password change with web wizard

Related to the Portal
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 6:58 am
So I changed my forum password which broke the cloud connectivity for my star...

What would be the right procedure to update it? If I change it and compile a new code, will the star be able to download it still?

NB: It's been a long while since I used the local arduinio app and not sure how out of date all my libs are, etc. so would prefer to use the web wizard if possible.

Posts: 12779
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:26 am
Yeah, just upload the new code to RA* and it should connect.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:21 pm
No, that doesn't seem to work. I'm pretty sure the RA updated after I changed the password but it doesn't seem to be sending data once I change everything over. The UApp caches a lot too so it's finicky, but essentially it all looks like it's working but I can't send commands.
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:22 pm
I'm testing again, I may have had a compile issue...
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:30 pm
Ok, it definitely didn't work. I saw the firmware update happen and it no longer updates the cloud data until I revert the password.
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 9:06 am
*bump*

Posts: 12779
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:35 pm
Are you really sure that the firmware really updated?
Can you change something obvious like custom var or something you are not using to confirm the firmware is indeed updated?
When you generated the new code, did you encrypt the new password?
Make sure to use the new RA_STRING1 with the new encrypted password.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2021 7:17 pm
rimai wrote:Are you really sure that the firmware really updated?
Can you change something obvious like custom var or something you are not using to confirm the firmware is indeed updated?
When you generated the new code, did you encrypt the new password?
Make sure to use the new RA_STRING1 with the new encrypted password.


No, I figured based on what you said that it was autogenerated when compiling the code. I don't usually start a new file, but I guess that's what I need to do to be prompted to create a new password.

And yes, that's how I tested finally.

Return to Portal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron