Page 2 of 3

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:56 am
by lion-clown
Okay so I found a Reef Angel Controller on Ebay and I'm not sure if it is the plus or not. What would I loose if the controller is not the plus?

Tony

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:04 am
by Sacohen
The standard RA has less memory, so you can not store that much code on it.
The current libraries are getting to large to put on the standard RA.

Basically what you will lose depends on what you want to program.
For example the the library code for the DC (Jebao) pumps is very large and does not fit on the standard RA.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:29 am
by lnevo
Ask the seller to clarify. I would assume most likely that it is not. I believe the upgrade cost is $50 so you can take that into consideration if it is not.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:36 am
by lion-clown
Thanks Guys,
I have sent a email to the seller to see. I just got back home yesterday and am trying to get everything set up and going for the new tank.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:39 am
by Sacohen
There is only one full system on Ebay right now and it's up to $300.

It does not say if it is RA or +.

The price of the upgrade board is $75.

It looks like it might be the +, because it has the USB to TTL included. Didn't that only come with the +?

The RA+ and Relay Expansion Module + Relay Box are $388 new,with warranty, so keep that in mind if bidding on this.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:50 am
by lion-clown
Well an hour ago it was 220$

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:05 am
by lnevo
They should all come with the USB-TTL cable. The + comes with the USB power cable.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:23 am
by Sacohen
Yeah. When I looked at it earlier this morning when I first saw your e-mail it was $208 I think.

Thanks Lee I knew there was something that the + had that the RA doesn't.
I forgot it was the USB Power cable.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:43 pm
by lion-clown
So I finally pulled the trigger and orderer one yesterday. I am so excited I can't wait. I guess I better start reading up On the manual.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:48 pm
by lnevo
Best thing is to install the software and start playing with the wizard!

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:42 pm
by lion-clown
Oh okay thanks for the heads up

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:44 pm
by lion-clown
What port will I need to use on my computer to program the reef angel

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:29 pm
by lnevo
It'll get created when you plug it in the first time.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:55 pm
by lion-clown
Okay I have been playing with the wizard a little and I'm still really unsure of what I'm doing. What is the best code to start with and start modifying? I will be getting my RA today and it's my birthday, Thanks Roberto what good timing you have :D.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:18 pm
by Sacohen
First off Happy Birthday.
Second. Enjoy your new toy.

The best code to start modifying is your own.

Go thru the wizard and answer the questions about how long you want your lights on, what you want your overheat temp to be and anything other that you want to set up once done it will generate code that you can upload as is or start modifying to make it the way you want.

Best option is to upload it as is and see how things work and what you want to change after that.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:12 pm
by lion-clown
Okay I didn't realize what the wizard actually was tell you said that. Thanks I'm so excited.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:07 pm
by lion-clown
Okay so I just went through the wizard setup and I think I set it up. When I click on the Portal it doesn't show anything though. I also don't know how to post my code on here except maybe a copy and paste. Nothing is actually plugged in yet though still trying to figure out where to place everything in the stand.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:20 am
by Sacohen
The Portal will not show anything until you have loaded your code into the RA head unit, have everything connected and getting readings and setup the WiFi module.

The way you post your code is to copy it from the Reef Angel Arduino and then go to the Full Editor, click on the button that says code and past the code in between the "".

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:11 am
by lion-clown
Okay I guess I just need to be a little more patient. Thanks for all the help

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:27 am
by Sacohen
No problem.
I don't know much about coding so somethings I feel like I'm just leaching of this forum, so I like to help when I can.

I don't blame you for being excited.

Take your time, get everything hooked up, then program the Wifi and load the code and test things out.

Then worry about modifying things and getting fancy.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:47 pm
by lion-clown
Okay so now I have screwed everything in place and had to change the code because of where the wires where but now it won't load. Any suggestions? Here is the code I have so far:

Code: Select all

[quote]
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <[color=#CC6600]Wire[/color].h>
#include <[color=#CC6600]OneWire[/color].h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <[color=#006699]LED[/color].h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <[color=#006699]Relay[/color].h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <[color=#006699]Timer[/color].h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <[color=#006699]Salinity[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]RF[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]IO[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]ORP[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]AI[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]PH[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]WaterLevel[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]Humidity[/color].h>
#include <[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].h>
#include <[color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].h>

[color=#7E7E7E]////// Place global variable code below here[/color]


[color=#7E7E7E]////// Place global variable code above here[/color]


[color=#CC6600]void[/color] [color=#CC6600][b]setup[/b][/color]()
{
    [color=#7E7E7E]// This must be the first line[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]Init[/color]();  [color=#7E7E7E]//Initialize controller[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]Use2014Screen[/color]();  [color=#7E7E7E]// Let's use 2014 Screen [/color]
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]FeedingModePorts[/color] = [color=#006699]Port8Bit[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]FeedingModePortsE[/color][0] = [color=#006699]Port3Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port5Bit[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]WaterChangePorts[/color] = [color=#006699]Port8Bit[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]WaterChangePortsE[/color][0] = [color=#006699]Port1Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port3Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port4Bit[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]LightsOnPorts[/color] = [color=#006699]Port1Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port2Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port3Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port4Bit[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]LightsOnPortsE[/color][0] = [color=#006699]Port2Bit[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]OverheatShutoffPorts[/color] = [color=#006699]Port5Bit[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]OverheatShutoffPortsE[/color][0] = [color=#006699]Port1Bit[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports turned off when Leak is detected[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]LeakShutoffPorts[/color] = 0;
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]LeakShutoffPortsE[/color][0] = [color=#006699]Port3Bit[/color] | [color=#006699]Port4Bit[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]TempProbe[/color] = [color=#006699]T1_PROBE[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]OverheatProbe[/color] = [color=#006699]T1_PROBE[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]// Set the Overheat temperature setting[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]InternalMemory[/color].[color=#CC6600]OverheatTemp_write[/color]( 810 );

    [color=#7E7E7E]// Feeeding and Water Change mode speed[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#006699]FeedingSpeed[/color]=0;
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#006699]WaterChangeSpeed[/color]=0;


    [color=#7E7E7E]// Ports that are always on[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]Relay[/color].[color=#CC6600]On[/color]( [color=#006699]Port8[/color] );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]Relay[/color].[color=#CC6600]On[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port3[/color] );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]Relay[/color].[color=#CC6600]On[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port4[/color] );

    [color=#7E7E7E]////// Place additional initialization code below here[/color]
    

    [color=#7E7E7E]////// Place additional initialization code above here[/color]
}

[color=#CC6600]void[/color] [color=#CC6600][b]loop[/b][/color]()
{
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Port1[/color],10,30,22,0 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Port2[/color],10,30,22,0 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Port3[/color],10,0,22,30 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Port4[/color],10,0,22,30 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardHeater[/color]( [color=#006699]Port5[/color],787,792 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Port7[/color],10,0,23,0 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardFan[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port1[/color],795,798 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardLights[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port2[/color],22,0,10,30 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]WavemakerRandom[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port5[/color],55,100 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]StandardFan[/color]( [color=#006699]Box1_Port7[/color],795,799 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#006699]UseMemory[/color] = [color=#CC6600]false[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#CC6600]SetMode[/color]( ReefCrest,50,10 );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#006699]DaylightChannel[/color] = [color=#006699]None[/color];
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#006699]DCPump[/color].[color=#006699]ActinicChannel[/color] = [color=#006699]None[/color];
    [color=#7E7E7E]////// Place your custom code below here[/color]
    

    [color=#7E7E7E]////// Place your custom code above here[/color]

    [color=#7E7E7E]// This should always be the last line[/color]
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]Portal[/color]( [color=#006699]"lion-clown"[/color] );
    [color=#CC6600]ReefAngel[/color].[color=#CC6600]ShowInterface[/color]();
}



[/quote]

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:58 pm
by lion-clown
Okay so I figured out how to upload again. User error. But now my problem is figuring out the Jebao controlling. It should be the 5th port on my expansion hub. it isn't even on? Where do I plug the Dimming cable on the Jebao cable?

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:59 pm
by lion-clown
Oh and I'm not able to connect to the app on my phone.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:59 pm
by lion-clown
Oh and I'm not able to connect to the app on my phone.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 5:38 am
by Sacohen
1st when you copy your code, just do a regular copy, don't use the copy for forum or coy as HTML from the Arduino, it adds in all sorts of other stuff that's not actually part of your code like the color tags.

2nd about the phone App. Does the portal work? What type of phone do you have?
It seems like you may not have port forwarding setup on your router or you need a DNS service like no-ip to update your IP address to a DNS name that you setup and have the portal and phone look at.

Without it every time your IPS changes your IP address you will lose connectivity to the RA.

The Dimming cable on the Jabeo goes to one of the dimming ports on the Relay or the Dimming module (not the dimming ports on the expansion relay, they don't work).

It looks like you only have 1 Jabeo, correct?

The Jebao pump does not need to be in port on the relay. Those wavemaker port (5 & 6) are only for regular powerheads. They have dampening circuitry to soften the startup of the power head.

Either plug the Jeabo into and standard outlet and remove this code...

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Box1_Port5,55,100 );

or

leave it in port 5 on the expansion relay and add this to your always on section...

ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port4 );

Plug the dimming cable of the Jeabo into on of the dimming ports on the relay and use this code...

Code: Select all

    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ReefCrest,50,10 );
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = None;
instead of this

Code: Select all

    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ReefCrest,50,10 );
    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = None;

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 5:12 pm
by lion-clown
Okay so I changed that and the pump works now but I'm not getting the wave I use to have. Is it even possible to do?

So the portal is working but it says this: Connection Status: Unreachable Address.

Also how do I get the portal to show up at the bottom of my post?

What do you set your heater to on the Reef Angel? And what do you set your temperature to on the actual Heater?

Man so many questions but this thing is so fun and I love trying to set this up. Also here is my code that I am running now:

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.Use2014Screen(); // Let's use 2014 Screen
// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port8Bit;
ReefAngel.FeedingModePortsE[0] = Port3Bit | Port5Bit;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port8Bit;
ReefAngel.WaterChangePortsE[0] = Port1Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
ReefAngel.LightsOnPortsE[0] = Port2Bit;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port5Bit;
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPortsE[0] = Port1Bit;
// Ports turned off when Leak is detected
ReefAngel.LeakShutoffPorts = 0;
ReefAngel.LeakShutoffPortsE[0] = Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 810 );

// Feeeding and Water Change mode speed
ReefAngel.DCPump.FeedingSpeed=0;
ReefAngel.DCPump.WaterChangeSpeed=0;


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port8 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port3 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port4 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port1,10,30,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port2,10,30,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port3,10,0,22,30 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port4,10,0,22,30 );
ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port5,787,792 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port7,10,0,23,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardFan( Box1_Port1,795,798 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port2,22,0,10,30 );
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom( Box1_Port5,55,100 );
ReefAngel.StandardFan( Box1_Port7,795,799 );
ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ReefCrest,50,10 );
ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = None;
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.Portal( "lion-clown" );
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Thanks so much for all the help. I know what you mean about just leaching off of everyone because that is all I have done so far but the people on here are so amazing and helpful.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:09 pm
by Sacohen
See i would be getting frustrated, but you think it's fun. Good for you.

You have a Jebao 25 in a 40 gallon breeder tank, correct.
That would make it 36" long.

You may want to increase the pump speed from 50 to 70%, try keeping it at a 10% variable +/-.

If the portal is saying Connection Status: Unreachable Address, then something is still not set up properly.

Did you setup port forwarding for port 2000 in your router and did you set up a DNS server so wen you IP address changes it will pick it up and continue working?

Also have to set your router to assign a static IP address to the RA?
You don't want that to change every time you reboot the RA or router.

Try typing in the internal IP address of the RA followed by :2000/wifi.
For example mine is http://192.168.1.199:2000/wifi.
When I do it I get the internal server.

Image

If that works go to http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ and check to see if port 2000 is open.
If it is make sure you have a DNS service setup.

Once you are getting information in your portal you can set up the banner in you signature by going to "Web Banner" in the portal, choosing the version that you like and copying and pasting the code for that banner into your signature for the forum in the User Control Panel.

Setting up the heater you got, me I don't use a heater in South Florida, but I would say to set the RA for the temp that you want it to go on and off at and then set the heater a little lower than that so when the RA kicks power to the heater the heater will already be in the on range.

If you are still having problems with the portal PM me and maybe we can set up some kind of remote session via TeamViewer or Gotomy PC so I can get into your system with you and check things out.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:37 pm
by lnevo
And you call yourself a leach... If only we had a few more leaches...

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:12 pm
by lion-clown
Yes I have the WP 25 and a 40 gallon breader tank and it is 36 in. I will try the 70% next.

I guess it is a little frustrating but I kind of like tinkering with the tank constantly and this gives me an outlet to work on without messing up the tank.

I don't know what you are talking about when you say:
"Did you setup port forwarding for port 2000 in your router and did you set up a DNS server so wen you IP address changes it will pick it up and continue working?

Also have to set your router to assign a static IP address to the RA?
You don't want that to change every time you reboot the RA or router."
But I hope to have some time tomorrow to play with it.

Re: Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:57 am
by Sacohen
lnevo wrote:And you call yourself a leach... If only we had a few more leaches...
I leach when it comes to coding, but I try to make up for it in answering basic questions that Roberto and you don't have time for.