Page 1 of 1

Android app issue

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:56 pm
by kirkwood
This is probably a very simple fix but I so rarely adjust my RA settings that I constantly forget the install stuff. Anyway I got a new ASUS tablet and copied the app settings that work on my droid phone but its not working on the tablet at all. I keep getting error 15 timeout.

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 9:37 am
by binder
are they on the same wifi network? (your phone and tablet)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:13 pm
by kirkwood
Yes they are connected to the same wifi network. I entered the same IP address and home port.

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:54 pm
by binder
how fast of an connection is set? like are you having it query the controller every 5 minutes? are both devices querying at the same time?
you can run into issues if the controller is talking to another device when you try to connect and it is unable to connect and times out.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:59 pm
by kirkwood
My phone updates every 15 min. My internet speed is the fastest Comcast offers in the Atlanta metro area. I am running 2 dual band routers connected in tandem off the same modem. I see no reason for there to be a conflict between the two.

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:42 pm
by binder
the speed of your internet is irrelevant. i was simply trying to say that if your tablet and your phone happened to try to connect to your ra wifi at the same time, there could be timeout issues.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:25 pm
by kirkwood
Any other ideas?

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:26 am
by binder
sometimes uninstalling and reinstalling can help. I don't have a good answer unfortunately. i have encountered this before on my nexus 7 tablet before. I don't recall the exact way i fixed it either.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:35 am
by kirkwood
So I entered the IP address of the RA that was listed in the router. That made the app work. However I know this IP addy is static so I could lose connectivity. Another weird thing I noticed is that I don't have a "custom logs" tab like I do on my phone app. ?

Re: Android app issue

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:23 pm
by binder
I don't know what you mean by custom logs tab. the only thing remotely close is custom variables and you have to enable that tab. goto settings and then controller and custom variables and enable it to display that tab.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk