReefAngel.StandardATO(Port1);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port2);
    ReefAngel.MHLights(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker1(Port4);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker2(Port5);
    ReefAngel.StandardFan(Port6);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8);
}


Image

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:37 am
I think the computer that gives you error message has the wrong board selected.
Can you check under "Tools->Boards" if you have "Reef Angel Controller w/optiboot" selected?
Roberto.

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:36 pm
Yes, optiboot is selected. When I scroll up above the error message, I do see a line that says "using com 3" or whatever, and I know thru the client that I use COM 4...that is the com that the USB is connected to to controller. I tried changing that on the client dash service to com 3, but the pde file still wouldn't upload and the client software couldn't connect either...I also knew to stop the listener service before trying to upload, but that didn't allow the upload either...I then went to "Tools: Serial Port" and changed it to com 4, but again I got the same error message as above with different numbers....still can't upload
Image

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:20 pm
Does it happen only on one computer and not on the other?
Roberto.

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:54 am
havent tried with the other computer, the screen died on that laptop...
Image

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:15 am
But before it died, if I understood correctly, you were able to upload code in that computer with no problems, right?
Roberto.

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:57 am
that's right
Image

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:13 pm
Can you post a screen shot of your device manager window?
Plug the USB-TTL cable and go to "Control Panel->System->Device Manager" and then expand the "COM & LPT Ports".
Roberto.
Next

Return to Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron