Reef Angel Web Wizard

Community contributed apps
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Hi Everyone,

I'm attempting to create a web wizard, which is hopefully going to make things easier to generate codes.
Coding for web application is much easier than a cross-platform java app, at least for me.
So, the first thing I'd like to test is the code editor.
It has text highlighter and code auto-completion with hints.
Please let me know what you think and if there is anything that I missed, like keywords or highlighting of a particular keyword.
Also, let me know what you think of the color scheme.
https://forum.reefangel.com/webwizard

This is still in beta test mode so you if you find any problems, please let me know.
Download the plug in and install it:
Mac: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ebez60fs9bchv ... r.pkg?dl=0
Windows: https://www.dropbox.com/s/penp5ruyg24fl ... r.exe?dl=0
You will notice that the blue box in the IDE will change from "Plug in was not found" to "Plug in found and connected".
Please test the compile and upload features and let me know how it goes.

To upload codes using the web wizard, follow the instructions below:
1. Make sure you have the USB-TTL programming cable connected to your controller and your computer.
2. Click the "Menu" button on the top left corner
3. Choose "Wizard"
4. Select the controller you are programming
5. Follow the prompts to customize your controller to your specific setup
6. At the end of the wizard, you will get the code generated on the screen
7. Make sure you have the correct board and COM port selected
8. Click on "Upload" button.
9. Code will compile and upload to your controller.

Thanks,
Roberto
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

Just a quick test, but good so far. The comment text is a little too dim for my tastes. It's hard to read.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by lnevo »

Agree on the dimness. The autocompletion is great. Amazing how cool my code looks.

This ties in nicely with what we've been talking about.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Ok, I implemented the compilation of codes.
Try out a few codes and let me know if you have any problems.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

I tried it, not sure it did anything. I didn't get any compiler messages, even when I put in an intentional error.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Can you try again?
Bug... :(
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Make sure you hit refresh button on your browser to make sure you got the latest stuff
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Also, I implemented the upload feature too :)
Only windows for now though.
It's still in test phase, so you will have to install and run manually.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ndnpk327jwrym ... s.zip?dl=0
Download the above file and copy the contents to C:\Users\{your local usename}\AppData\Roaming\ArduinoCreateAgent
Then, start the agent by double clicking arduino_create_bridge.exe
You will notice that the blue box in the IDE will change from "Plug in was not found" to "Plug in found and connected".
Let me know how it goes.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

I have no available ports, and the upload button is still grayed out.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Do you have the USB-TTL cable connected to the computer?
Does it say plug in found and connected?
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

I did not have the TTL cable connected as I usually use Bluetooth. :D

I hooked one up but got the following message:
Attempting to upload your code to RA_PLUS on local port COM4 ...

avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\COM3": The system cannot find the file specified.
avrdude: ser_drain(): read error: The handle is invalid.
Could not program the board
It's set to COM4, but looks like it's trying to open COM3.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

:(
Bug. I hard coded COM3 when testing.
Let me fix it and I'll update shortly
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Try again.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

Appears to work! Compiled and uploaded successfully.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Awesome!!! :)
Roberto.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by lnevo »

Can this fix my issue with the other boards? :)
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

I don't know how you were able to upload codes because there was a misconfigured option on the config.ini file.
I updated it, so you should reinstall.
Also, I just updated the original post with links for the Win and Mac versions of the plug in.
@lnevo, hopefully it will. I have not tried other boards just yet. I wanted to get the ones that use avrdude first.
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Ahh. On a second look, the settings wasn't related to upload codes, but to download other stuff that we may need in the future.
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

lnevo wrote:Can this fix my issue with the other boards? :)
I think this is working too :)
Can you test?
Unfortunately, it is still using the ssid, password and cloud settings of the original RA_CustomSettings.h file.
I need to come up with a plan to be able to update that on the fly, but you should be able to test the upload feature to the board.
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Ok, I implemented today the ability to save sketches on the cloud.
No more loosing your sketches because of computer crash :)
Wizard is still not implemented.
Test it out and let me know how the save and open files are working out.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

Save and open seems to be working correctly.

However, the main RA menu is missing the "Timeouts" option.

--Colin
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

That feature is activated through your code.
What code were you using?
You need to add this line to setup():

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu();
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

That line is in there (29G Frag Tank.ino). It works correctly when I upload it from Arduino, but is missing when I use the web wizard.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by lnevo »

rimai wrote:
lnevo wrote:Can this fix my issue with the other boards? :)
I think this is working too :)
Can you test?
Unfortunately, it is still using the ssid, password and cloud settings of the original RA_CustomSettings.h file.
I need to come up with a plan to be able to update that on the fly, but you should be able to test the upload feature to the board.
How about storing the settings as another file within the working directory with the ino file. #include "Cloud.h" instead of <cloud.h> When you're in an INO you can have a button Add header file. This would let you keep it outside the libraries folder (which was going to be annoying anyway, when it comes to storing in git) or just another file to .gitignore. And then it could be another file you can open.

Another thing to consider is showing the default code, controller test, when you go to Open.

And lastly, it would be interesting too to be able to select which library version to compile against. It's nice to always have the latest one, but you have Standard as a board, so why not :) Then you could make it easy to test against dev as well.

Anyway, all my tests were successful. :) I really like it. I could do coding on the train now... I'm assuming too that the firmware compiled on the web would be available to the scripts we were working on?

Very awesome!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

I created the installation package for both Win and Mac.
Can someone please test and confirm that it is working for you?
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

The Windows installer works fine for me. Avast Antivirus checked it a lot. I'd recommend disabling antivirus before install.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Does it auto start when you boot the computer too?
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

Yes.

The main menu is still messed up, however.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by rimai »

Can you post a screen shot?
Which browser?
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Reef Angel Web Wizard

Post by cosmith71 »

Sorry, the menu on the RA. When you click the joystick some of the options are missing.
Post Reply