Page 1 of 1
All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:38 pm
by bondolo
I just recently got a reef angel and have been playing with programming it. I ran it for the last two days on my desk and everything seemed OK. I would get occasional temp error readings a couple times a minute on random ports but nothing constant.
Now I have tried to install the reef angel on my tanks and am having a problem with the temp sensors. If I plug in all of the sensors then I get only error readings. If I unplug sensors two and three then sensor one works (I do reboot after each config change). I have swapped the leads for sensors two and three into position one and each lead works fine when it is the only sensor.
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:03 pm
by rimai
That seems to be a problem that some of the GEN1 head units had.
The pull up resistor was too weak.
Do you think you can solder a SMD resistor?
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:00 pm
by bondolo
Possibly. I won't attempt it unless I am certain but I am willing to consider trying. I have some experience soldering components.
Meanwhile I have read about the DS12B20 temperature sensor and refactored the RA_TempSensor module.
I would like to improve handling of error conditions and make it more obvious when the sensor is not detected/attached.
[removed mention of non-existent component]
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:05 pm
by rimai
That would be awesome!!!
We use DS18B20.
DS18B12 was a typo... I corrected the post you are referring to.
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:27 pm
by rossbryant1956
if you're re-factoring have it ignore that port if not plugged in...seeing "error" on the portal and on the screen is fairly irritating! Thx
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:53 pm
by bondolo
rossbryant1956 wrote:if you're re-factoring have it ignore that port if not plugged in...seeing "error" on the portal and on the screen is fairly irritating! Thx
That's exactly what I'm going after!
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:52 pm
by bondolo
Ok so what do I need to do in order to replace the resistor?
Re: All temp sensors erroring out
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:57 pm
by rimai
Replace R29 for a 4K7 resistor.