All temp sensors erroring out

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
Post Reply
User avatar
bondolo
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:59 pm

All temp sensors erroring out

Post by bondolo »

I just recently got a reef angel and have been playing with programming it. I ran it for the last two days on my desk and everything seemed OK. I would get occasional temp error readings a couple times a minute on random ports but nothing constant.

Now I have tried to install the reef angel on my tanks and am having a problem with the temp sensors. If I plug in all of the sensors then I get only error readings. If I unplug sensors two and three then sensor one works (I do reboot after each config change). I have swapped the leads for sensors two and three into position one and each lead works fine when it is the only sensor.
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by rimai »

That seems to be a problem that some of the GEN1 head units had.
The pull up resistor was too weak.
Do you think you can solder a SMD resistor?
Roberto.
User avatar
bondolo
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by bondolo »

Possibly. I won't attempt it unless I am certain but I am willing to consider trying. I have some experience soldering components.

Meanwhile I have read about the DS12B20 temperature sensor and refactored the RA_TempSensor module. :) I would like to improve handling of error conditions and make it more obvious when the sensor is not detected/attached.

[removed mention of non-existent component]
Last edited by bondolo on Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by rimai »

That would be awesome!!! :)
We use DS18B20.
DS18B12 was a typo... I corrected the post you are referring to.
Roberto.
rossbryant1956
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Montgomery Village, MD

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by rossbryant1956 »

if you're re-factoring have it ignore that port if not plugged in...seeing "error" on the portal and on the screen is fairly irritating! Thx
Roscoe's Reefs - Starting Over Again:

Building new 29g Nano after landlord went berserk over my 4 75 gallon tanks, Multiple RA's, Water mixing stations, etc. Your help welcomed in remembering all I've forgotten.
User avatar
bondolo
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by bondolo »

rossbryant1956 wrote:if you're re-factoring have it ignore that port if not plugged in...seeing "error" on the portal and on the screen is fairly irritating! Thx
That's exactly what I'm going after!
User avatar
bondolo
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by bondolo »

Ok so what do I need to do in order to replace the resistor?
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: All temp sensors erroring out

Post by rimai »

Replace R29 for a 4K7 resistor.
Roberto.
Post Reply