Page 5 of 6
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:45 pm
by pleasemx
Hi Roberto,
I'm setting up the RF module. I followed every step on the manual. Now the lcd shows "Assigning Slaves Done".
what should I do right now to have the whole system running? the controller just stays at this "Assigning Slaves Done" stage.
thx!
Xuan
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:48 pm
by rimai
Simply load your code again.
If you have not generated any code yet please use the Reef Angel Wizard to generate the code.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 8:04 pm
by pleasemx
rimai wrote:Simply load your code again.
If you have not generated any code yet please use the Reef Angel Wizard to generate the code.
thank you!
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:28 pm
by DrewPalmer04
Pretty confused:
I just set up my RF expansion today with this code:
Code: Select all
if ( hour() > 7 && hour () < 21 )
{
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
if ( hour() > 21 && hour () < 7 )
{
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0);
else
{
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
It works fine from the internal memory, but it's pausing every few cycles...then resumes again??
I have it at the beginning of my loop () {
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:05 pm
by DrewPalmer04
Also it just is only showing "feeding mode" in portal and 0 for speed and 0 duration.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:43 pm
by DrewPalmer04
Portal just updated but still pausing randomly between cycles while it's on the internal memory= true mode
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:51 pm
by rimai
Your code doesn't make sense...
Code: Select all
if ( hour() > 7 && hour () < 21 )
{
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
This will never be effective, because the next line is an if/else that will null out this line.
The line above will never be true...
Can't have an hour greater than 9pm AND also less than 7
RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:59 pm
by lnevo
Yeah change to OR ||
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:06 pm
by DrewPalmer04
Dang. I pasted some old code for times. Oops. Ok I'll work on it. Thanks
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:57 pm
by DrewPalmer04
This is more of what I mean't to do:
Code: Select all
//Vortech Setup
if (ReefAngel.PWM.GetActinicValue()<6)
{
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=false;
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Night,15,0);
}
else
{
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true;
}
I was messing with other programming and didn't mean to paste that crap...
Obviously it's in night mode now...but I was still getting that pause I was saying earlier with this code...I'm not sure if it's related to the processing power of the RA and all the stuff I have going on in my loop() or? I'll wait until tomorrow morning and see what the pumps are running like.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:40 am
by DrewPalmer04
ReefAngel.RF.UseMemory=true; at this time...came out of night mode with no problems but I'm still getting this random pause between cycles...I have them going opposite of eachother by pushing the "mode" button...not sure if this has anything to do with it?
RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:10 am
by lnevo
What mode are they in?
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:56 am
by DrewPalmer04
Short pulse 33% and 14 duration.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:30 am
by rimai
I think the problem is this:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
You can't be calling this all the time. Only when you want to come out of night mode.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:32 am
by DrewPalmer04
What type of code adjustment do I need?
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:38 am
by rimai
Try this:
Code: Select all
if (ReefAngel.RF.Mode==Night) ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Feeding_Stop,0,0); //Temp fix for coming out of Night mode
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:00 am
by DrewPalmer04
Correct as always
That fixed it right up!! Running smooth now.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:47 am
by smoothdog
How close does the RF module need to be to the vortch wireless contollers? Mine is less than 6 ft away going through the floor and I cannot get it to sync with the vortechs. When I run the vortech module example code the light just goes solid green and the pumps stay in slave seek mode (blue/yellow flash).
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am
by rimai
I think Ecotech says you must be within 5 feet, but have heard of people running much farther.
I, personally, have ran it at 10 feet with no problems, but it was a straight line and no floor in between.
I'm not sure if their module is strong enough to go through floors.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:33 pm
by smoothdog
ok, but should the RF module blink blue/green after running the vortech example code regardless of wether it 'sees' the vortech controllers? Mine just turns green and stays green, so I don't think it's even trying to pair with the vortech controllers.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:02 pm
by rimai
Yes, the RF module blinking blue/green means that it is waiting for your slave drivers to connect.
It will enter into that mode even if you have no drivers to connect.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:59 am
by smoothdog
Any thoughts on why mine just turns green and stays green when I run the vortechsetup example code? The light turns green and the display says assigning slaves, if I click the knob I get the done message but the votechs don't reset and stay in pairing mode. I moved the controllers within 2 ft of the RF module and it's nothing but carpet and plywood subfloor between them so that should not be an issue. One other thing I noticed is that when I tried to reset the vortechs for standalone use, they would not pair with each other until I unplugged the RF module. This makes be believe that they are indeed recieving a signal and that the RF module was somehow blocking the pairing between my vortech controllers.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:01 pm
by rimai
You said it blinks blue/green.
It should only turn green, when you press the joystick. Green means constant mode.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:29 pm
by smoothdog
Mine is not blinking blue/green. It just comes on green and stays green.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:42 pm
by rimai
If you plug the RF into your computer usb, does it light up any color?
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:48 am
by smoothdog
It briefly flashes red, then goes off.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:59 am
by smoothdog
I tried a different cable and got the same results.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:04 am
by rimai
That's what it is supposed to do...
Let me see if I'm in the same page.
You uploaded VortechSetup and the screen says "Assigning Slaves", right?
The RF module at this point is supposed to be flashing blue/green, but you are saying that yours just stay solid green, is that correct?
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:11 am
by smoothdog
That is correct.
Re: RF Expansion Module
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:14 am
by rimai
What happens when you load this code?
Code: Select all
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>
//#define Constant 0
//#define Random1 1 // Lagoonal
//#define Random2 2 // Reef Crest
//#define ShortWave 3
//#define LongWave 4
//#define Smart_NTM 5 // Nutrient Transport Mode
//#define Smart_TSM 6 // Tidal Swell Mode
//#define Feeding_Start 7
//#define Feeding_Stop 8
//#define Night 9
//#define Slave_Start 97
//#define Slave_Stop 98
//#define None 99
void setup()
{
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,20,50,"Assigning Slaves");
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Slave_Start,0,0);
InternalMemory.RFMode_write(3);
InternalMemory.RFSpeed_write(50);
InternalMemory.RFDuration_write(10);
}
void loop()
{
ReefAngel.Refresh();
if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsButtonPressed())
{
ReefAngel.RF.SetMode(Slave_Stop,0,0);
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText(0,255,50,60,"Done");
}
}