PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
Post Reply
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

I've traditionally used the arduino software to upload code to my RA+ and it's been years since I've touched the code. Recently my multi-water level sensor crapped out so I had to get a new one and re-calibrate it which meant uploading new code to to my RA with updated water levels. I copy-pasted my code into the web wizard and uploaded it and now I cant get the lights in my tank to turn on.

The relay ports powering the drivers are on and I can hear them click when I manually change the state of them.
When I look at the dimming expansion settings in the portal, they look correct
internal mem showing up on portal
internal mem showing up on portal
Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 2.43.22 PM.png (158.88 KiB) Viewed 5822 times
The web chart indicates that something should be happening with the PWM channels http://forum.reefangel.com/status/chart ... lter=pwme2
But whats weird is when I look at the "PWM Expansion Module" section of the dashboard, it shows all channels are at 0%
PWM Dashboard
PWM Dashboard
Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 5.07.39 PM.png (65.61 KiB) Viewed 5822 times
I've tried power cycling the dimmer module just in case something was up with it, but no dice.
Does anyone have any ideas whats going on?
smellsfishy.rtf
code
(4.21 KiB) Downloaded 324 times
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by binder »

maybe the pwm module isn't being connected via the usb cable. try using a different port on the expansion hub and/or using a different usb cable. I've had issues with the connections on the usb hub at times and can only use certain ports now.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

Thanks binder, I just tried that but no luck. I used a new USB cable as well as a couple different port on the expansion module but my lights are still off. Any idea why the dashboard would show all the channels at 0%? Is there any way for me to test the dimmer module?
Thanks!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by rimai »

Do you have any values for the PWM channels on the screen of RA?
I don't know if you can use DCPump and PWM at the same time. I think one overrides the other.
Roberto.
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

No, the RA actually shows 0% on the screen for all the dimming channels as well as for the DC Pump speed.
I tried commenting all the lines starting with ReefAngel.DCPump. and re-uploaded the code. Still seeing 0s across the board on the RA+ screen.

I'm sure its possible that in the years since I've messed with the code the libraries could have changed and made it not work, but the DC pump plus the PWM code was working together. I'll leave those DCPump lines commented out for now as I dont currently have the the wavemaker plugged into the RA.
Last edited by smellsfishy on Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by rimai »

You may need to remove them from the code.
The way the features detecting system works is if it finds the keyword, it enables it even if it is commented.
Roberto.
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

Still no luck. I deleted all lines with DCPump, even the include line, uploaded the code, all channels still show 0. The DC Pump menu no longer shows on the RA+ display, which I guess is expected now.
Attachments
smellsfishy.rtf
Removed DCpump from code
(3.63 KiB) Downloaded 368 times
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

I tried going into the internal memory settings in the portal, changing the values in the dimming expansion section and saving, just to see if that'd maybe get something to update. No luck there, still 0s showing up on the RA+ Dimming channels.

Here's what showed up on the portal after saving:
Saving Internal Memory...
Controller is running dev libraries v.1.1.3
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 End % - OK
Done.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by rimai »

Does it work if you hard code the values?
Roberto.
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

Yes, I replaced the PWM lines with the following:
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0,PWMSlope( 12,30,23,30,11,20,45,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,55,11,66,30,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,59,11,25,60,0 ) );

I uploaded the code, the lights came on and I see numbers by the 3 dimming channels.
smellsfishy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by smellsfishy »

Just wondering if anyone has any idea why the internal memory wasn't working? It made it really easy to tweak the lights so ideally I'd switch it back to internal mem.
Thanks!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard

Post by rimai »

It is hard to troubleshoot internal memory because we can't see the values you have.
But try confirming that all values for the daylight are correct too.
The start and end time for the slope function is tied to the daylight schedule.
Roberto.
Post Reply