LCD screen hardware change

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Due to different manufacturers of the screen we use, the driver used is also different and it will require a line of code to be added if you are having issues when you install a new screen.
Below are the screen with their respective code that needs to be added.
The line needs to be added right above ReefAngel.Init(); to make sure the controller knows which gen screen you are using

Gen 1
Dark brown pcb connector and black bottom
gen 1.jpg
gen 1.jpg (8.15 KiB) Viewed 34849 times

Code: Select all

  InternalMemory.LCDID_write(255);
Gen 2
Tan or green pcb connector and white bottom
gen 2.jpg
gen 2.jpg (8.22 KiB) Viewed 34849 times

Code: Select all

  InternalMemory.LCDID_write(255);
Gen 3
No pcb connector and black bottom
gen 3.jpg
gen 3.jpg (7.37 KiB) Viewed 34849 times

Code: Select all

  InternalMemory.LCDID_write(0);
Gen 4
No pcb connector with flex going through a cutout
gen 4.jpg
gen 4.jpg (12.39 KiB) Viewed 31920 times

Code: Select all

  InternalMemory.LCDID_write(1);
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Gen 2? Connector is green.

Image

--Colin
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Yes. I'll update the original post.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Thanks for shipping out so fast.

Should I wait for 1.0.6 to swap it out?

Thanks,

--Colin
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Wait for it.
Roberto.
User avatar
JHP
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:52 am
Location: Denmark

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by JHP »

Hello
I bought an RA in March should I change display on this
How launched this

Jan
Ademster
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Ademster »

I have always thought that my ra screen looked like crap. so i never use it really.

is there a charge for the upgrade?
Adam
58 Gal
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Ademster wrote:I have always thought that my ra screen looked like crap. so i never use it really.

is there a charge for the upgrade?
You have a gen1 screen. It won't be any different.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Got it in the mail today. It's sitting on my desk taunting me. Any word on the new libraries?

--Colin
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

If it gets itchy and you can't resist, you can download the dev branch from github.
I should have it packaged in the next couple days.
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

By the time I figured it out, you'd have the formal version up. :mrgreen:

--C
User avatar
JHP
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:52 am
Location: Denmark

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by JHP »

is there a charge for the upgrade?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

No, as long as you have a gen 2 screen.
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Sacohen »

I received my new LCD screen today.
From the looks of the announcements at the top of each forum library 1.0.4 is the latest, but I followed the link to the change log at the bottom of that thread and it show 1.0.5.
Is this correct or is 1.0.6 out yet?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

It will be released tonight.
Roberto.
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Sacohen »

Great. I hope to have time to work on setting this up this weekend.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Got the new screen up and running. It is leaps and bounds better looking than my old one.

The response time seems a little slower, though.

--Colin
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

That's the trade off, but I think it's worth it, don't you?
Roberto.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Yes, it's not that bad. It's very smooth and looks gorgeous compared to the gen 2.

--C
Elevatorguy1
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Elevatorguy1 »

Replaced mine this morning. Very nice looking!
User avatar
JHP
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:52 am
Location: Denmark

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by JHP »

Hi
Is this GEN 1 OR GEN 2

/Jan
Attachments
foto.JPG
foto.JPG (476.73 KiB) Viewed 30593 times
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Gen1.
You are good :)
Roberto.
dapg8gt
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:33 pm
Location: 650 Bay Area..

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by dapg8gt »

Going to be replacing mine tomorrow it seems pretty straight forward right? Just pop out the old one and insert the new one?.. Insert code and ready to rock?.. I've gotten used to no screen lol I'm excited? Guessing the screen just pops out?
My other hobby has 450rwhp and eats tires instead of mysis!
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by cosmith71 »

Yep, just pull and stick in the new one.

--Colin
dapg8gt
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:33 pm
Location: 650 Bay Area..

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by dapg8gt »

Cool thanks.. should have brought it to work with me lol..
My other hobby has 450rwhp and eats tires instead of mysis!
User avatar
Sacohen
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Sacohen »

Yeah it was easy. It just came out and the new one went in it's place. Just make sure the pins are lined up and it doesn't need any force. If you feel that it is hard, stop, pull it off and check everything is straight and aligned.

Mine came up fine with out having to replace the code.
OceanWolf
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by OceanWolf »

Hi Roberto,

I think I have a Gen2. What should I do?

Thanks
Onur
Attachments
RA Plus LCD Screen
RA Plus LCD Screen
IMG_0441.jpg (62.58 KiB) Viewed 30139 times
Thanks
Onur

Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by rimai »

Yeap.
PM me for RMA.
Roberto.
Jbowen590
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:52 am

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by Jbowen590 »

What months were the gen2 sold in?
kwolfskill
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:33 am

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Post by kwolfskill »

Hi Roberto,

I've had my Reef Angel for a number of months now, and haven't even hooked it up yet because the tank just finally got water in it to cycle it (it has been a slow process getting to this point). Just saw this thread and opened my Reef Angel up, and looks like I have a Gen 2 screen. At the moment I can't PM you, so what should I do?

Thanks,

Kevin
Post Reply