Android Reef Angel Status

Community contributed apps
User avatar
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 6:45 am
Like I said., no big deal.
I just wanted to make sure it didn't happen to the non beta testers.

Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:20 pm
Curt, it has everything I wanted in it. Custom Vars, memory locations, 16 channel dimming, DC Pump, labels for dimming module and other ports, limiting the probes shown (T2, T3, etc). I appreciate the Material Design as well. Looks really nice even on my new phablet (LG G4) with Android 5.1.
User avatar
Posts: 2653
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:45 pm
AlanM wrote:Curt, it has everything I wanted in it. Custom Vars, memory locations, 16 channel dimming, DC Pump, labels for dimming module and other ports, limiting the probes shown (T2, T3, etc). I appreciate the Material Design as well. Looks really nice even on my new phablet (LG G4) with Android 5.1.
awesome!


Sent from my iPad mini
User avatar
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:52 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 2:51 pm
From a comment Roberto made in another thread, I thought it might be possible to update / change the custom variables from the Android app. Is this true? I can't figure out how. I've got them displaying in the app, and can change their labels, but since I don't see them in the list of memory locations (and I don't know their memory address), I don't see how to write a value to them. Can you enlighten me?

To clarify, I'm running the app (v2.0.0 from the Play store) on Androidx86 in a Virtual Machine on my iMac (since I don't have an android tablet). I'm stuck with mouse and keyboard input, but can seemingly interact with the application just fine. But I saw the post you made at http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?p=47242#p47242 and I can't figure out how to get that window to come up with the ability to change settings.
User avatar
Posts: 2653
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:34 pm
joshlawless wrote:From a comment Roberto made in another thread, I thought it might be possible to update / change the custom variables from the Android app. Is this true? I can't figure out how. I've got them displaying in the app, and can change their labels, but since I don't see them in the list of memory locations (and I don't know their memory address), I don't see how to write a value to them. Can you enlighten me?

on the custom variables page, you need to long press on the value of the variable. that will bring up the dialog box to allow for editing.

Sent from my iPad mini
User avatar
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:52 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:07 pm
binder wrote:on the custom variables page, you need to long press on the value of the variable. that will bring up the dialog box to allow for editing.

Sent from my iPad mini


Thanks! That worked.

FYI, for anyone that wants access to Curt's awesome app, but who doesn't have an Android device, you can install a copy of Androidx86 (for free) from Google (https://code.google.com/p/android-x86/downloads/list) in a Virtualbox (https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads) instance of Linux by following the directions here: http://www.howtogeek.com/164570/how-to-install-android-in-virtualbox/

Once that's all done, you can use the emulator to run Android, install Reef Angel Status, and connect via your LAN to the controller.

Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:36 am
joshlawless wrote:
binder wrote:on the custom variables page, you need to long press on the value of the variable. that will bring up the dialog box to allow for editing.

Sent from my iPad mini


Thanks! That worked.

FYI, for anyone that wants access to Curt's awesome app, but who doesn't have an Android device, you can install a copy of Androidx86 (for free) from Google (https://code.google.com/p/android-x86/downloads/list) in a Virtualbox (https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads) instance of Linux by following the directions here: http://www.howtogeek.com/164570/how-to-install-android-in-virtualbox/

Once that's all done, you can use the emulator to run Android, install Reef Angel Status, and connect via your LAN to the controller.


Neat, that's a good tip.
User avatar
Posts: 1424
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:04 pm
Hey Curt,

I get an Error 24: XMLReadException when trying to get the time from the controller.

--Colin
User avatar
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:13 pm
I don't get anything at all.
No errors or response with the time.
User avatar
Posts: 2653
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:23 am
yeah, i get that error too when I get the time. setting the time works just fine though.
I think I know what it is related to but have not confirmed it.

Sent from my Moto X
PreviousNext

Return to Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron