RF Module Firmware Update

Requests for new functions or software apps

Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:57 am
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 12:17 pm
Not sure if this was requested before, but is it possible to update the firmware of the RF module to the latest version that EcoTech uses for new MP40WES models?

I read in the VorTech manual that the EcoSmart drivers can wirelessly update the firmware of other units. And I searched and found where Roberto provided a firmware update for the RF Module to include "Storm" mode (as well as lightning effects for Radions, etc). So, given we can do that, I would think it would be pretty simple to do the same thing with the "official" firmware updates from EcoTech. I guess the hardest part is obtaining the actual firmware update code because I haven't been able to find it on their website.

The reason I'm asking is because I have 2 MP40 WES models and one of them is a bit older so I was thinking that a firmware upgrade might be a good idea.

Anyway, if anyone knows how to do this, please let me know. Actually, if we could get the latest firmware and then add the "Storm" code stuff that Roberto added before, that would be even better! ;)

Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:57 am
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 1:28 pm
I contacted EcoTech customer support to inquire about obtaining the firmware update code and was told that I would need to send the unit in for service.

I do NOT intend to do that so I'll wait to see if Roberto can hook us up with another option for the RA's RF Module. For all I know, the one he made with the Storm code could be the latest available anyway.

Oh, and according to the VorTech manual, you can select any 2 drivers and put them in firmware update mode, and they will communicate to determine if one has a newer version than the other, and if it does, it will update the older to the newer. So, if we want to update to Roberto's version, it would need to be either a later creation date or higher version number (not sure which is checked during the detection process).

Posts: 12163
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 1:58 pm
The RF module can't update firmware on the drivers :(
We can only update firmware of the RF module itself.
Roberto.

Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:57 am
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 4:03 pm
OK, thanks Roberto. I think one of my MP40's is fairly new so it most likely as the newest version anyway. I'll just do the firmware update process and see what happens.

I still plan to add the Storm mode option that you made before though.

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron