RF Expansion Module
Re: RF Expansion Module
Wow, nice troubleshooting!!!
I think I know exactly what went wrong now.
Thanks for finding it again
Yes, indeed it is not coming from night mode correctly.
To come out of either feeding mode or night mode, the controller needs to send a specific messages to the ecotech drivers.
I handled the feeding mode messages properly when the controller goes into or exits feeding mode, but I didn't create the handling of night mode exit message.
Let me look into it tonight.
I think I know exactly what went wrong now.
Thanks for finding it again
Yes, indeed it is not coming from night mode correctly.
To come out of either feeding mode or night mode, the controller needs to send a specific messages to the ecotech drivers.
I handled the feeding mode messages properly when the controller goes into or exits feeding mode, but I didn't create the handling of night mode exit message.
Let me look into it tonight.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
I dunno - mine has gone in and out of night mode two nights in a row and also a test run changing time on the controller to see if it worked
hmm I dunno
ps. thats really weird that roberto and I posted at the same minute...reading this almost 3 hours later
if I remember right you can set the length of night on the vortech..and they will auto pop out of night mode on they're own
hmm I dunno
ps. thats really weird that roberto and I posted at the same minute...reading this almost 3 hours later
if I remember right you can set the length of night on the vortech..and they will auto pop out of night mode on they're own
Re: RF Expansion Module
Glad to help!rimai wrote:Wow, nice troubleshooting!!!
I think I know exactly what went wrong now.
Thanks for finding it again
Yes, indeed it is not coming from night mode correctly.
To come out of either feeding mode or night mode, the controller needs to send a specific messages to the ecotech drivers.
I handled the feeding mode messages properly when the controller goes into or exits feeding mode, but I didn't create the handling of night mode exit message.
Let me look into it tonight.
I haven't tried feeding mode yet. My 10 year old oscellaris is in a QT since Tues I didn't think he was going to make it, but he's swimming, breathing and eating normally after daily 100% water changes and Formalin. I'm guessing it's Brooklynella from him being added into my new tank. I should have waited longer after the cycle to move him!
Re: RF Expansion Module
Murphy's law tends to kick in whenever I work on new projects. My manual doesn't mention night mode, I thought it was a new custom mode, like storm.Deckoz2302 wrote:I dunno - mine has gone in and out of night mode two nights in a row and also a test run changing time on the controller to see if it worked
hmm I dunno
ps. thats really weird that roberto and I posted at the same minute...reading this almost 3 hours later
if I remember right you can set the length of night on the vortech..and they will auto pop out of night mode on they're own
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:05 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
This is from the manual for the mp10ESw
"Configuration Mode is used to define settings for the following: Battery Backup speed, Night Mode
speed and time, Feed Mode speed and time and Auto-Dim time. These modes operate automatically depending on the settings that you define.
The Configuration Menu is entered by pressing and holding all three buttons during any normal
operational mode. At this point the control dial led will blink orange and white and the first two blue
LED lights will illuminate brightly. You are now in the configuration menu and can navigate between
the following six different configuration settings:
From left to right
Battery Backup Speed
Night Mode Speed
Night Mode Time
Feed Mode Speed
Feed Mode Time
Auto-Dim Time
In the configuration mode main menu, each of the six different settings will be indicated by a corresponding pair of illuminated blue LED lights. Use the mode button to cycle through the different
configurable settings. Illustration above shows the driver in the configuration mode main menu sitting on Night Mode Speed (3rd and 4th Blue LEDs Illuminated).
Once the mode you want to modify is signaled by the LED bar, you can press the set button to access that modes values, at this point the control dial will blink a set of colors specific for each mode
you are modifying. These colors are:
• Battery Backup Speed: Orange and Blue
• Night Mode Speed: Orange and Green
• Night Mode Time: Orange and Purple
• Feed Mode Speed: Orange and Pink
• Feed Mode Time: Orange and Yellow
• Auto-dim functionality: Orange and Turquoise
Illustration above shows the driver in the Night Mode Speed configuration setting. It also is showing, by the illuminated LEDs, what setting it is currently set to. The driver will also indicate, by
the dim LEDs, what setting is the default. Note: If there is only two brightly illuminated LEDs, that
means that you are currently set to the defualt setting
Night Time Speed:
Setting 1: Lowest Speed of pump
Setting 2: 25% speed of pump
Setting 3: 50% speed of pump **Default Setting
Setting 4: 75% speed of pump
Night Mode Time:
Setting 1: 6 hour night
Setting 2: 8 hour night
Setting 3: 10 hour night **Default Setting
Setting 4: 12 hour night
Setting 5: 14 hour nigh
Night mode"
"Configuration Mode is used to define settings for the following: Battery Backup speed, Night Mode
speed and time, Feed Mode speed and time and Auto-Dim time. These modes operate automatically depending on the settings that you define.
The Configuration Menu is entered by pressing and holding all three buttons during any normal
operational mode. At this point the control dial led will blink orange and white and the first two blue
LED lights will illuminate brightly. You are now in the configuration menu and can navigate between
the following six different configuration settings:
From left to right
Battery Backup Speed
Night Mode Speed
Night Mode Time
Feed Mode Speed
Feed Mode Time
Auto-Dim Time
In the configuration mode main menu, each of the six different settings will be indicated by a corresponding pair of illuminated blue LED lights. Use the mode button to cycle through the different
configurable settings. Illustration above shows the driver in the configuration mode main menu sitting on Night Mode Speed (3rd and 4th Blue LEDs Illuminated).
Once the mode you want to modify is signaled by the LED bar, you can press the set button to access that modes values, at this point the control dial will blink a set of colors specific for each mode
you are modifying. These colors are:
• Battery Backup Speed: Orange and Blue
• Night Mode Speed: Orange and Green
• Night Mode Time: Orange and Purple
• Feed Mode Speed: Orange and Pink
• Feed Mode Time: Orange and Yellow
• Auto-dim functionality: Orange and Turquoise
Illustration above shows the driver in the Night Mode Speed configuration setting. It also is showing, by the illuminated LEDs, what setting it is currently set to. The driver will also indicate, by
the dim LEDs, what setting is the default. Note: If there is only two brightly illuminated LEDs, that
means that you are currently set to the defualt setting
Night Time Speed:
Setting 1: Lowest Speed of pump
Setting 2: 25% speed of pump
Setting 3: 50% speed of pump **Default Setting
Setting 4: 75% speed of pump
Night Mode Time:
Setting 1: 6 hour night
Setting 2: 8 hour night
Setting 3: 10 hour night **Default Setting
Setting 4: 12 hour night
Setting 5: 14 hour nigh
Night mode"
Re: RF Expansion Module
Here is a little sample code I made:
This code will put pumps into night mode on start-up then, after 5 seconds, it should return back to memory settings.
If you save 9 (Night mode) in the intenal memory 855, you will need to save 8 (Feeding_Stop) to get out of night mode and then save your default mode to return back to running mode.
See if this works for you.
Code: Select all
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Globals.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <ReefAngel_EEPROM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <ReefAngel_ATO.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Joystick.h>
#include <ReefAngel_LED.h>
#include <ReefAngel_TempSensor.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Relay.h>
#include <ReefAngel_PWM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Timer.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Memory.h>
#include <ReefAngel_RF.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>
void setup()
{
ReefAngel.Init();
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,0,0);
ReefAngel.Timer[1].SetInterval(5);
ReefAngel.Timer[1].Start();
}
void loop()
{
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
if (ReefAngel.Timer[1].IsTriggered())
{
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0);
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
}
If you save 9 (Night mode) in the intenal memory 855, you will need to save 8 (Feeding_Stop) to get out of night mode and then save your default mode to return back to running mode.
See if this works for you.
Roberto.
Re: RF Expansion Module
I was able to change internal memory 855 from 5 to 9 to 8 and back to 5 with no problems.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Came out of Night mode just fine this morning switching to night before back to memory settings.
Code: Select all
if (hour()>=19 || hour()<7)
{
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(MoonPhase()); //Moon phase schedule between 7:00pm - 7:00am
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0);
}
else
{
ActinicPWMValue=PWMSlope(7,00,19,0,0,35,60,ActinicPWMValue); //Actinic turn on at 7am, off at 10am, and ramp up 0% to 50% PWM in 60 minutes
//ActinicPWMValue=PWMSlope(16,00,19,0,0,50,60,ActinicPWMValue); //Actinic turn on at 4pm, off at 7pm, and ramp up 0% to 50% PWM in 60 minutes
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(ActinicPWMValue);
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:16 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
I am trying to install my RF module today and I see the instructions include changing jumpers. Can you clarify for me if I'm moving the existing jumper, installing one new jumper or installing two new jumpers? I don't see any jumpers with the stuff I received but I may just be missing them so I want to know what I'm looking for.
EDIT: I have looked everywhere and don't see any jumpers, but they appear to be the same size as the ones that ship on most hard drives, so I have plenty of spares laying around as long as I know how many I am supposed to install where...
SECOND EDIT: I have the RA+ and these pins don't even seem to exist?
EDIT: I have looked everywhere and don't see any jumpers, but they appear to be the same size as the ones that ship on most hard drives, so I have plenty of spares laying around as long as I know how many I am supposed to install where...
SECOND EDIT: I have the RA+ and these pins don't even seem to exist?
Re: RF Expansion Module
Sorry. I may have missed when shipping.
Yes, they are the same as the ones you mentioned. If you have them laying around, you can use them.
On RA+, you will see there is a 6 pin header with 1 jumper already in it.
All you need is to place 2 more on the other 2 remaining pins.
Yes, they are the same as the ones you mentioned. If you have them laying around, you can use them.
On RA+, you will see there is a 6 pin header with 1 jumper already in it.
All you need is to place 2 more on the other 2 remaining pins.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:16 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
Roberto, has the exiting of Night Mode been fixed in dev libraries 0.9.0 or do I still need to use the temporary fix above?StuGotz wrote:Came out of Night mode just fine this morning switching to night before back to memory settings.
Code: Select all
if (hour()>=19 || hour()<7) { ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(MoonPhase()); //Moon phase schedule between 7:00pm - 7:00am ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false; ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0); } else { ActinicPWMValue=PWMSlope(7,00,19,0,0,35,60,ActinicPWMValue); //Actinic turn on at 7am, off at 10am, and ramp up 0% to 50% PWM in 60 minutes //ActinicPWMValue=PWMSlope(16,00,19,0,0,50,60,ActinicPWMValue); //Actinic turn on at 4pm, off at 7pm, and ramp up 0% to 50% PWM in 60 minutes ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(ActinicPWMValue); ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true; }
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:16 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
Roberto,rimai wrote:Sorry. I may have missed when shipping.
Yes, they are the same as the ones you mentioned. If you have them laying around, you can use them.
On RA+, you will see there is a 6 pin header with 1 jumper already in it.
All you need is to place 2 more on the other 2 remaining pins.
I checked the RA+ board and there are two 6 pin headers. One has one black jumper and two green jumpers (between the screen and joystick, on the left). The other one has no jumpers (to the right of the screen).
Did you perhaps ship my RA+ board with jumpers already installed?
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:16 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
Doh! Thanks for all the help!rimai wrote:Yeah
-
- Posts: 188
- Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:57 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
2 Quick Q's about the RF Module.
1. Does the module automatically turn the Vortech to "feed mode" when the RA controller gets a "Feeding Mode" call (either manually or from android app)? Basically, does it set it to Mode 7 when Feeding Mode is active, then sets it to Mode 8 when Feeding Mode is inactive (where the controller would then use internal memory settings for "normal" operation)?
2. To set my vortech into Night Mode, is this all I need in my code?
1. Does the module automatically turn the Vortech to "feed mode" when the RA controller gets a "Feeding Mode" call (either manually or from android app)? Basically, does it set it to Mode 7 when Feeding Mode is active, then sets it to Mode 8 when Feeding Mode is inactive (where the controller would then use internal memory settings for "normal" operation)?
2. To set my vortech into Night Mode, is this all I need in my code?
Code: Select all
// Nightmode Control
if (hour()>=23 || hour()<7) // Defining "Nightmode" hours for VorTech = between 11 PM and 7 AM
{
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0);
}
else
{
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:16 am
Re: RF Expansion Module
So is there sample code somewhere on how to use the RF Expansion Module to control a Radion?
( I may or may not have bought a $750 light just because I was excited my RA could control it... )
( I may or may not have bought a $750 light just because I was excited my RA could control it... )
Re: RF Expansion Module
This is how I use:
But I did update the firmware on the RF module.
Send me a PM to upgrade yours, if you want to control the Radions.
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Intensity]=75;
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_White]=PWMParabola(12,0,18,0,0,100,0);
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_RoyalBlue]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,100,0);
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Red]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,5,0);
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Green]=PWMParabola(9,0,22,0,0,10,0);
ReefAngel.RF.RadionChannels[Radion_Blue]=PWMParabola(10,0,21,0,0,60,0);
if (second()==0) ReefAngel.RF.RadionWrite();
Send me a PM to upgrade yours, if you want to control the Radions.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
- Location: Golden, CO
Re: RF Expansion Module
I have 7 vortechs but only 2 of them are ES. Any way to control the non es models? My es controllers will control the non es pumps but without the extra es features. If not no biggy.
Re: RF Expansion Module
I can't say for sure they will work, but I'm pretty sure they would on the standard modes.
I have not had anyone with non es drivers using the RF module yet.
I have not had anyone with non es drivers using the RF module yet.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
- Location: Golden, CO
Re: RF Expansion Module
What are you waiting on then!!! Send one my way muhahaha.
Edit: Looks like were going to find out, I visited the store
Edit: Looks like were going to find out, I visited the store
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
- Location: Golden, CO
Re: RF Expansion Module
Any reason I cannot run two or more RF Expansion Modules?
I want to run a Gyre Flow setup using lagoon mode most of the time as well as all pumps synced in lagoon and reefcrest. The only way I can think to do this would require two RF Modules and sync the two modules in the code when I want them all working together. Assuming this is possible of course.
I want to run a Gyre Flow setup using lagoon mode most of the time as well as all pumps synced in lagoon and reefcrest. The only way I can think to do this would require two RF Modules and sync the two modules in the code when I want them all working together. Assuming this is possible of course.
Re: RF Expansion Module
It's possible, but never tested...
So I can't guarantee it would work.
The Vortech drivers have 4 usable independent channels and the Radion uses another one.
Channel 0 is used for setup and stuff.
RA with the RF module uses one channel for setup, one channel for Vortech and one channel for Radion.
It is possible through code changes to use a different channel if needed.
So I can't guarantee it would work.
The Vortech drivers have 4 usable independent channels and the Radion uses another one.
Channel 0 is used for setup and stuff.
RA with the RF module uses one channel for setup, one channel for Vortech and one channel for Radion.
It is possible through code changes to use a different channel if needed.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
- Location: Golden, CO
Re: RF Expansion Module
So are you saying it might be possible to use one rf module to control two sets of slaved pumps independently from one another? Don't have radions.
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
- Location: Golden, CO
Re: RF Expansion Module
Looks like a good chance to kill two birds with one stone
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=en ... 7TpnSDQ2Do
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=en ... 7TpnSDQ2Do
Re: RF Expansion Module
Is there any way to receive RF broadcast from other devices? I have a Radion and two wireless MP10s and using the Radion to start feed mode is most convenient for me. I'd like to have my controller listen for this command and shut off the return pump.