Salinity Probe not recognized

Expansion modules and attachments

Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:31 am
RA reports 6 ppt when it cannot see the probe. Mine is disconnected right now during my re-wire and the portal says 6 ppt.
Roscoe's Reefs - Starting Over Again:

Building new 29g Nano after landlord went berserk over my 4 75 gallon tanks, Multiple RA's, Water mixing stations, etc. Your help welcomed in remembering all I've forgotten.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 7:37 am
Fine, but my point is that I wasn't doing a re-wire or anything.
There was no reason for the probe to not be seen.

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:59 am
The minimum value of the salinity module can measure is 6ppt. That's why you get 6 showing up.
Anything lower than that will require a different probe, but we are really not interested in less than 6 ppt anyway.
Not sure what was going on, but this will let the pump go on when it finds 6ppt:
Code: Select all
if (ReefAngel.Params.Salinity<350 && ReefAngel.Params.Salinity>60) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port8);
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:51 am
Right now I have the code commented out and I'm going to keep an eye on things for a bit and see if and when it happens.

At first I thought it maybe happening when my de-nitrification unit sumps water back in the sump at 1, 7, 1 and 7, but I don't think so because it happened at 1 and 5:45 and did not happen again at 1pm. There was a slight dip at 1pm of about .2 ppt, but that's nothing.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:31 am
This issue of dropping to 6ppt or not being recognized has stopped, but now I'm having spikes of 36 ppt a couple of times a day.

It usually reads 34.5-34.7 ppt, but I've noticed jumps up to 36 ppt several times during the day and these are very brief time.

This is from 1:30 am to 7:45 am today.

Image

Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:19 am
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:44 pm
rimai wrote:The minimum value of the salinity module can measure is 6ppt. That's why you get 6 showing up.
Anything lower than that will require a different probe, but we are really not interested in less than 6 ppt anyway.
Not sure what was going on, but this will let the pump go on when it finds 6ppt:
Code: Select all
if (ReefAngel.Params.Salinity<350 && ReefAngel.Params.Salinity>60) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port8);



I had asked earlier about doing EC monitoring for my freshwater tank. You had replied that the Salinity was simply an EC monitor. I looked at the code and the formulas didn't appear too cumbersome to "undo" any Salinity calcs so I got one. It is all hooked up and shows up on the portal. But, the only way i get anything but 6ppt is to dip it into my fertilizer bottle and there I get 52. When i do a straight Salinity.read - which is where it looks like the raw reading from the expansion occurs i get a 60 back on the serial.print stmt in serial monitor - which is based on other similiar readings is to be taken as 6.0 ppt. Ok, so what I am wanting from it is just the raw microSiemens reading from the probe. Do either of the two jumpers on the board alter the output in any way? Where could i get a different probe if that is what is needed.

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:00 am
just google for the equation to convert ppt to microSiemens.
Roberto.

Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:19 am
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:14 pm
Can you tell me what JP1 and JP2 are for? Right now they are both completely open. 6ppt is not low enough for anything in freshwater. The readings that are important are around 5-200 ppm (~0-400 uS)

Thanks for being patient with me as I muddle through this!

Posts: 12273
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:35 pm
They are test points where you can connect an oscilloscope to troubleshoot the circuit.
Roberto.

Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:19 am
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:36 am
Is the expansion hard coded to not return below 6ppt? The probe is a K=1 rated and goes down to 5uS. (7 ppm). That is the middle ranges probe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PreviousNext

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron