vortech/radion control

Requests for new functions or software apps
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

hi there folks!

i am really happy with my controller! 8-)
but i was thinking how cool would be have the control of the Ecotech Radion or Vortech in the app.
:oops:
cheers!
erick
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by binder »

Which app are you referring to?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

I use Android app and it works awesome!!! :)
I can change modes and stuff from anywhere I get 3G signal :shock:
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

i can't do it with iphone app, the app it's awesome but the only parameters i can change is heater, standards lights and dosing pump :/
should i buy androi phone :P
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

I think the iPhone has a custom memory field that you can use.
The memory locations are:
Mode - 855
Speed - 856
Duration - 857
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:I think the iPhone has a custom memory field that you can use.
The memory locations are:
Mode - 855
Speed - 856
Duration - 857
Yes, the iPhone does have a custom memory field. So you can use those locations.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

thanks guys but i trying and the app keep crashing instead of update.. :|
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

just quick question:

it;s that code right?

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

//#define Constant      0
//#define Random1       1 // Lagoonal
//#define Random2       2 // Reef Crest
//#define ShortWave     3
//#define LongWave      4
//#define Smart_NTM     5 // Nutrient Transport Mode
//#define Smart_TSM     6 // Tidal Swell Mode
//#define Feeding_Start 7
//#define Feeding_Stop  8
//#define Night         9
//#define Slave_Start   97
//#define Slave_Stop    98
//#define None          99

void setup()
{
  ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,20,50,"Assigning Slaves");
  ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Slave_Start,0,0);
  /*
  
  If you get a compile error similar to this:
  'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'RF'
  Please make sure that you enabled RF Expansion on your features file.
  
  Open RAGen and make sure you have RF Expansion checked under the Features tab.

  Or, you can manually edit the file.
  The file is located at "Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel_Features.h" file and has to include this line in it:
  #define RFEXPANSION  
  
  */
  
  InternalMemory.RFMode_write(855);
  InternalMemory.RFSpeed_write(856);
  InternalMemory.RFDuration_write(857);
}

void loop()
{
  ReefAngel.Refresh();
  if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsButtonPressed())
  {
    ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Slave_Stop,0,0);
    ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,50,60,"Done");
  }
}
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
wolfador
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by wolfador »

pilonstar wrote:thanks guys but i trying and the app keep crashing instead of update.. :|

I will check it out. Make sure you are running the latest version. Just uninstall and re-download from the app store. Sometimes it doesnt update properly.
John
ReefAngel and ReefAngel-HD developer
If the RA iOS app has helped please consider a donation
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

pilonstar wrote:just quick question:

it;s that code right?
Yes, it is correct.
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

Thanks heaps! :)

I just received my Expansion and R+ with lots of memory! :P
I have really hard time to setup my vortech :?
Finished to swap over the new board and wondering how I can get control of my Radion and the
only code I have is:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Intensity]=75;
  ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_White]=PWMParabola(12,0,18,0,0,100,0);
  ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_RoyalBlue]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,100,0);
  ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Red]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,5,0);
  ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Green]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,10,0);
  ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Blue]=PWMParabola(10,0,21,0,0,60,0);
  if (second()==0) ReefAngel.RF.RadionWrite();
here is my silly questions:

Where to put it?
internal memory or RA code?
once it's upload, how i can setup storms from any app or java?
thank you so much for your time and help
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

Let's start with the vortech.
Did you sync them to the controller?
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

rimai wrote:Let's start with the vortech.
Did you sync them to the controller?
Hi Roberto:
Yes it does work and I can change the mode by wireless but the radion doesn't sync when I change the mode in the vortech memory :cry:
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

Your radions need to be restored to factory settings.
When you do that, they will pick up the signal from the controller and start adjusting accordingly.
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

give me o for awesome!
thanks for your fast reply, i will try tonight.
i am wonder if the storm mode is the same in vortech than Radion?
:o
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

I have changed to factory settings and does not sync when i change modes in my vortech :(
should I add a new chanel in the memory?
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

here is:

Code: Select all

// Autogenerated file by RAGen (v1.2.2.171), (05/02/2012 22:36)
// RA_050212_2236.ino
//
// This version designed for v0.9.0 or later

/* The following features are enabled for this File: 
#define wifi
#define SIMPLE_MENU
#define PWMEXPANSION
#define CUSTOM_MAIN
#define COLORS_PDE
#define ENABLE_ATO_LOGGING
#define RFEXPANSION
#define FONT_8x16
#define NUMBERS_8x16

*/


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here
// Globals Needed for Params on Custom Main
byte x,y;
char text[10];




// Globals Needed for RF Mode on Custom Main
byte vtechmode;
boolean bFeeding=false;




byte PWMChannel[]={
0,0,0,0,0,0};

int v;

////// Place global variable code above here

void DrawCustomMain()
{
    // the graph is drawn/updated when we exit the main menu &
    // when the parameters are saved
            //Top Banner
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_BLACK, COLOR_SKYBLUE, 9, 2, " Erick&SooZ ReeF "); 
               // Display T1 Header Text
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_CORNFLOWERBLUE,255,8,14,"Tank");
  
        // Display the T1 Temp Value
        char text[7];
        ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T1_PROBE], 10);
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255, 4, 21, 37, 37);
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_CORNFLOWERBLUE, 255, 4, 24, text, Num8x16);
        pingSerial();

        // Display the T2 Header Text
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_CRIMSON,255,52,14,"Room");
  
        // Display the T2 Temp Value
        ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T2_PROBE], 10);
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255, 52, 21, 75, 37);
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_CRIMSON, 255, 52, 24, text, Num8x16);
        pingSerial();

        // Display pH Header Text
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(COLOR_INDIGO,255,108,14,"pH");
  
        // Display pH Value
        ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.Params.PH, 100);
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255, 94, 21, 106, 37);
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_INDIGO, 255, 94, 24, text, Num8x16);
        pingSerial();
        
        // Display Vortech MP40wES Mode Header Text
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(DefaultFGColor,5,39,127,39);
        ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,18,42,"EcoSmart Vortech");

        // Display EcoSmart Mode Value      
        ReefAngel.LCD.Clear(255, 1, 49, 128, 64);
        if (vtechmode == 0) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_LIMEGREEN,255,35,50,"Constant");
        else if(vtechmode == 1) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_GOLD,255,42,50,"Lagoon");
        else if (vtechmode == 2) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_GOLD,255,25,50,"Reef Crest");
        else if (vtechmode == 3) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_CORNFLOWERBLUE,255,22,50,"Short Pulse");
        else if (vtechmode == 4) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_PINK,255,25,50,"Long Pulse");
        else if (vtechmode == 5) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_MAGENTA,255,8,50,"Nutrient Trnsp.");
        else if (vtechmode == 6) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_MAGENTA,255,23,50,"Tidal Swell");
        else if (vtechmode == 9) ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_WHITE,0,45,50,"Night");
    
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Intensity]=75;
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_White]=PWMParabola(12,0,18,0,0,100,0);
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_RoyalBlue]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,100,0);
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Red]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,5,0);
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Green]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,10,0);
       ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Blue]=PWMParabola(10,0,21,0,0,60,0);
       if (second()==0) ReefAngel.RF.RadionWrite();


    
    
      
         byte TempRelay = ReefAngel.Relay.RelayData;
         TempRelay &= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOff;
         TempRelay |= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOn;
         ReefAngel.LCD.DrawOutletBox(12, 103, TempRelay); 
    

}

void DrawCustomGraph()
{
    ReefAngel.LCD.DrawGraph(5, 5);
}


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.SetTemperatureUnit(1);  // set to Celsius Temperature

    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = 0;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit;

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port5);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port7);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port8);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    
   
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
  
   
  
  
  
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.SingleATOLow(Port1);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port4);
    ReefAngel.StandardFan(Port6);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
   
   
  


    
    ReefAngel.Portal("pilonstar", "whatupbrah");
    
 
    
//------------------------------ Start Feeding Mode Schedule (Start 1st Feeding at 9:55 AM and 2nd at 1:55 PM)---------------------
    // if the hour is 9a or 1p, minute is 55 and seconds is 0
    // start the feeding mode
    if ( ((hour() == 9) || (hour() == 13)) && 
       (minute() == 55) && 
       (second() == 0) ) 
    {
      ReefAngel.FeedingModeStart();
      vtechmode = InternalMemory.RFMode_read();     
    }
//------------------------------------------------------ End of Feeding Mode Schedule ---------------------------------------------

//-------------------------------------------------------- Start RF Daytime Control -----------------------------------------------
  if (hour() >=8 && hour() <= 22)
  {  
    if (ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu==FEEDING_MODE) bFeeding=true;
    if (ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu==DEFAULT_MENU && bFeeding )
    {
      bFeeding=false; 
      ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
      ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Smart_NTM,155,5);
      ReefAngel.Timer[4].SetInterval(1800); // Timer for 30min
      ReefAngel.Timer[4].Start();
      vtechmode = 5;
    }
    if (ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu==DEFAULT_MENU && ReefAngel.Timer[4].IsTriggered())
    {
      ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
      vtechmode = InternalMemory.RFMode_read();
    }  
  }
//---------------------------------------------------------- End RF Daytime Control -----------------------------------------------   

//-------------------------------------------------------- Start RF Nightmode Control ---------------------------------------------    

  if (hour()>=23 || hour()<7) // Defining "Nightmode" hours for VorTech = between 11 PM and 7 AM
    {
      ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
      ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0);
      vtechmode = 9;
    }
  else
    {
      ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
      ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
      vtechmode = InternalMemory.RFMode_read();
    } 
//---------------------------------------------------------- End RF Nightmode Control ---------------------------------------------
//------------------------------------------------------ End Time-of-Day Based Functions ------------------------------------------




 // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();


}
//--------------------------------------------------------------- End Loop --------------------------------------------------------
//*********************************************************************************************************************************







   

Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

:? Confused.
What are you talking about?
The vortechs don't sync or the radions don't sync?
Did you sync the vortechs? Are they working as intended?
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

rimai wrote::? Confused.
What are you talking about?
The vortechs don't sync or the radions don't sync?
Did you sync the vortechs? Are they working as intended?
Sorry I didn't mean to confused you. :oops:
What happened with my code, I can control the Vortech modes but the
Radion modes doesn't change, it looks like it send a signal to the radion but i doesn't change any
of the modes and i think is my PDE :(
So what I am trying to setup is a code i can change the radion modes like storm mode lighting mode or
day cycle.
Can you help with the modes please?
thanks for your time.
Erick
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

Is it dimming?
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

Unfortunately not, I'll trying to add radion.memory I the memory with no luck :(
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

The radion cannot be programmed to any mode.
You need to reset to factory settings and leave it like that. I think it's called basic mode.
If you have more than 1, you can't sync them together either, or they will just override the RA commands.
In basic mode, they will start accepting the commands from RA.
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

rimai wrote:The radion cannot be programmed to any mode.
You need to reset to factory settings and leave it like that. I think it's called basic mode.
If you have more than 1, you can't sync them together either, or they will just override the RA commands.
In basic mode, they will start accepting the commands from RA.
Hi Roberto :)
I have updated my memory and it include radion section! Yay!
That means i can try to make the storm mode?
Any chance to copy the mode from the driver?
Storm mode would be amazing! :lol:
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

I'm working on that.
Apparently the storm mode is not avaialble the same way as if you were running the ecotech software.
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

awesome! you are the man with the master plan!
I was trying before fading the white/blue for seconds and it didn't work... just make it go crazy and just
freeze everything...I will keep trying with careful, but with the radion in the memory make the job much more easy.
thanks Mr Rimai! ;)
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

You will need to update firmware on your module.
  • Download and unzip the attached file.
  • Edit the file updateStorm.bat on notepad or your prefered editor.
  • Change the COM port to the same one you use to upload codes to RA.
  • Save and close the file.
  • Open the module
  • Remove the Ecotech RF module
  • Connect the USB-TTL cable like in this photo: http://i761.photobucket.com/albums/xx25 ... 144436.jpg
  • Double-click the file updateStorm.bat to execute it.
  • You will see the module blinking red just like you were uploading code to RA.
  • When done uploading, plug the Ecotech RF module back in.
  • Close the module
After you update the firmware, you can just change the mode of the module to 10 (Storm mode).
This will generate a unique mode, only available to RA users, which pulses the Vortech pumps differently and also will trigger lighttning effects on the Radion fixtures :shock:
Attachments
updateStorm.zip
(424.94 KiB) Downloaded 752 times
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

Mr Rimai, you are a Genius! :shock:
thank you so much! Really appreciated! :D
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by rimai »

If you ever want to go back to the original firmware, here it is.
Attachments
update.zip
(423.63 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
Roberto.
pilonstar
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:56 am

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by pilonstar »

rimai wrote:If you ever want to go back to the original firmware, here it is.
Excellent, I had a few issues with the modes and the firmware when I tried to install.
I am running windows in a virtual machine and I didn't have libusb0.dll. At the beginning
the Ms-dos windows just closed in two seconds so I add this to the .dat file:

Code: Select all

@echo off
cmd
and then I could read the error.

Thank you so much Roberto again, I will post a video with the storm mode soon.

:D

Erick.
Slow down to speed up
Image
Image
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: vortech/radion control

Post by alexwbush »

Is there a way to add more points on the light spectrum curves?

I am trying to recreate this:
Image
Post Reply