iphone app help

Community contributed apps

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:30 pm
I'm having a heck of a time setting up the iphone app to connect when I am not at home and connected to my wifi network...

Here are the steps I followed:
I set up a static IP address for the ReefAngel WiFi unit
I opened the Port for the unit on my router software, used port 2000
Set up a dyndns account and set it to the external IP address of my router

At home, I set the iphone app to connect to the internal IP address of the WIFI unit, and it works great.
The Client software connects wirelessly from home as well. I haven't tried connecting the client software away from home yet....
Away from home with the Iphone app, I type in my dyndns account address:2000 and the app keeps saying "Can't connect" If I just type the dyndns account address and dont include the :2000, I don't get the "can't connect" message, but no data populates the fields...

What did I miss or what am I doing wrong??
Image

Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:41 pm
it sounds like the port forwarding may not be correct. You can send me a PM with your dyndns & ip address and I can try it out on mine.

The address should just by the url like xxxx.dyndns.org and the port box should read 2000.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:04 pm
Thanks Wolfador...I pm'd you
Image

Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:28 pm
it looks like it is something with the forwarding, can't browse to the controller webpage either.

The ip address looks weird also. Can you go to http://www.whatismyip.com/ and check what it says there?
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:24 pm
pm sent
Image

Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:27 pm
what type of router / switch do you have?

http://www.pcflank.com/scanner3.htm

follow through there and scan port 2000 on your ip and see if it shows as open.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:29 pm
I have the one that comes with AT&T Uverse, a 2WIRE3800HGV-B
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:33 pm
I just went thru the port scan...it says that port 2000 is open!
Image

Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:34 pm
okay now double check that it is forwarded to the correct internal IP of the RA wireless adapter.

EDIT:

I can now get to your controller using your ip address. Double check the config on your dyndns.org address. Maybe your IP address changed since you first created it.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image

Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:44 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:46 pm
Your right, the IP address was not correct on the dyndns.org...I changed it...I'll see if that does it
Image
Next

Return to Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron