Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Requests for new functions or software apps
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

I'm having a labor day party too...it's called long postponed aquascaping day :D
AlanM
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by AlanM »

For what it's worth, with my current version of /dev with the fix to pump speed reporting, I am now seeing 30 percent instead of 29 percent when things are set to 30, so it was integer truncation error.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Btw, there should be no reason the offset can't be greater than 100. Say you want it to be 125% you can go all the way to 255 :)
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

I tried else mode with 100% offset and it didn't seem right.
The daylight channel was physically off. I put my hand in the tank and there was no movement. All displays read 0.

The actinic was full throttle.
Displays read 193 and felt like more power then I ever felt out of the WP40.

Something wasn't right.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Hmm thats odd. Will need to do some checking...
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Can you try some tests with constant too, may be better able to see what's going on.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

I'll try them tonight.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

I think I did try Constant Mode, but I'll try it again.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Just curious the results at diff speeds on constant and with a couple diff offsets. Would help to narrow down what I may have done wrong.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

Lee;

How can you have a value of over 100%?
you said in a previous post that you can enter up to 255.
Will that make the pump run faster then it should?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

The offset is divided by 100 and then multiplied by the speed.

So if speed is 50 and your offset is 125, the the new speed should be 50*(125/100) which would be 50*1.25 which would be 62.5%
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

The offset is applied before the threshold is applied so that should prevent it from getting set over 100. I'll review that though, I haven't looked at the PumpThreshold function.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

I added some parenthesis where I do the calculation. This should help. I really don't see any other reason why it wouldn't at this point. Let's see how you're test goes. If worse case scenario, I'll add a phantom DCPump set to my INO and see what happens :)
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

I added a constraint to PumpThreshold() to make sure it won't give a setting over 100% as well, just in case :)
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

OK. I downloaded and installed your new dev code.

I set the Internal Memory to Constant with a speed of 100.

Set the offset in my code to 30 and uploaded the code.

The offset did work, but it was applied to the Daylight Channel not the Actinic Channel.
I thought it was going to be applied to the Actinic channel.

Maybe I just assumed because that is the channel I need to run slower since that one is my WP-40 and the Daylight is my WP-25.

If you intended to effect the Daylight channel then it worked fine.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

I affect the AntiSync channel. The Sync channel isn't touched.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel=Sync; // Now you're pump will be affected by the portal settings.
ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel=AntiSync; // Now you're pump will be affected by the portal settings.
Your Daylight channel is you AntiSync channel.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

It's all how you set it. You can flip it by making Actinic the Anti-Sync and the daylight the sync.

If you want to leave it as-is, you could change the wp-25 to a greater than 100 offset and set your speed according to the wp-40.

Let's say you set the speed to 40% and the offset to 150, then your wp-40 would be at 40% and you're wp-25 would be at 60%.

Does that make sense?
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

Ok. I see.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Cool, so it's working! Roberto merged it into dev already. This next release is going to be awesome. So many new features.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

Any idea when the it will be released?
I'm waiting for the DNS option.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Go get it, start using it :) not sure what roberto has cooking, but I think Alan and I are mostly done with our updates. :)
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

I was going to do that.
I know the DNS update is in there as well as the webserver authentication section and now the DC Pump Offset.
As well as a couple of knew DC Pump presets.

This should be a great update.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Also high resolution dimming, SunLocation, Moon, Tide, and TimedPorts (although that still needs some documentation, but it's usable..)
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by rimai »

Yeah, mostly waiting to see if people find any bugs, but we are due for a release already.
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

The timed ports are your stop, pause, play that you created for your AWC?
AlanM
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by AlanM »

The DCPump changes at this point are pretty big. I'm scared of the new stuff that Lee did because it pulls so much out of ReefAngel.cpp and he doesn't even have a DC Pump to try it on. 8)

I'll pull it down tonight and see if it will make mine go.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

Steve tested the latest and its working. Plus Roberto pulled it already I believe.

Yes the TimedPort is what I created for the WaterChange. I'll write up some examples later.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by Sacohen »

I tested the offset.
I didn't really test the other pump modes or the threshold.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Different settings for 2 different DC Pumps.

Post by lnevo »

It most likely would not have worked at all if my code wasn't working as I basically centralized where we actually write the PWM value so that we just had to do that once.
Post Reply