Reef Angel Star MAC Address

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
Post Reply
pool_reefmanila
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 12:55 am

Reef Angel Star MAC Address

Post by pool_reefmanila »

We are going to use Reef Angel Star on my aquarium and pool, But we are experiencing some problems.
We configured the RA Star on my aquarium, and it is now working. But right now as we configure the RA Star on my pool. We are having problems with ip delegation. It seems that RA Star have same MAC address, we tried on Two RA Star and same problem occur.

How do we fix this? TIA!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Star MAC Address

Post by rimai »

Have you loaded new code on both controllers using the web wizard?
I'm pretty sure this has been addressed already about a month or two ago. Lnevo had the same issue.
Roberto.
pool_reefmanila
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 12:55 am

Re: Reef Angel Star MAC Address

Post by pool_reefmanila »

We used the web wizard to load the code to the reef angel star.
We used arp -a on mac terminal to determine the mac address of the reef angel star, but sadly its the same mac address with the one we previously configured.

We tried again today using the web wizard on the reef angel star, same issue occurred.

how do we fix this?

is it possible to add the mac address on the reef angel star that can be seen when we navigate on the device?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Reef Angel Star MAC Address

Post by rimai »

I think the problem is that you have already used it without the new libraries....
So, lets's reset it.
On your code that you generated with the webwizard, add the following line in the setup() section above ReefAngel.Init():

Code: Select all

   InternalMemory.write(StarMac,0xff);
Upload the code again.
It should change the MAC address.
If you leave this line and keep using the controller, every time it reboots, it will keep changing.
You need to remove that line and load the code one more time.
You can print the mac address to serial monitor if you want to.

Code: Select all

Serial.print("Mac Address ");
Serial.print(NetMac[0],HEX);
Serial.print(":");
Serial.print(NetMac[1],HEX);
Serial.print(":");
Serial.print(NetMac[2],HEX);
Serial.print(":");
Serial.print(NetMac[3],HEX);
Serial.print(":");
Serial.print(NetMac[4],HEX);
Serial.print(":");
Serial.print(NetMac[5],HEX);
Serial.println();
Roberto.
Post Reply