iOS Help

Community contributed apps

Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:20 am
Location: JHB, South Africa
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 10:24 pm
lnevo wrote:Honestly, you said you had problems when the portal gets the IP address from your controller and getting stuck. Thats the same thing dyndns does...your provider could be doing something odd on their network with load balancing and/or nat'ing your outbound connection.


I've never had issues with any of my other dyndns connections (VPN, web based ui for an application)

What happens on the portal is that the portal removes my dyndns address from the settings and replaces it with whatever the controller sends it. So if my AP closest to the RA gets turned off or reboots (happens sometimes), then the RA doesn't automatically reconnect to the wifi when it comes back up. I have to unplug the wifi module and replug. This is when the portal gets "stuck"

I can browse to the RA web server using my dyndns address with no problem, every time. Never get any errors
Image

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 4:25 pm
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 2:00 pm
Am I correct in assuming the iPhone app does not currently work to access your RA remotely? I think I've tried everything and can't get it to work. I am able to access my RA through the portal so I imagine the issue has to be with the app.
User avatar
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 2:46 pm
morn623 wrote:Am I correct in assuming the iPhone app does not currently work to access your RA remotely? I think I've tried everything and can't get it to work. I am able to access my RA through the portal so I imagine the issue has to be with the app.

no. it works. i have it installed on my ipad. i have only heard of 1 person who had issues with the dyndns resolution and using the app (previously mentioned).
the app for ios 7 is limited in what it can do but it should work.


Sent from my iPad mini

Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:20 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 6:50 am
Can we try to take donations so we can hire someone to build app? I know a few people that I could get some leads for pricing...

Total first world problems here, but the lack of a full blown IOS app kills the RA for me.

And please dont get me wrong I apprciate the new app greatly, its just not as full featured as the andriod version.
User avatar
Posts: 5342
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 9:05 am
It's being worked on by Motti. Hopefully he can give us a status update soon.

Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:20 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 11:54 am
lnevo wrote:It's being worked on by Motti. Hopefully he can give us a status update soon.


He was suppose to update us like 3 weeks ago. Not being a downer but Im starting to loose faith.

Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:20 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 5:37 pm
Actually put some more hands on with the new app. Its acutally pretty darn good and Curt has done a great job. I know that IOS is not his forte.

The only big thing now and its acutally not that big is the ability to rename ports. Curt is this an easy add on?
User avatar
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 7:48 pm
Seedlessone wrote:Actually put some more hands on with the new app. Its acutally pretty darn good and Curt has done a great job. I know that IOS is not his forte.

The only big thing now and its acutally not that big is the ability to rename ports. Curt is this an easy add on?
I'm not sure. I will have to check on it more. the nice thing is I use logic and code from my Android app to help out (just have to convert it to obj c).

thanks for the feedback :-)

Sent from my Moto X

Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:20 am
Location: JHB, South Africa
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 6:48 am
binder wrote:
morn623 wrote:Am I correct in assuming the iPhone app does not currently work to access your RA remotely? I think I've tried everything and can't get it to work. I am able to access my RA through the portal so I imagine the issue has to be with the app.

no. it works. i have it installed on my ipad. i have only heard of 1 person who had issues with the dyndns resolution and using the app (previously mentioned).
the app for ios 7 is limited in what it can do but it should work.


Sent from my iPad mini



Is there any way I can logs from the app so you can check my issue? (I have Xcode on my laptop)
Image
User avatar
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 1:43 pm
Poiromaniax wrote:
binder wrote:
morn623 wrote:Am I correct in assuming the iPhone app does not currently work to access your RA remotely? I think I've tried everything and can't get it to work. I am able to access my RA through the portal so I imagine the issue has to be with the app.

no. it works. i have it installed on my ipad. i have only heard of 1 person who had issues with the dyndns resolution and using the app (previously mentioned).
the app for ios 7 is limited in what it can do but it should work.


Sent from my iPad mini



Is there any way I can logs from the app so you can check my issue? (I have Xcode on my laptop)

you should be able to download my project from github and then just run it through the emulator and look at the output log window.


Sent from my iPad mini
Previous

Return to Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron