Page 1 of 4

New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:01 pm
by smcglaughn
I just got my system and hooked it up. I was careful following the instructions, I think. However I can not get my controller to communicate with my computer. It shows connected my computer but will not let me change any code. Can anyone give me some guidance?

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:09 pm
by rimai
Can you post the error message you are getting?
Which board do you have? RA or RA+?

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:26 pm
by smcglaughn
I cant get the error code copied to paste. Here is the code I tried to enter. How do I get the error code to copy and paste?
// Autogenerated file by RAGen (v1.2.2.171), (09/24/2012 14:17)
// RA_092412_1417.pde
//
// This version designed for v0.8.5 Beta 17 or later

/* The following features are enabled for this File: 
#define VersionMenu
#define WDT
#define SIMPLE_MENU
*/


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Globals.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <ReefAngel_EEPROM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <ReefAngel_ATO.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Joystick.h>
#include <ReefAngel_LED.h>
#include <ReefAngel_TempSensor.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Relay.h>
#include <ReefAngel_PWM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Timer.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Memory.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker1(Port5);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker2(Port6);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:29 pm
by rimai
You need to use shortcut key to copy.
Select the text and use Ctrl+C.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:37 pm
by smcglaughn
I have the RA

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:39 pm
by smcglaughn
The following features were automatically added:
Watchdog Timer
Version Menu

The following features were detected:
Simple Menu
In file included from RA_092412_1538.cpp:30:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:86: error: 'ParamsStruct' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:88: error: 'RA_NokiaLCD' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:89: error: 'RA_JoystickClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:90: error: 'LEDClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:92: error: 'RA_ATOHighClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:93: error: 'RA_ATOLowClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:94: error: 'RA_TempSensorClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:95: error: 'RelayClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:133: error: 'TimerClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:302: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:303: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.cpp: In function 'void setup()':
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port1' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port2' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port3' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port4' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port5' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port6' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port7' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port8' was not declared in this scope

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:58 pm
by rimai
Looks like you got your libraries messed up somehow.
I'd recommend deleting the folder "Documents\Arduino" and reinstalling the RA Installer software to restore the original libraries files.

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:18 pm
by smcglaughn
I deleted the "Documents\Arduino" and reinstalled the RA Installer software. I tried loading more code and got this error message.

The following features were automatically added:
Watchdog Timer
Version Menu

The following features were detected:
Simple Menu
In file included from sketch_sep24a.cpp:6:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\NokiaLCD/NokiaLCD.h:5:22: error: WProgram.h: No such file or directory
In file included from sketch_sep24a.cpp:7:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:88: error: 'RA_NokiaLCD' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:89: error: 'RA_JoystickClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:90: error: 'LEDClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:92: error: 'RA_ATOHighClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:93: error: 'RA_ATOLowClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:94: error: 'RA_TempSensorClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:95: error: 'RelayClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:133: error: 'TimerClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:302: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:303: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
sketch_sep24a.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
sketch_sep24a:13: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'LED'
sketch_sep24a:15: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'LED'

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:30 pm
by rimai
What OS are you using?
Did you download the latest Reef Angel Installer from the website?
You seem to be using outdated/wrong libraries still.

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:32 pm
by smcglaughn
Windows 7. I went to the top of the page and downloaded it straight from the website.

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:41 pm
by rimai
I'm sorry... I didn't read your code correctly.
Can you please use the Reef Angel Wizard to generate new codes?
The RAGen is an old application and should not be used anymore. It has been deprecated and will be removed from the installer too.
Use menu Tools->Reef Angel Wizard

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:34 pm
by smcglaughn
All I get is a welcome screen with this on it. Nothing else. No place to click to continue nothing.

Welcome to the Reef Angel Wizard. I'm going to walk you through the whole process of generating a code for your Reef Angel Controller. Version: 2.1.0.

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:54 pm
by rimai
RA-Wizard.jpg
RA-Wizard.jpg (10.95 KiB) Viewed 6967 times
You don't see the buttons at the bottom?

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:56 pm
by smcglaughn
No. It will not let me scroll down either?

Re: New System

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:56 pm
by rimai
Are you using a small screen resolution?

Re: New System

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:48 pm
by smcglaughn
I only have 2 choices on resolution and both are cutting off the bottom of the page. When I try to drag the screen up to see the bottom it won't let me.

Re: New System

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:54 pm
by rimai
What screen resolution are you using?

Re: New System

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:01 pm
by smcglaughn
1024X600 I can change it to 800X600 those are my only choices.

Re: New System

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:19 pm
by rimai
Yeah, you won't be able to use the Wizard at this resolution.
I can generate the code for you if you tell me what you would like to do.

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:08 am
by smcglaughn
I Aappreciate the help but I still think I have a communication issue. What I want on my code is: ports 1 through 4 always on. Port 5 &
6 wavemakers. Port 7 heater. Port 8 refugium light on at 5pm off at 1 pm. Thanks.

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:15 am
by rimai
What is the heater temperature?

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:03 am
by smcglaughn
76 degrees.

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:54 am
by rimai
Try this code.
It should compile at least and if you are indeed having problems uploading, the error code will be different.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>


////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port5,60);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port6,120);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7,757,763);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8,17,0,13,0);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:48 pm
by smcglaughn
That worked. Thanks for your help. What program can I use to see on my computer what information is stored on the controller? I tried Reef Angel Client but it doesn't seem to be working?

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:50 pm
by rimai
Oh, the Client needs one line to be added to your code.
Use this:

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>


////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.AddWifi();

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port5,60);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port6,120);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7,757,763);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8,17,0,13,0);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:31 pm
by smcglaughn
I added this and it was successfully installed. However i am still not getting data to show up on the client. It does work through the USB??

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:36 pm
by rimai
Yes, it works through USB.
You need to select the correct COM port though.
Go to menu Settings->Modify->General and open the dashboard.
Make sure you pick the same COM port you use to upload codes to RA.

Re: New System

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:44 pm
by smcglaughn
That got it. Thanks.

Re: New System

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:43 pm
by smcglaughn
I got calibration solutions for my PH probe. 7 PH and 10 PH. Originally my probe showed 1.42. Obviously wrong. My tanks is staying at 76 degrees and my Salinity is 1.025. I tried to calibrate the probe. I followed the instructions and the used the 7 solution. then moved to the 10 solution. As soon as I hit okay. I went back to the home screen. With the probe still in the 10 PH solution the PH meter is only reading 6.99. I cleaned the probe with RO water and put it in the Aquarium and it still reads 6.99. I put it back in the 10 PH solution and it still reads 6.99. Is my probe bad?

Re: New System

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:12 pm
by rimai
What were the numbers you had when doing the calibration?