Page 1 of 1

can't connect with the portal

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:03 pm
by Bogdan
I cant connect to the portal to display all the parameters. Tried also Reef angel Status, Reef Angel Client Suite. Obviously I am doing something wrong. Have red all the help/support files with no luck. Can you help me using a lame language? I don't have the WiFI attachement.
Thanks

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:55 pm
by rimai
Even though you don't have the wifi attachment, you will need the framework to be able to use the Reef Angel Client.
That's the only way you will be able to send data to the portal without the wifi attachment.
So, you need to add this to your setup() section:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddWifi();

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:09 pm
by Bogdan
Thanks, but as I said I have nothing to do with computers, electronic not to mention software, coding. So I would need more help. How do I add this ReefAngel.AddWifi(); to the setup section. Sorry but I have no clue.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:11 pm
by rimai
Can you paste your code?
I'll do that for you.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:30 pm
by Bogdan
I am using the default/preloaded code, didn't write/modified any so far. Need to understand first how it works. So I am not sure which code do you want me to paste.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:36 pm
by rimai
Which controller did you purchase? RA or RA+??

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:37 pm
by Bogdan
RA

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:39 pm
by Bogdan
I have to leave now but will be back in 2 hr. I will be trying until I succeed. Thanks for helping me.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:41 pm
by rimai
Ok, so here is what I recommend you doing.
Start with the Reef Angel Wizard.
You will be able to customize the code with a walk through app. Make sure you select wifi attachment, even though you don't have. All apps need the wifi framework to communicate with the controller and what you are trying to do is get the Reef Angel Client to communicate with the controller.
Without the wifi attachment, the Client is your only option to send data to the Portal and you will need to leave your computer on all the time.
So, think of your computer with the Client running as a gateway of communication between the controller and the Portal.
This should get you started with what you need to use the Client.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:35 pm
by Bogdan
I added the line you suggested but can't upload the code now. It says "Sketch too big"
I copied it and pasted below

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

void setup()
{
ReefAngel.Init(); // Initialize Controller
ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu();
ReefAngel.AddDateTimeMenu();
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port5Bit | Port6Bit; // Turn off Ports 5 and 6 when Feeding Mode is activated
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit; // Turn off Ports 1, 5, 6, 7 and 8 when Water Change Mode is activated
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port3Bit | Port4Bit | Port7Bit; // Turn off Ports 3, 4 and 7 when overheat occurs
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port3Bit | Port4Bit; // Turn on/off Ports 3 and 4 when Light On/Off menu option is selected
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE; // Use Temperature probe 1 to check for overheat
ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port8); // Always on
ReefAngel.AddWifi();
}


void loop()
{
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(COLOR_STEELBLUE,COLOR_WHITE,28,121,"Reef Angel"); // Display Reef Angel banner
ReefAngel.StandardATO(Port1); // Standard ATO
ReefAngel.MoonLights(Port2); // Moonlights or Refugium
ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port3,30); // Actinic Lights
ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port4,0); // Daylight Lights
ReefAngel.Wavemaker1(Port5); // Wavemaker 1
ReefAngel.Wavemaker2(Port6); // Wavemaker 2
ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7); // Heater
ReefAngel.PWM.StandardDaylight(); // Dimming for Daylight Channel
ReefAngel.PWM.StandardActinic(30); // Dimming for Actinic Channel
ReefAngel.ShowInterface(); // Display everything on the LCD screen
}

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:39 pm
by rimai
Yes, good job.
It's a very good start!!!
You placed it in the right spot too :) Good job.
The reason I asked if you have RA or RA+ is that we will need to remove some stuff to get the wifi to fit in the memory.
So, you need to remove these 2 lines:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu();
 ReefAngel.AddDateTimeMenu(); 
That should let you upload the code.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:53 pm
by Bogdan
OK, it is uploaded and I can see the parameters on the ReefAngel Client. Thanks
Now, next problem is I wanted to change some of the setting in the preloaded code.
I was able to do that yesterday directly on the controller but now I can't. The Settings are gone.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:57 pm
by rimai
This is the drawback of having the wifi code added to the controller.
You can only fit so much in the standard RA.
On the RA+ you would be able to fit everything, but with the standard RA, you will need to make a choice of changing settings on the controller or using the Client.
You can use the Client to change the settings though.
You can click the memory tab and change them right there.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:08 pm
by Bogdan
Is this the place I can change the setting?

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:12 pm
by rimai
Yes, but make sure that all fields are populated or it will generate an error.
Use 540 for pH7 and 830 for pH 10 as default calibration numbers.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:13 pm
by Bogdan
If I do the adjustments and save it, and then disconnect the comp from the controller or turn off the comp are they still going to be working? Is this going to be save in the controller memory?

The dosing pumps, what should I write there if I want to disable them?

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:18 pm
by rimai
Yes, but it will stop sending data to the Portal.
I thought the whole purpose of this was to get you data on the Portal, wasn't it?

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:21 pm
by Bogdan
Yes you are right, but this is connected to my laptop which I occasionally take to work so I need to disconnect the controller.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:32 pm
by Bogdan
The dosing pumps, what should I write there if I want to disable them?

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:34 pm
by rimai
Just leave them the way it is.
It won't do anything. You are not using those settings.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:40 pm
by Bogdan
OK
After adjusting the setting I clicked save. Should I now go to setting and click load memory file?

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:54 pm
by rimai
No. That's all to it.

Re: can't connect with the portal

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:09 pm
by Bogdan
OK, thanks for your patience. I know I will have more questions soon. You have a good night.