Page 1 of 1
pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 6:39 am
by coolbird
HI
Received my replacement screen and replaced the old one and what a great improvement, really impressed.
But after I made the change to the code as described, reset my RA now ph probe is reading high!
Thanks for the replacement screen,,,,great support as always.
Dave
Re: LCD screen hardware change
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 7:48 am
by rimai
Did you upload any internal memory file?
I'd try recalibrating
Re: LCD screen hardware change
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 9:08 am
by coolbird
rimai wrote:Did you upload any internal memory file?
I'd try recalibrating
It seems to have settled back down now, I wasn't panicking as I have another permanent probe in the sump which was telling me the correct ph.
I will re-calibrate though, in the uk calibration fluid is limited to 4 & 7 is there a way of changing the calibration parameters for the ra?
I have had a look through the forum but couldn't find anything.
Thanks
Dave
Re: LCD screen hardware change
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 9:13 am
by rimai
Yes, you can add this to setup:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
phrusher has developed this for us
Re: LCD screen hardware change
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 11:36 am
by coolbird
rimai wrote:Yes, you can add this to setup:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
phrusher has developed this for us
Thanks
Re: LCD screen hardware change
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 5:21 am
by coolbird
coolbird wrote:rimai wrote:Yes, you can add this to setup:
Code: Select all
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
phrusher has developed this for us
Thanks
Hi Wrong thread for this but as the conversation started here!
I have tried the insert above with no effect, I presume that with this addition you can select the start and end point for the ph calibration but it starts at 7 and then goes to 10, ph is reading
Also I have the same problem with the orp, it was reading coorectly but now has started reading high at 341mv yet I know it should be around 240 and ph is reading at 6.7 but it is actually 8.2
I entered:
void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
InternalMemory.LCDID_write(0);
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.SetTemperatureUnit( Celsius ); // set to Celsius Temperature
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
I have re-uploaded the preinstalled code and just re-entered the code for the wp40's (which works great ) but there is no change.
Any advice would be welcome.
Regards
Dave
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:08 am
by rimai
The code looks good.
When you go into calibration now, you will see that you can move the joystick into the pH 7 and pH10 values and change it to another one.
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:16 pm
by coolbird
rimai wrote:The code looks good.
When you go into calibration now, you will see that you can move the joystick into the pH 7 and pH10 values and change it to another one.
When I tried this code it had no effect, have gone back to preinstalled code and will try it again
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:29 pm
by coolbird
rimai wrote:The code looks good.
When you go into calibration now, you will see that you can move the joystick into the pH 7 and pH10 values and change it to another one.
I have tried the code as described twice but it has no effect, when I chose ph calibration and then move the joystick in any diection it just flashes between OK and Cancel.
Code: Select all
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>
////// Place global variable code below here
////// Place global variable code above here
void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.SetTemperatureUnit( Celsius ); // set to Celsius Temperature
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port6Bit | Port7Bit;
ReefAngel.FeedingModePortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
ReefAngel.WaterChangePortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
ReefAngel.LightsOnPortsE[0] = 0;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPortsE[0] = 0;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 290 );
// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port3 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port6 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port7 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port8 );
////// Place additional initialization code below here
////// Place additional initialization code above here
}
void loop()
{
ReefAngel.StandardATO( Port1,60 );
////// Place your custom code below here
#define JebaoDuration 20
#define JebaoMin 0
#define JebaoMax 40
byte Jebao=(now()%(JebaoDuration*2)<JebaoDuration?JebaoMin:JebaoMax);
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(Jebao);
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight(Jebao==JebaoMin?JebaoMax:JebaoMin);
////// Place your custom code above here
// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.Portal( "coolbird" );
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
void DrawCustomMain()
{
int x,y;
char text[10];
// Parameters
#if defined DisplayLEDPWM && ! defined RemoveAllLights
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawMonitor( 15, 14, ReefAngel.Params,
ReefAngel.PWM.GetDaylightValue(), ReefAngel.PWM.GetActinicValue() );
#else // defined DisplayLEDPWM && ! defined RemoveAllLights
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawMonitor( 15, 14, ReefAngel.Params );
#endif // defined DisplayLEDPWM && ! defined RemoveAllLights
pingSerial();
// ORP
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText( COLOR_PALEVIOLETRED,DefaultBGColor,75,54, "ORP:" );
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawText( COLOR_PALEVIOLETRED,DefaultBGColor,99,54, ReefAngel.Params.ORP );
pingSerial();
// Main Relay Box
byte TempRelay = ReefAngel.Relay.RelayData;
TempRelay &= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOff;
TempRelay |= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOn;
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawOutletBox( 12, 75, TempRelay );
pingSerial();
// Relay Expansion
TempRelay = ReefAngel.Relay.RelayDataE[0];
TempRelay &= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOffE[0];
TempRelay |= ReefAngel.Relay.RelayMaskOnE[0];
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawOutletBox( 12, 98, TempRelay );
pingSerial();
// Date and Time
ReefAngel.LCD.DrawDate( 6, 122 );
pingSerial();
}
void DrawCustomGraph()
{
}
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:44 pm
by lnevo
You have a space where you shouldnt...
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
After ReefAngel.
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:04 pm
by coolbird
lnevo wrote:You have a space where you shouldnt...
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
After ReefAngel.
Haha is the error that simple. You live and learn, and I copied and pasted that line
Thanks Inevo will correct and try again
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:44 pm
by coolbird
coolbird wrote:lnevo wrote:You have a space where you shouldnt...
ReefAngel .UseFlexiblePhCalibration();
After ReefAngel.
Haha is the error that simple. You live and learn, and I copied and pasted that line
Thanks Inevo will correct and try again
After removing the space and uploading I was able to go through the calibration with 4 and 7ph calibration fluid but its still gone back to reading really low again at around 5.09 my permanent probe reads 8.2 and I have confirmed this as correct with a liquid test, my orp is reading very high as well and I know this is wrong,
Any advice would be welcome I havnt a clue as to whats gone wrong
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:52 pm
by rimai
Does it read correctly when you place inside the calibration solution?
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:00 pm
by coolbird
rimai wrote:Does it read correctly when you place inside the calibration solution?
It did when I checked emmediately after I left the calibration. its now reading 4.60
It may seem like a stupid remark but the ph readings were all spot on until I changed the screen and added the orp, since then they have been haywire
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:17 pm
by coolbird
ANy chance that uninstalling the software and deleting all folders and starting again may help?
Just a thought.
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:56 am
by coolbird
rimai wrote:Does it read correctly when you place inside the calibration solution?
Hi
I don't pretend to know how the orp and the ph probes interact but they were both in my sump, if I take the orp probe out of the sump the ph reading rises, I have recalibrated the ph and although its reading a little high it is back to stable again, if I put the orp probe back in the sump the ph readings drops!
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks
Dave
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:43 am
by rimai
Are you sharing power supplies?
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:58 am
by coolbird
rimai wrote:Are you sharing power supplies?
The ORP PSU is plugged into the relay box that's connected to the ra. Do you think that's the cause ???
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:01 pm
by rimai
What happens if you place the ORP in the tank and the pH probe in a cup of tank water?
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:29 pm
by coolbird
rimai wrote:What happens if you place the ORP in the tank and the pH probe in a cup of tank water?
Hi Roberto
The pH rises again. But I tried the ORP probe connected to the expansion module via USB but didn't connect the power supply to the ORP module and when I put the probe back in the sump the pH reading dropped like a stone! So the problem is transferring through the USB not through the PSU
Regards
Dave
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:01 pm
by rimai
What happens when you place both ph and orp in the same cup of tank water?
Re: pH4 and pH7 Calibration
Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:28 am
by coolbird
rimai wrote:What happens when you place both ph and orp in the same cup of tank water?
Hi again
I have uninstalled everything on the PC and cleaned out all the cached info, reinstalled the latest version. Then started again with the ra restoring all preinstalled data, changed the power supply sockets and the ra is now reading the pH correctly.
I will have to source 470mv ORP calibration fluid and set the ORP up from scratch.
Sorry I don't feel confident that I know how to change the libraries to calibrate at 230mv
Regards
Dave