Climate Library and Web Service

Requests for new functions or software apps
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:13 pm
Roberto, check out page 8 and 9 and specifically the advanced programming section...

http://www.aquariumspecialty.com/media/ ... Manual.pdf

Seems they are using the sync / anti-sync (non ecosmart) profiles, but able to address each pump individually...

What do you think?

Posts: 12224
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:31 pm
I created a custom mode that allows you to control them individually too.
I just never found a good use for it.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:10 pm
You think this would qualify?

Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:44 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:04 am
lnevo wrote:I wouldn't mind having tidal information and adjust my vortech speed and potentially other settings based on that...



You mean tidal information from a web service? I think the tides can be simulated based on lat, long, and time. The mass of the earth, sun and moon are static. We can calculate the position of the earth, sun and moon to figure out the rest.
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:25 am
I'd be fine with it calculated...
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:01 am
I looked up how this can be calculated....and no, it would be best to use an online source :) so yeah, that'd be cool info to have :D
User avatar
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:43 am
Just a quick comment pertaining to the code on github, i would discourage against using references and passing variables by reference simply because of the memory constraints of the system. you can get a lot of unknown errors encountered. i had a terrible time using new and delete for creating variables and code. so you may want to rework your classes to incorporate the variables in them. i can explain and look more later but i wanted to make this comment now when i had a free second from work. and no, i have not looked at all of the code, i just saw a quick spot with an example ino file.

Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:44 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:25 pm
I thought passing in variables by value was a bad practice as it forces a copy of object for that scope it is passed into. My problem was I had issues with passing by value... Since I saw your post, I just figured out what I did wrong and fixed it. However when I compile now my sketch size has gotten larger. So I think when you refer to memory, you are referring to the running process, correct?

By the way, in case you are wondering. I am using VisualMicro with Visual Studio 2012 for is debugging ability, like stepping through code.
Last edited by thekameleon on Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:44 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:26 pm
lnevo wrote:I looked up how this can be calculated....and no, it would be best to use an online source :) so yeah, that'd be cool info to have :D


Do you think it is the complexity or is there some other reason?
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:00 pm
Way too complex and not simply calculation. A lot of local current factors are taken into account. Everyone who asks gets told to look up off online sources :)
PreviousNext

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron