My new 40B setup

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
Post Reply
89delta
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Leesburg, GA

My new 40B setup

Post by 89delta »

After two years of having gone without a tank to bring me peace of mind and some tranquility into my life, I started a new build. I have an idea on corals, inverts and fish already. So here is the run down....

Aqueon 40 Breeder
Reef Octopus Classic 100
2x AI Prime's on 18" holders
2x RW-8 wavemakers
Finnex 100w digital heater
40# Fiji Pink
30# Reef Saver Rock
RedSea Coral Pro salt

After having filled the tank I added some Purple Helix and Probiod Start-up to the tank to add bacteria and Coralline Algea to help jump start the cycle. But will keep updating on how well the Purple Helix helps populate the Coralline on the bare rocks. But here is a pic half filled. Once it clears up I'll get a better picture of the tank.ImageImage

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by binder »

nice. looking good.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
89delta
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Leesburg, GA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by 89delta »

Thanks Curt.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
89delta
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Leesburg, GA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by 89delta »

Well my family and I finally got a house we liked in Leesburg, GA. Move has been hell to say the least but the tank is set up again finally. Today I managed to get the wiring in order.ImageImageImageImage

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by binder »

nice job!

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
rimai
Posts: 12880
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by rimai »

I like it!!!
Roberto.
89delta
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Leesburg, GA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by 89delta »

Once we fill the tank with 40 frags from AquaSD and get a mated pr of clowns I'm gonna be getting some more expansions n stuff....

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
howaboutme
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am
Location: Northern VA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by howaboutme »

Old thread but can you or anyone else confirm that the AI prime fixture can be controlled by RA with the AI cable? I wasn't able to find too much information on the forums and the products page specifically said for "Sol and Nano". The sol is technically part of the prime series right now. Thanks.
Jack
mav3rick478
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:00 pm
Location: CA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by mav3rick478 »

howaboutme wrote:Old thread but can you or anyone else confirm that the AI prime fixture can be controlled by RA with the AI cable? I wasn't able to find too much information on the forums and the products page specifically said for "Sol and Nano". The sol is technically part of the prime series right now. Thanks.
Aren't the Prime HDs controlled with the AI App? Probably if they aren't the HDs you can use the AI cable because they do not have wifi or bluetooth built in.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
howaboutme
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am
Location: Northern VA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by howaboutme »

mav3rick478 wrote:
howaboutme wrote:Old thread but can you or anyone else confirm that the AI prime fixture can be controlled by RA with the AI cable? I wasn't able to find too much information on the forums and the products page specifically said for "Sol and Nano". The sol is technically part of the prime series right now. Thanks.
Aren't the Prime HDs controlled with the AI App? Probably if they aren't the HDs you can use the AI cable because they do not have wifi or bluetooth built in.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Correct but I found a thread about 1+ years ago from OP expressing interest in controlling them with javascript but that thread went no where (it was posted after this thread). So I saw this thread and wondered if he figured it out.

I've been out of the game for 5/6 years so trying to figure out what happened during those times and you are correct. To get the RA to control AI fixtures we need to go back one or two generations to when they did not include wifi/bluetooth as an option and they had a stand alone/separate controller.
Jack
mav3rick478
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:00 pm
Location: CA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by mav3rick478 »

Yeah I think now most light manufacturers have a proprietary app now. Which is great because they can be accessed and changed on the fly and from anywhere. This probably happened as the writing was on the wall before the fallout between Ecotech and Neptune.

Plus I think with the way AI lights work with being able to over ramp different channels while others are in the lower tier is beyond the 1-10 voltage control.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by binder »

I have 5 ai hydra 26 HDs and 1 ai prime hd. all have to be controlled via their app. not a huge fan of that but their interface is simple and easy (IMO). plus, once configured, i don't have to mess with it.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
howaboutme
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am
Location: Northern VA

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by howaboutme »

Thanks. It does seem like some of the big names are tightening their grip by deciding to go proprietary or not being as open. AI's, the Vortechs, etc. That's very unfortunate to us.
Jack
User avatar
brennyn21
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:40 pm

Re: My new 40B setup

Post by brennyn21 »

I am using these new lights that are cheaper nicrew hyperreef on Amazon great color and par is on point and they are work great on the dimming ports they use analog I have two 150w over 100gallon lps and sps tank

Sent from my H9493 using Tapatalk
Sincerely, Brennyn
Post Reply